Transport for NSW Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Transport for NSW Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Transport for NSW CEO Andrew Constance
Andrew Constance
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good culture, good work/life balance(in 24 reviews)

  • "Good pay, good management good working conditions and great flexible working options and loads of oppurtunity(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is some bureaucracy and red tape that you will have to deal with(in 6 reviews)

  • "Lack of integrity in some of senior management(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Transport for NSW full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leave, conditions and pay are attractive

    Cons

    Slow paced and buerecratic, not commercial

    Advice to Management

    Too much lip service to promoting junior staff but zero ladder to climb

    Transport for NSW2019-07-31
  2. "Good place to work as a contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Scheduler in Sydney

    I have been working at Transport for NSW for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work as a contractor

    Cons

    There is no meaningful cons

    Transport for NSW2019-08-16
  3. "In cost saving mode"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Transport for NSW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Provides a great service to the travelling public

    Cons

    Lacks a clear strategy for technology in the enterprise

    Transport for NSW2019-08-19
  4. "Desktop Support| Technical Support | Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Desktop Support in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Transport for NSW for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment, corporate culture

    Cons

    There is no negative feedback

    Transport for NSW2019-07-22
  5. "Good opportunity to work on NSW future developments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Transport for NSW for more than 3 years

    Pros

    adds to the infrastructure of NSW

    Cons

    a fair bit of dead wood in there

    Advice to Management

    promote the good people, not keep the bad.

    Transport for NSW2019-07-30
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Analyst 

    I worked at Transport for NSW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great remuneration ; great culture; great work life balance.

    Cons

    fierce competition even for a junior position; rare promotion opportunities.

    Transport for NSW2019-07-08
  7. "Best agency to work for in NSW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Transport for NSW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I started at Transport for NSW in 2012 and although I've moved back and forth a few times, I'm still very connected to the people and the work they do. I've been promoted three times here onto different roles and still love it.

    Cons

    As with big organisations, there can be a "that's not my job," mentality or people who don't get out of the way and stop things due to "that's not the way we've been doing it for the last decade." My impatience for this attitude means I just go around them.

    Advice to Management

    For some, putting the customer at the centre of all decisions feels compatible with "this is just the way we do things," when actually it's the opposite. They haven't had the time to deconstruct and realise what they've been saying, does not align to their behaviour or processes. The sooner we confront this, in an appropriate and supportive way... the better.

    Transport for NSW2019-07-06
  8. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Document Control 

    I have been working at Transport for NSW full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance and team driven

    Cons

    There is no cons at all

    Transport for NSW2019-07-05
  9. "Great opportunities and starting salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate 

    I have been working at Transport for NSW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love how much responsibility I am given as a grad. Treated like an equal by other team members and given great opportunities to upskill. Flexible working hours, flex time and salary are awesome

    Cons

    Some weeks are slower than others

    Transport for NSW2019-06-25
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Transport for NSW for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a very customer focused organisation. The processes are very matured. People are compassionate.

    Cons

    Not great contract rates

    Advice to Management

    Allow flexible hours and work from home

    Transport for NSW2019-06-01
Found 114 reviews