Tyro Payments Reviews

Updated 4 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Tyro Payments CEO Robbie Cooke (no image)
Robbie Cooke
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Engineering expertise, adopt modern agile practices , flat structure with an engaging and collaborative environment, impeccable work/life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • " great culture (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pair programming didn’t suit everybody(in 7 reviews)

  • "Occasionally it feels like we don’t get enough direction when it comes to career progression and developing skills(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Banking Specialist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tyro Payments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Be heard. Be recognised. Excellent pathways

    Cons

    There are no downsides to working at Tyro so far.

    Continue reading

    Tyro Payments Response

    May 1, 2020Chief People Officer

    Many thanks for leaving us a review and I am thrilled that you have had such a positive experience so far! It is awesome to have you.

  2. "Good engineering culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tyro Payments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good engineering culture Work life balance Company reputation

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive for existing employees


  3. "Great place to work and Great people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tyro Payments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people, great environment, fun

    Cons

    No remote working at the time I was there

    Continue reading
  4. "Pair programming sucks"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tyro Payments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly developers and lots of beer to drink. Girls and boys flirt a lot.

    Cons

    No personal computer. Shared email. Fulltime pairing. Have to inform your pair about your whereabouts. Have to do weekly presentations on stuff you don't know about

    Continue reading

    Tyro Payments Response

    May 1, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to a review. Its great that our friendly people and the social atmosphere at Tyro were some of the best parts of your experience with us - given we spend a lot of time at work, it makes work even better when you enjoy being in the company of the people that work there . We strive to continually provide a positive and engaging work culture for our team members. Tyro’s Engineering function is one of the most disciplined, agile organisations in the country and yes we 'traditionally' have a deep-rooted (though not 100%) pair programming and agile culture. We encourage our engineers to actively contribute and collaboratively pair on tasks and continually learn from each other. It has enabled us to build high quality solutions that deliver new and improved features and products for our ever growing payments and banking client base. However, we absolutely appreciate that pair programming is not for all engineers. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback and I hope your new organisation enables you to be your best engineering self!

  5. "Forward thinking and great culture."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banking Specialist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tyro Payments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    First thing I noticed when joining Tyro was the energetic culture to make a difference. Everyone is extremely supportive, friendly and helpful. We have a unique position in the market and have huge opportunity to continue fast growth.

    Cons

    Being a fintech company I feel we need to push the envelop with the tech side of things a bit harder/faster. Whilst some area we are extremely innovative, there are other areas in which we are lacking.

    Continue reading

    Tyro Payments Response

    May 1, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am happy to read that the people and the energetic culture at Tyro has been some of the best parts of your experience with us thus far, we certainly spend a lot of time and focus in building a culture that our people thrive in. It’s great to read we are on the same page and share the vision that Tyro is in a unique position with huge opportunity before us! As we focus on our continued growth with innovative products that wow our customers, we also strive to leverage operational scale and efficiencies to help sustain our growth cycle. If there are areas you feel we could do more to innovate, we would love to hear from you!

  6. "Awesome place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Sydney

    I have been working at Tyro Payments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun Growth Team culture Management

    Cons

    Salaries Opportunities are lacking Cliques

    Continue reading

    Tyro Payments Response

    May 1, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am thrilled that you are enjoying the fun team culture and have had a positive experience with senior leadership at Tyro. We recognise that our people are our greatest asset, so we endeavour to routinely review salaries and benchmark our remuneration against the median to 75th percentile of industry indices. We also encourage and support every member of our team to work with their people leader to identify and work towards development and training opportunities in line with their individual development plans. If you haven’t had a chat with your people leader yet or would like assistance initiating a chat, do not hesitate to reach out to your People Engagement Partner. The People Team is always happy to listen and offer support on any professional or employee relation queries you might have.

  7. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Sydney

    I worked at Tyro Payments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good and flexible environment Cool staff No micromanaging Team building activities

    Cons

    Didnt like my role Less pay

    Continue reading

    Tyro Payments Response

    November 28, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am happy to read that the people and the work culture at Tyro has been some of the best parts of your experience with us. We strive to continually provide a positive and engaging work experience for our team members, so your feedback about training is appreciated. We endeavour to design training and onboarding programs for each of our functions to ensure that all of our team members have the tools, knowledge and support to enable them to be successful and productive in their positions. We have also placed a lot of emphasis on providing in-person training and resources for all employees to develop their business critical skills. I’d be curious to get more context for your recommendation to provide more improvisation in the training process and take it onboard, as we’re always looking to improve the experience. I would be grateful for your time to confidentially discuss this in more detail, please could you reach out to me on ymandanas@tyro.com

  8. "Engineering focused"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Tyro Payments full-time

    Pros

    Good engineering focus and discipline. Great environment to learn.

    Cons

    Pair programming didn’t suit everybody

    Tyro Payments Response

    October 14, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am really glad to read that you had a positive experience during your time with us. I agree with you, we have an awesome engineering function :) We have taken on board the feedback that pair programming does not suit everyone so now each of the teams in the tribes make the decision on their pair programming arrangements.

  9. "best place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tyro Payments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - culture - people - life long friends - education in FinTech - exudes passion for what we are doing and where we are going - one of the best customer support teams I think I've ever been apart of (big ups Matt Parks - thanks for the jerky over the years!!!)

    Cons

    I would say the only downside is the Chief Customer Officer doing a lot of finger-pointing but not getting off his butt and doing something about it. Creating structure and giving yourself three new roles is not an 'achievement'. Pushing long-standing employees to the side to create room for "your previous work buddies" does not instill confidence in people at all. As someone who was there from the old days, we seemed to always hit targets but since he started the targets have not been met. Also, it would be good to hire some half-decent sales reps and not people that you pick off the street.

    Continue reading

    Tyro Payments Response

    October 15, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review. It's pleasing to see that you had a positive experience in your 3 - 4 years at Tyro. Feedback from our departing employees is consistent that it is the people and the culture at Tyro that is the best part of their experience. We put a lot of effort into our culture to make it one where people love coming to work everyday and we go through a stringent hiring process to make sure that we hire the best people in terms of skills, experience and fit. I'd be curious to get more context around your assertions against the CCO. Our CCO has transformed our customer function into a high performing and customer-focussed team. We have changed the candidate profile of who we hire in the Customer function to ensure that we deliver against the needs of our customers and WOW them with an exceptional customer experience. Our CCO, and his leadership team, have been instrumental in setting these foundations. Let's discuss this further confidentially, please send me a note on ymandanas@tyro.com and we can chat further.

  10. "Great FinTech company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tyro Payments full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great culture - Work life balance - Flexible working arrangements - Nice working environment - Competitive salary - Training and development support

    Cons

    - rapid growth of staff and management changes, have introduced more formal processes.

    Continue reading

    Tyro Payments Response

    October 14, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review. I am happy to read that you recommend Tyro as a place to work and that you have had a positive experience so far. We are proud of our culture and the positive work environment that we all strive to have for our people. You are right, we have experienced significant headcount growth over the last couple of years and there have been some growing pains. I thank you for your patience and commitment in seeing this through. I am confident that we are in a great place now from an organisational and cultural perspective and there has been no better time to be at Tyro.

Found 76 reviews