UGL Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

UGL Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
UGL CEO Jason Spears  (no image)
Jason Spears
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work policy, decent starting salary after cimic take over(in 6 reviews)

  • "Plenty of learning opportunities and lots of great people to work with(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Career progression is not a priority for GM's(in 7 reviews)

  • "Poor management, must be a part of good ol boy network to advance or remain employed(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Accounts Payable Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Officer 

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    salary is good. Friendly and fun place to work

    Cons

    less workload. want to be more busy

    UGL2019-09-02
  2. "Good place to work if looking for settlement with not very ambitious career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Help Desk Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UGL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, supporting manager and colleagues. Easy going and nice management. Good pay and allowances.

    Cons

    Career growth is a bit slow since work is not that much challenging and not very highly technical.

    UGL2019-09-14
  3. "UGL Rail and Infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UGL

    Pros

    Great team . Professional. Knowledge. Opportunity . Team Work.

    Cons

    Pay below industry standard. Expectations from Management are high with not much support. Will consume your life if you do not say no.

    Advice to Management

    Share your objectives directly with your team. Increase the pay and benefits.

    UGL2019-08-20
  4. "Distressed Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Commercial Manager in Sydney

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fulfilling and rewarding with loads of responsibility

    Cons

    Loads of travel and too many cooks in the kitchen

    Advice to Management

    Use IT and remote access to meetings

    UGL2019-07-31
  5. "Developing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HSSE in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for career development in the future

    Cons

    Lack of culture in the workplace Old inefficient systems

    UGL2019-07-16
  6. "team work and support, procedure and SOP's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commissioning Engineer in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UGL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team work, procedures, safety and work culture

    Cons

    Management to improve for future goals, vision

    Advice to Management

    improve quality and project schedule work

    UGL2019-07-08
  7. "Worst Company I have worked for in 30 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Newcastle
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary is above market Flexible work times

    Cons

    Leadership vacuum on a huge scale. Actually more like a leadership blackhole. Management take no responsibility for their poor decisions and flow down what ever they can. UGL has a strong blame culture.

    Advice to Management

    Clean out 40 Miller Street.

    UGL2019-07-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "UGL is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Manager in North Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've found UGL to be an excellent place to work and to advance my career. There are opportunities to move between different lines of business (and the corporate function) and to move to different companies in the CIMIC group. I work in a great team and have an excellent boss. I also feel that my efforts and results are rewarded.

    Cons

    In any large company, it can happen that all lines of business do not work together cohesively for the benefit of the shareholders. In that regard, there is also room for UGL to improve.

    UGL2019-05-19
  9. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Controls Engineer in Sydney

    I worked at UGL full-time

    Pros

    wide range of project work

    Cons

    pigeon hole employees to the same tasks

    UGL2019-05-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Progressing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture of internal promotions and career opportunities within UGL and CIMIC group.

    Cons

    As UGL is a new member of the CIMIC group, due to pay discrepancies with market and restricted promotion salary bands, internal promotions are not compensated compared to new employees of the same Job category.

    Advice to Management

    Understand the gaps in compensation as well as understanding employee's capabilities and aspirations.

    UGL2019-04-17
Found 93 reviews
</>Embed