UGL Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

UGL Reviews

Updated 30 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Jason Spears
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work policy, decent starting salary after cimic take over(in 5 reviews)

  • "Plenty of learning opportunities and lots of great people to work with(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Career progression is not a priority for GM's(in 7 reviews)

  • "Poor management, must be a part of good ol boy network to advance or remain employed(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "UGL is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Manager in North Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've found UGL to be an excellent place to work and to advance my career. There are opportunities to move between different lines of business (and the corporate function) and to move to different companies in the CIMIC group. I work in a great team and have an excellent boss. I also feel that my efforts and results are rewarded.

    Cons

    In any large company, it can happen that all lines of business do not work together cohesively for the benefit of the shareholders. In that regard, there is also room for UGL to improve.

    UGL2019-05-19
  2. "Distressed Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Commercial Manager in Sydney

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fulfilling and rewarding with loads of responsibility

    Cons

    Loads of travel and too many cooks in the kitchen

    Advice to Management

    Use IT and remote access to meetings

    UGL2019-07-31
  3. "Developing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HSSE in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for career development in the future

    Cons

    Lack of culture in the workplace Old inefficient systems

    UGL2019-07-16
  4. "team work and support, procedure and SOP's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commissioning Engineer in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UGL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team work, procedures, safety and work culture

    Cons

    Management to improve for future goals, vision

    Advice to Management

    improve quality and project schedule work

    UGL2019-07-08
  5. "Worst Company I have worked for in 30 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Newcastle
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary is above market Flexible work times

    Cons

    Leadership vacuum on a huge scale. Actually more like a leadership blackhole. Management take no responsibility for their poor decisions and flow down what ever they can. UGL has a strong blame culture.

    Advice to Management

    Clean out 40 Miller Street.

    UGL2019-07-28
  6. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Controls Engineer in Sydney

    I worked at UGL full-time

    Pros

    wide range of project work

    Cons

    pigeon hole employees to the same tasks

    UGL2019-05-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Progressing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture of internal promotions and career opportunities within UGL and CIMIC group.

    Cons

    As UGL is a new member of the CIMIC group, due to pay discrepancies with market and restricted promotion salary bands, internal promotions are not compensated compared to new employees of the same Job category.

    Advice to Management

    Understand the gaps in compensation as well as understanding employee's capabilities and aspirations.

    UGL2019-04-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Full of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Control Systems Engineer in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    UGL is a company full of opportunities and it's very diverse. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Different departments within the UGL need to collaborate more

    UGL2019-04-15
  9. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Flexible work arrangements - Stability - Diversity of skills, projects and people - Opportunities to learn and work on new projects and cutting edge technology - Opportunities for both horizontal and vertical job enrichment

    Cons

    - Like most big companies in challenging economies, change can be unpredictable

    Advice to Management

    - communication can be improved at middle to senior management level

    UGL2019-04-15
  10. "UGL - Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UGL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    UGL is a great place to work! Being apart of the CIMIC group there are many opportunities for career development and growth. UGL offers flexible working arrangements and has a great supportive team culture. UGL is growing rapidly which presents great opportunities for current employees.

    Cons

    The Melbourne office layout isn't great and because of this it restricts communications and collaboration between teams.

    UGL2019-04-15
Found 89 reviews