US Army Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

US Army Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20938 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
US Army CEO Robert
Robert
1703 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Operations Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Army full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Personal development, world travel, excellent opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours, dress code, hair cuts

    US Army2019-05-31
  2. "health job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Army full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very good team to work for

    Cons

    no flexibility for working parents

    US Army2019-06-12
  3. "The Army was good for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Army full-time

    Pros

    Paid for school Paid for grad school A lot of opportunities to lead and a lot of responsibility at quite a young age Able to serve your country as a patriot Be a part of history Work with true selfless heroes

    Cons

    Very difficult to manager your career, seems like a crap shoot as to what job you get or what posting you get The talent management system is broken at the mid to junior officer level. Some very very poor officers in middle management positions

    Advice to Management

    Need to eliminate the old boy system, ensure you're retaining talented officers Go out and fight and win America's wars. Remember that surrender is not a Ranger word

    US Army2019-02-04
  4. "Depcon Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Army full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Easy place to work. Good conditions.

    Cons

    NOt always busy. A lot of business development.

    Advice to Management

    None

    US Army2018-09-05
  5. "Outstanding Military Service Branch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Colonel in Fort Meade, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Opportunity to service the Nation Great leader development Outstanding Teamwork Superb benefits

    Cons

    Can experience mid-to-long deployments (situation dependent)

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do community outreach to meet recruiting goals.

    US Army2019-08-20
  6. "Good for development if you are in the right unit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intelligence Analyst 
    Recommends

    I worked at US Army full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, lots of technical jobs to choose from. Potential to develop serious analytic skills that are easily marketable on they civilian side. Pay for college.

    Cons

    Good ole boys mentality. Aging leadership. Often managed by leadership that does not understand your role. Most of the units will waste your time having you do things that are honestly busy work. A lot of people are looking to write their own evaluations bullets to make themselves look good so your work often goes unaccredited to you. The promotion system is broken.

    US Army2019-08-19
  7. "Wonderful Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 88M Transportation in Fort Stewart, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Opportunities to build ones self, free to choose your own path.

    Cons

    Making the wrong decision can end ones career.

    Advice to Management

    A strong team equals a great company

    US Army2019-08-18
  8. "Your career is what you make of it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fire Support Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Camaraderie, Leadership Experience, Introduction to Multiple Cultures

    Cons

    Time away from family, hazard potentials

    Advice to Management

    Continue to refine senior NCO selection criteria, give Soldiers the same PCS opportunities as officers.

    US Army2019-08-19
  9. "Best decision I ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - O5 - Army - Lieutenant Colonel in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at US Army part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love being a member of the Army National Guard. It gives me a sense of community that is unrivaled in the corporate sector. I am able to have access to affordable healthcare, dental care, life insurance, receive education benefits, and work towards a pension. I think the people in my unit are very purpose-driven and I love our mission and culture.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to balance having a career in the Army National Guard with a civilian job. During months that you have a drill weekend, you will more than likely have to work 16 days without a break. I also live in a state different than the one I drill in and that adds a 3+ hour commute.

    US Army2019-08-19
  10. "Serve Your Country and Serve Others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Military Officer in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Satisfaction in service to the Nation and to others

    Cons

    Long Hours but results are worth the time

    US Army2019-08-18
Found 20938 reviews