US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews

Updated 1 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
US Department of Veterans Affairs Secretary of Veterans Affairs  Robert Wilkie
Robert Wilkie
213 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Less pay than the private sector(in 87 reviews)

  • "But if the sup won’t like the candidate it will be contested with fury by supervisors (threats toward upper management)(in 79 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Associate Consultant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    Great organisational culture and support

    Cons

    Content of work not highly challenging.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2017-03-23
  2. "Dissappointed"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    I get to help veterans.

    Cons

    I wanted to help veterans but all I see is middle.managment screwing people over.

    Continue reading
    US Department of Veterans Affairs2018-08-01

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    August 2, 2018JWT

    Thank you for sharing your review. We will share this anonymous feedback with our HR team, but we encourage you to speak with your direct supervisor one-on-one so that we can work to create a solution that better suits you and your employee experience.

  3. "Great job had my agenda doc had his"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Nurse in Whyalla
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Left to do my work - care plan assessments Good outcomes with careplans and clients pleased as punch Clients became quite involved felt empowered

    Cons

    Getting on with one member of staff was a battle Not enough hours Staff would not book in clients for me x1

    Continue reading
    US Department of Veterans Affairs2016-07-25
  4. "Work environment that cares"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, company that cares, work life balance

    Cons

    Low wages comparable to the private sector

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2020-06-02
  5. "Love the benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Grad RN in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    resources, education, benefits, PTO, good people

    Cons

    many cooks in the kitchen...takes a long time to enact change

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2020-05-28
  6. "Unrivaled Benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great pay, especially differential - Do not have to clock in - Guaranteed hours (no low census) - Reliable schedule - Great colleagues - Unionized

    Cons

    - Bureaucratic / death-by-committee - Charting/paperwork is overkill

    Continue reading
    US Department of Veterans Affairs2020-05-28
  7. "COVID-19 RN"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN, Bsn in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Insurance, retirement, vacation, commute, federal holiday compensation

    Cons

    Very heavy work load and short of staff

    Continue reading
    US Department of Veterans Affairs2020-05-29
  8. "Rewarding challenges."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Officer in Saginaw, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging, varied work. Professional coworkers. Good benefits and pay.

    Cons

    Government red tape. Policies contradict main mission.

    Continue reading
    US Department of Veterans Affairs2020-05-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Education Compliance in Minneapolis, MN

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, great management, awesome benefits.

    Cons

    Not good if you don't like to travel

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2020-05-24
  10. "Job outlook"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Registered Dietitian 

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and great pay!

    Cons

    Poor clerical or support staff

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2020-05-27
Found 4135 reviews