US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3802 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
US Department of Veterans Affairs CEO  Robert Wilkie
Robert Wilkie
113 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "So many employees would be fired in a heartbeat if they did this in the private sector(in 79 reviews)

  • "God help you if you cross one of the many egomaniacs in middle to upper management(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Associate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    Great organisational culture and support

    Cons

    Content of work not highly challenging.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2017-03-23
  2. "Dissappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    I get to help veterans.

    Cons

    I wanted to help veterans but all I see is middle.managment screwing people over.

    Advice to Management

    Take a look a high turns arounds and EEO complaints.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2018-08-01

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    August 2, 2018JWT

    Thank you for sharing your review. We will share this anonymous feedback with our HR team, but we encourage you to speak with your direct supervisor one-on-one so that we can work to create a solution that better suits you and your employee experience.

  3. "Great job had my agenda doc had his"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Nurse in Whyalla
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Left to do my work - care plan assessments Good outcomes with careplans and clients pleased as punch Clients became quite involved felt empowered

    Cons

    Getting on with one member of staff was a battle Not enough hours Staff would not book in clients for me x1

    Advice to Management

    Have a problem deal with it face on do not avoid it.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2016-07-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good but stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Administrative Specialist 

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    Money is really good usually.

    Cons

    Stress can be a lot to deal with. Constantly changing and dismay of clients or customers.

    Advice to Management

    None needed.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-08-15
  5. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs

    Pros

    Alternatives in positions available and benefits

    Cons

    Management style and working with triwest

    Advice to Management

    Provide more educational opportunities and pay bonuses

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-08-16
  6. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facility Services Sales Representative in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs

    Pros

    Working with fellow veterans like myself.

    Cons

    Being overlooked for positions especially when you are more qualified then the person that got the position.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-08-15
  7. "Primary Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low stress environment, supportive leaders, teamwork

    Cons

    Increase in workload with absence co-workers

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-08-15
  8. "Weekend Nurse Practitioner Job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Chillicothe, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits!! Vacation time, retirement.

    Cons

    Dumb people are attempting to run healthcare when they do not provide patient care.

    Advice to Management

    Fire all mid level managers and supervisors. They are not needed and are useless. Fire useless employees instead of promoting them.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-08-15
  9. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Systems Specialist in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, VA has done a lot to improve the quality of care that it delivers.

    Cons

    it's still government and has it's bureaucratic ways.

    Advice to Management

    Do what is good for the VA and its veterans

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-08-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Benefits are the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible schedule, taking care of our veterans

    Cons

    Bullying by senior nurses goes uncontrolled as it is difficult to discipline tenured employees. Two year probationary period for nurses.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-08-07
Found 3802 reviews