US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews

Updated 15 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3735 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
US Department of Veterans Affairs CEO  Robert Wilkie
Robert Wilkie
96 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "So many employees would be fired in a heartbeat if they did this in the private sector(in 78 reviews)

  • "God help you if you cross one of the many egomaniacs in middle to upper management(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Associate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    Great organisational culture and support

    Cons

    Content of work not highly challenging.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2017-03-23
  2. "Dissappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    I get to help veterans.

    Cons

    I wanted to help veterans but all I see is middle.managment screwing people over.

    Advice to Management

    Take a look a high turns arounds and EEO complaints.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2018-08-01

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    August 2, 2018JWT

    Thank you for sharing your review. We will share this anonymous feedback with our HR team, but we encourage you to speak with your direct supervisor one-on-one so that we can work to create a solution that better suits you and your employee experience.

  3. "Great job had my agenda doc had his"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Nurse in Whyalla
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Left to do my work - care plan assessments Good outcomes with careplans and clients pleased as punch Clients became quite involved felt empowered

    Cons

    Getting on with one member of staff was a battle Not enough hours Staff would not book in clients for me x1

    Advice to Management

    Have a problem deal with it face on do not avoid it.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2016-07-25
  4. "MAS LEAD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Lead, MAS 

      I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Challenging work, set schedule of events

      Cons

      Amount of work, management always adding more work at the last minute.

      US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-06-16
    • "Good place to work, good evironment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Phlebotomist in Temple, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      good environment, well organized. good communication

      Cons

      I did not experience any Cons

      US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-06-09
    • "I love working for the VA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Nurse Practitioner in Richmond, VA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Love working with our Veterans.

      Cons

      Working for our congress can be baffling.

      US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-06-08
    • "Process"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

      I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      The staff is very welcoming.

      Cons

      Long drawn out process....2-3 months.

      US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-06-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Review for Department Veteran affairs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Supply Technician 

        I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

        Pros

        Offer great benifits for employees and family. Job security.

        Cons

        You have to sacrifice holidays constantly

        US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-06-01
      • "Registered Nurse"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        You get a pension once retired

        Cons

        8 hour shifts 5 days a week

        US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-06-04
      • "Great place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Seattle, WA
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs part-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        You will learn a lot

        Cons

        the entrenched bureaucracy doesn’t improve

        Advice to Management

        None

        US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-06-05
      Found 3735 reviews