Uline Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Uline Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 515 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Uline CEO Dick Uihlein
Dick Uihlein
314 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The dress code is a little strict but nothing hard or unreasonable to comply with(in 83 reviews)

  • "silly little things that the big boss doesn't personally like, micro management, super corporate culture(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great post grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Braselton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, 401k matching, great benefits

    Cons

    Micro managing and the overall stress of a call center

    Uline2019-10-12
  2. "Great, but not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Specialist in Pleasant Prairie, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent pay. Management understands that family comes first. The company affords ordinary grunts a LOT of power - I have never felt so empowered at a company before. If you show 'the spark,' they will actively develop you into the person you want to become. There's a corporate culture of integrity and honesty - a couple long-time employees who don't get it consistently get socked in the face as a result. Bravery... is encouraged.

    Show More

    Cons

    Oi, with the cubes already and the ties and the sexist dress code, already. I'm not sure I'd want to work for the company if I were a young woman looking to start a family on account of a restrictive maternity leave policy. PTO is a little skimpy. The little details can be frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    You either 'get' the corporate culture or you don't, and you'll know on your first day. I love it, and I'm looking forward sticking with the company for as long as they keep meeting my needs.

    Uline2019-10-11
  3. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Sales Manager in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Had a rewarding experience at uline. The people working in my department were fantastic and the facilities were great.

    Cons

    large organization and can get lost in the red tape.

    Uline2019-10-09
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Hope to be here another 7 years, plus some!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leadership is always approachable and I feel my opinions and insights are considered and respected. Management is supportive of my goals and encourages personal and professional development. I feel challenged to do my best each and every day, and am encouraged to go outside of my comfort zone to grow and learn new skills. Salary and benefits are competitive, and the company is very generous with bonuses and extra... "perks." I enjoy the satisfaction of working hard to achieve my goals, and the company culture creates the perfect atmosphere for ambition and motivation to thrive. Work is fast-paced and impactful, and I've built meaningful relationships with many of my co-workers in the time I've been here. Uline has high expectations of their employees, which I can appreciate because I have high expectations of my employer.

    Show More

    Cons

    Everyone mentions the dress code - it's never bothered me. You get used to it, just like any other company uniform. Transparency/communication in certain aspects of the company could improve - sharing the "why" behind some rules, processes, decisions, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to encourage employees, support their career endeavors, foster growth, and consider their thoughts and opinions. A good employee is your best asset.

    Uline2019-09-05
  5. "All around worth it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Braselton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent pay, good benefits and daily workout.

    Cons

    No complaints worth listing at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Stay fair.

    Uline2019-09-29
  6. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Pleasant Pr, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Co workers are willing to help and management seems to care about employee professional growth. - Pretty good opportunities to explore new technology...but implementing it will be a hard sell but management seems more and more open to it. - Career paths are well layed out.

    Cons

    - Absolutely no work from home option. - Low paid time off (not "generous" like stated in job postings) starting for a developer is 16 days (YOU MUST TAKE PTO WHEN SICK) - No sick days (explained above) - No options in terms of what keyboard/mouse/screens/laptop to use. - The chairs are the worst chairs ever and you need a formal doctors note to get a chair that has arms... - Strict dress code, shirt and tie for men.... Not too familiar with womens dress but people complain about it being very strict.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If work from home was an option 1 day/week this would be a much more attractive job and would increase our hiring pool. Offer more office chair options. It is distracting to have such an uncomfortable chair.

    Uline2019-10-11
  7. "Good company, decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great bonus, a lot of employee events, nice people.

    Cons

    Busy work, micro managing, they keep track of all metrics and have high expectations. The days get very repetitive and long.

    Uline2019-10-08
  8. "It’s like selling your soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Holidays off and no weekends.

    Cons

    You will be micromanaged to a nervous breakdown. They will come in and take pictures of your desks and drawers when you aren’t there, trying to catch you doing something bad. No personal items allowed on desks. The mistrust is something never experienced until now. The dress code is from the 1960s.

    Advice to Management

    Unless this became a publicly traded company, there is no advice for management. They are set in their ways

    Uline2019-10-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in Coppell, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great to their employees, competitive pay, great sales team

    Cons

    Old fashioned, boring office space

    Uline2019-09-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to be if you like to work hard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Pleasant Prairie, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, excellent pay wages

    Cons

    None till now, I can only be grateful

    Uline2019-09-01
Found 515 reviews