UniFirst Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

UniFirst Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1164 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
UniFirst CEO Steven S. Sintros
Steven S. Sintros
186 Ratings
Pros
  • "Awesome people, great company, fulfilling job(in 60 reviews)

  • "Great training programs/classes which provide continuous education for both Product Knowledge & Sales Process knowledge(in 57 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes you may have work long hours(in 73 reviews)

  • "Ive been in Sales a while and feel that this place is truly impossible to be a successful sales rep(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing training provided along with generous training wage."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome training and SUPER professional work culture. I am new to the company and very relieved so far by how healthy/focused the work environment is with UniFirst.

    Cons

    I am new, to both UniFirst and Corporate America. I didn't come into this needing everything to be perfect. I have no doubts that after one month in that I have been given what I need to succeed.

    UniFirst2019-08-15
  2. "Great Culture with Career Advancement Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training in the beginning, then you are given the appropriate tools to go out and succeed. If you are willing to put in the work, constantly build your craft, and consistently bring in business, you will be rewarded. After 2 years of outside sales, I worked my way through the sales career path and recently accepted a Sales Management position with UniFirst. We promote from within and reward top talent.

    Cons

    You get what you put into the job. As a Sales Rep, you need to put in the work in your first year to set up the rest of your career. As I mentioned, top reps are rewarded, and you don't become a top rep without a high work ethic and a natural drive.

    UniFirst2019-08-13
  3. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Hummelstown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    excellent training program, good 401k program, profit sharing, and upward mobility

    Cons

    high turnover rate of employees

    Advice to Management

    keep growing and continue to reduce turnover

    UniFirst2019-08-06
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Sales Representative in Wichita, KS
    Recommends

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work and benefits.

    Cons

    Work is very physically demanding.

    Advice to Management

    Be a leader, not a micromanager.

    UniFirst2019-08-05
  5. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time

    Pros

    opportunity to make a lot of money

    Cons

    the facility is very old

    UniFirst2019-08-02
  6. "Great Experience, Family Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training, Experience, Culture, Car allowance, New business prospecting, Great management to learn from

    Cons

    No real cons, this position is a grind but it is well worth it

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the family culture and keep investing in your employees and they will do the same for you!

    UniFirst2019-07-25
  7. "No work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Service Manager, Route Service Manager in Neenah, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None come to mind at the moment.

    Cons

    Work/life balance, spread too thin, too many responsibilities in this position, pays too low for everything that is expected of you. Lots of turnover! Stressful industry.

    Advice to Management

    Control the workload of the dsm/rsm position. Figure out a way to get people time off and get them out at a reasonable time daily. Almost impossible to take a day off. Keep management of the truck.

    UniFirst2019-08-07
  8. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Wilmington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No Limits on what you want to work on

    Cons

    Nothing thatI can think of

    UniFirst2019-07-22
  9. "Route"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good . People are great.

    Cons

    Hours, help. Send you blind.

    UniFirst2019-08-04
  10. "It WAS a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked for many years under the Croatti leadership. It WAS a strong family culture. CFO has got to go. Not a cultural fit.

    Cons

    They want to get rid of the people that grew the company to where it is today. No communication. No strong direction. No loyalty. No good management. Family culture is gone !

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the staff that have been there for 20+ years. Learn the business. Understand the business. Then make changes to improve the company.

    UniFirst2019-08-03
Found 1164 reviews