United Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

United Airlines Reviews

Updated 20 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2761 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Oscar Munoz
Oscar Munoz
1,038 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of communication/care by upper management(in 60 reviews)

  • "New flight attendants will most likely start as a reserve but it was no problem for me to be on reserve for a few years since I enjoyed the job(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Baggage Landler SFO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time

    Pros

    You make your own schedule. There are so many people working that dropping your hrs is easy and picking up hours is easy too

    Cons

    Managers and operations are unpredictable. They can love you one day, next day they’ll ask you come into the office to fire you.

    Advice to Management

    PAY YOUR WORKERS! Quit promising that $17 raise and give the people what they deserve!

    United Airlines2018-09-03
  2. "Not happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines

    Pros

    There are not any best reasons to work here. The situation was very stressful. Passengers are generally grumpy and the aircraft old and tired.

    Cons

    Worked to the bone without breaks or any consideration. The situation was very stressful. Passengers are generally grumpy and the aircraft old and tired.

    Advice to Management

    Give us a break

    United Airlines2017-04-20
  3. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines

    Pros

    Great benefits, travel and health insurance paid for. Good vendor to work with, profit shaing and on time performance payments,

    Cons

    local manager not user friendly

    Advice to Management

    Look hard at fixing the head of departments

    United Airlines2015-12-02
  4. Helpful (153)

    "Friendly skies really are friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working for UA since February 2017 and I am absolutely loving it. This is my 4th airline to work for as a flight attendant and the people here are the biggest reason I chose UA to work at until I retire! I am overwhelmed by the welcoming atmosphere and all the fun we have on flights and layovers.

    Cons

    Depending on your base you might have to be on straight reserve for a while.

    United Airlines2018-08-21
  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Maintenance Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    United has a lot of perks and good benefits. Fun place to work. Many different ways to grow in the company.

    Cons

    The only con is the pay compared to other airlines

    United Airlines2019-09-20
  6. "Moving in the right direction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing travel benefits, great skill development, decent healthcare, good office location, great work culture, great coworkers, actually interesting work.

    Cons

    Constant and very public fails and missed opportunities impact morale. Management promotes idiots out of the way which decreases promotion potential. Actual merit based promotions do not exist, every position is publicly posted and must be applied for. Pay is mediocre. Raises are very low.

    Advice to Management

    Try harder to get rid of the "good ol' boys club" mentality that is still present in some areas. Focus much harder on merit based promotions instead of connection based ones.

    United Airlines2019-09-20
  7. "Excellent pay and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanic in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Valued as employees means a lot on the day to day

    Cons

    Large organization makes you feel small

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    United Airlines2019-09-18
  8. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great growth opportunity, expanding company, outstanding employee benefits, and very friendly employees to work with

    Cons

    Many days away from home

    United Airlines2019-09-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Meeting different people from all of the world and traveling benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at United Airlines

    Pros

    Great benefits and salary is good, also like the fast paced work.

    Cons

    Having to deal with upset customers for delayed flights and canceled flights

    United Airlines2019-09-13
  10. "Good company but no career prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Purchasing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team, potential bonuses each 6 months, 7 hrs work + 1 hr break

    Cons

    Lower salary, sometimes unfulfilling work

    United Airlines2019-09-17
Found 2761 reviews