United Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

United Airlines Reviews

Updated 15 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2684 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Oscar Munoz
Oscar Munoz
992 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of communication/care by upper management(in 60 reviews)

  • "New flight attendants will most likely start as a reserve but it was no problem for me to be on reserve for a few years since I enjoyed the job(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Baggage Landler SFO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time

    Pros

    You make your own schedule. There are so many people working that dropping your hrs is easy and picking up hours is easy too

    Cons

    Managers and operations are unpredictable. They can love you one day, next day they’ll ask you come into the office to fire you.

    Advice to Management

    PAY YOUR WORKERS! Quit promising that $17 raise and give the people what they deserve!

    United Airlines2018-09-03
  2. "Not happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines

    Pros

    There are not any best reasons to work here. The situation was very stressful. Passengers are generally grumpy and the aircraft old and tired.

    Cons

    Worked to the bone without breaks or any consideration. The situation was very stressful. Passengers are generally grumpy and the aircraft old and tired.

    Advice to Management

    Give us a break

    United Airlines2017-04-20
  3. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines

    Pros

    Great benefits, travel and health insurance paid for. Good vendor to work with, profit shaing and on time performance payments,

    Cons

    local manager not user friendly

    Advice to Management

    Look hard at fixing the head of departments

    United Airlines2015-12-02
  4. Helpful (138)

    "Friendly skies really are friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working for UA since February 2017 and I am absolutely loving it. This is my 4th airline to work for as a flight attendant and the people here are the biggest reason I chose UA to work at until I retire! I am overwhelmed by the welcoming atmosphere and all the fun we have on flights and layovers.

    Cons

    Depending on your base you might have to be on straight reserve for a while.

    United Airlines2018-08-21
  5. "Great company that truly treat its employees as their biggest asset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor - Airport Operations in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flying benefits Medical/Health/Dental etc. Positive work culture Great coworkers

    Cons

    Schedule/vaccation/and Shifts are warranted by biding by seniority. In operations no guarantees to have off on holidays

    United Airlines2019-07-15
  6. "Working full time at United Airlines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Caring attitude of company and co-workers; Engaged management; good salary; good benefits; travel benefits

    Cons

    I am based at the Willis Tower in Chicago which makes driving to work difficult. However public transport is easily accessible.

    Advice to Management

    Remain engaged

    United Airlines2019-07-15
  7. "United"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fly benefit, yearly profit bonuses

    Cons

    Schedule, some management that abuse power.

    United Airlines2019-07-15
  8. "Overall solid company with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced, high energy and diverse company. Benefits are excellent including flight benefits. Employee base is extremely talented and great folks to work with. Very big on diversity and inclusion.

    Cons

    Senior leadership needs to do a better job of work/life balance for management and administrative employees.

    United Airlines2019-07-15
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Really good exposure and people

    Cons

    Small Office , leads to limited growth opportunities

    United Airlines2019-07-15
  10. "Great company to work for and amazing benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Revenue Management Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Flight Benefits 2. Flight Benefits! 3. Great company culture and team 4. Good medical, life, and optional benefits

    Cons

    -Big corporations so the job can be very inflexible sometimes -Making a lot of strides to be better for the customers but still has a long way to go, hence you'll have to deal with the bad rep sometimes

    Advice to Management

    More work life balance, vacation days, and increase in salaries. Also many parts of the company need a serious push towards diversity, particularly when it comes to leadership.

    United Airlines2019-07-13
Found 2684 reviews