University of Derby UK Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

University of Derby UK Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
University of Derby UK CEO Chris Hughes
Chris Hughes
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If a member of the team leaves, their work is off loaded on to the others in the team and it takes a while to recruit a new staff member(in 3 reviews)

  • "It seems like each staff member is a just a number not an individual(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Academic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work with a great vision and ambition

    Cons

    Some campuses are located quite a distance from the main library but there is a good shuttle bus

    University of Derby UK2019-04-15
  2. "Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    Amazing job with amazing people! Loved every moment of work!

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say! Just thank you for giving me this opportunity!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on going the way you do it and the new ambassadors will love it as much as I did!

    University of Derby UK2019-03-12
  3. "Crisis management the norm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    Some very capable staff and very likable and dedicated people. Good facilities.

    Cons

    Vice Chancellor and top team are intimidating and do not reflect the values the University professes. There is a blame culture and strategic weakness.

    Advice to Management

    Replace the Vice Chancellor who is not taking the staff with her. Her wayward style is widely recognised.

    University of Derby UK2019-04-16
  4. "University of Derby Union of Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer & Marketing Assistant in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, lovely environment to work, relaxed but sufficiently busy.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic institution that changes its president most years, so could do with more coherent long-term vision.

    University of Derby UK2019-03-10
  5. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time

      Pros

      Very Good place to work

      Cons

      I dont know what to say

      University of Derby UK2019-03-05
    • "Researcher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Researcher in Derby, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good working environment and nice people.

      Cons

      I don't really see any cons

      University of Derby UK2019-02-27
    • "Research Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Great ties to industry local and international.

        Cons

        Some of the campuses are located a distance away.

        University of Derby UK2019-02-26
      • Helpful (1)

        "Absolutely worst place ever to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at University of Derby UK full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        there really is nothing in the world that would make me recommend this place to my worst enemy

        Cons

        Lack of resources, bullying and beyond unprofessional do not work here

        Advice to Management

        Be honest that your cultural transformation programme is window dressing and you are just not ready for the changes you need to make

        University of Derby UK2019-03-22
      • "Employee Reviews"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Electronics Technician in Derby, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        It's challenging but a great place to work

        Cons

        If a member of the team leaves, their work is offloaded on to the others in the team and it takes a while to recruit a new staff member

        University of Derby UK2019-01-10
      • Helpful (1)

        "Under Valued"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Derby, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The team are friendly and supporting

        Cons

        Management are terrible leaders who do not know how to delegate. Processes are incredibly bureaucratic

        Advice to Management

        Hire leaders in management positions that actually have people skills.

        University of Derby UK2018-11-20
      Found 56 reviews