University of Derby UK Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

University of Derby UK Reviews

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
36%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
University of Derby UK Chairman & Pro Chancellor Chris Hughes
Chris Hughes
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If a member of the team leaves, their work is offloaded on to the others in the team and it takes a while to recruit a new staff member(in 4 reviews)

  • "Many academics are trapped and want to leave but can’t due to family, location, state of HE generally etc(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good development / learning opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Aided Drafter 

    I worked at University of Derby UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good level of responsibility - Helpful / attentive line management

    Cons

    - Parking difficult / expensive on campus

    University of Derby UK2020-01-23
  2. "Supportive and future-focussed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive place to work with lots of opportunities to develop your skills. Management empower staff to perform their role to the best of their abilities and colleagues are supportive of development. Staff are involved in development of process improvements, which makes you feel valued.

    Cons

    University is going through a transition at the moment where we are looking to join up strategic thinking, however, at times old habits mean that there is a lack of collaboration and communication between departments.

    Continue reading
    University of Derby UK2020-01-16
  3. "Friendly supportive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Lecturer in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Safe local environment close to the Peak District

    Cons

    No one knows where it is

    University of Derby UK2019-12-30

    University of Derby UK Response

    January 16, 2020Recruitment Team Leader

    Thank you for your positive review - we agree and it's certainly great to be so near to the beautiful Peak District!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Its OK, but I wouldn't recommend it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Engineer in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing sites and facilities filled with lovely people, state of the art facilities with a really relaxed working environment. The University has a real desire to grow and better itself and its achieving this.

    Cons

    The pay is not competitive, mine is out by about 20k. They say the working environment is but it isn't really. The main campus has an issue with parking it was not uncommon to not be able to park. They charge employees for a parking permit but then say they cant use the facilities on certain days. To try and get around some of the issues they have brought in a private enforcement company who are now fining employees who are just trying to get into work and make the university a better place. I have heard some of my colleagues who look after the service delivery have been exposed to asbestos.

    Continue reading
    University of Derby UK2020-01-08

    University of Derby UK Response

    January 16, 2020Recruitment Team Leader

    Thank you for your review and feedback. Whilst we restrict parking on Student Open Days to ensure our visitors to the University are adequately accommodated for, we do provide significant alternative parking arrangements including a free shuttle bus to and from the alternative car park. Our parking arrangements must support both staff and students, however we know it can get very busy on campus! As such we encourage staff and students to find alternative methods to getting into the main campus, these include the free buses that run across Derby (including to and from the train station and between sites) and a staff 'cycle to work' scheme.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid if you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some staff friendly Student centred

    Cons

    Below national average for salary No clear strategy Worryingly high staff turnover rates Hostile management Lack of flexibility

    University of Derby UK2019-12-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Working at the university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Advisor in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * work life balance * friendly colleagues *supportive teams * facilities are fairly new and developed *accessible and easy to get too

    Cons

    * poor management style and managers who arent qualified to be managers *low morale overall *unprofessional *inconsiderate and uncompassionate *offload work onto you when someone has left *unsupportive * like being in a cult except your not part of it and only the managers are *clicky atmosphere and environment between everyone who has been a 'longstanding employee'

    Continue reading
    University of Derby UK2019-10-23
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not worth the stress of it all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Good public facilities -community atmosphere -annual leave entitlement

    Cons

    -Resources and staff office space/environment complete opposite of the public outfacing facilities. -The ‘Strategic Framework’ is totally unrelatable to the average worker and the online induction courses felt like an indoctrination. -Internal processes with several lines of approval hold up work that needs to be done leading a simple task needing crisis management to complete for an unrealistic deadline. - Increasing workload without the potential for a decent increase in pay. -Almost always in some form of restructuring with a feeling of uncertainty and difficulty to do the job. -Senior leaders are intimidating -High turnover of staff with many agency workers filling in the gaps

    Continue reading
    University of Derby UK2019-09-30
  8. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MSC Student 

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    Great place to study and better oneself as a person

    Cons

    Online learning needs a lot of self discipline and hard work

    Continue reading
    University of Derby UK2019-08-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Absolute Omnishambles!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Academic 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Not much! Some good people

    Cons

    - Deluded and incompetent Senior Management who are focussed on their own careers and self importance. Many also try to manage by fear and thus alienate those working in their area but wonder why engagement is so low - genuinely clueless! - Shambolic and completely unrealistic approach to longer term strategy. The ‘Strategic Framework’ and associated compulsory indoctrination courses are woeful and embarrassing - Internal processes (ordering goods, recruiting etc) largely not fit for purpose and impede on ability to do job - Increasing workload without potential for decent increase in reward/recognition - Many academics are trapped and want to leave but can’t due to family, location, state of HE generally etc - Almost constantly under some form of reorganisation meaning nothing gets embedded before it’s changed again. Such flux means difficult to do job - Not exclusive to this institution, but likely future devaluing of pension provision due to escalating costs - If you have any research ambitions, this is NOT the institution for you!

    Continue reading
    University of Derby UK2019-08-29
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of great benefits and opportunities at the University.

    Cons

    Decision making can at times be slow making it difficult to get things moving

    University of Derby UK2019-07-17

    University of Derby UK Response

    January 16, 2020Recruitment Team Leader

    Thank you so much for your review, there are many great development opportunities at the University and our MyLearning platform is a really user friendly for formal learning.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 70 reviews