University of Derby UK Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

University of Derby UK Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
University of Derby UK CEO Chris Hughes
Chris Hughes
14 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of great benefits and opportunities at the University.

    Cons

    Decision making can at times be slow making it difficult to get things moving

    University of Derby UK2019-07-17
  2. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Welcoming team Engaging work Learned valuable skills Great team of people Opportunities to do data input shifts as well Lots of feedback after a shift, ideal for growth

    Cons

    Hours are very sporadic and often you'll only get 1-2 shifts a month Physically demanding. Didn't always feel welcome in a group

    University of Derby UK2019-07-10
  3. "great university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Officer 

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great university good team good support

    Cons

    salary process heavy too many meetings

    University of Derby UK2019-07-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nothing is good here seriously

    Cons

    No meritocracy. Do not come to work here.

    University of Derby UK2019-06-25
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Still appalling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    No longer exist in current environment.

    Cons

    I enjoyed my time working at the University (28 Years), however, the best decision I ever made was to move on (no choice in the matter as it happens). I feel sorry for the staff that are currently left at this place. Recently advertised post for 50 plus new staff in Admin would be for the staff that took Voluntary redundancy, this consisted of quite a few staff that had been at the university for a number of years. I...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of current Exec leader, she doing the University no favours.

    University of Derby UK2019-06-18
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Need to value people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People in the team really try their hardest in difficult situations.

    Cons

    The pressure and workload for staff on the ground is just unbearable. More work is poured on with less people to do it, There are new senior appointments permanently but never anyone to do the work. There is no trust from Managers. Nothing anyone does is ever considered good enough.

    Advice to Management

    Actually value people.

    University of Derby UK2019-05-23
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Crisis management the norm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    Some very capable staff and very likable and dedicated people. Good facilities.

    Cons

    Vice Chancellor and top team are intimidating and do not reflect the values the University professes. There is a blame culture and strategic weakness.

    Advice to Management

    Replace the Vice Chancellor who is not taking the staff with her. Her wayward style is widely recognised.

    University of Derby UK2019-04-16
  8. "Academic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work with a great vision and ambition

    Cons

    Some campuses are located quite a distance from the main library but there is a good shuttle bus

    University of Derby UK2019-04-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Absolutely worst place ever to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there really is nothing in the world that would make me recommend this place to my worst enemy

    Cons

    Lack of resources, bullying and beyond unprofessional do not work here

    Advice to Management

    Be honest that your cultural transformation programme is window dressing and you are just not ready for the changes you need to make

    University of Derby UK2019-03-22
  10. "Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    Amazing job with amazing people! Loved every moment of work!

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say! Just thank you for giving me this opportunity!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on going the way you do it and the new ambassadors will love it as much as I did!

    University of Derby UK2019-03-12
Found 62 reviews