University of Derby UK Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

University of Derby UK Reviews

Updated 28 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
University of Derby UK CEO Chris Hughes
Chris Hughes
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Crisis management the norm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    Some very capable staff and very likable and dedicated people. Good facilities.

    Cons

    Vice Chancellor and top team are intimidating and do not reflect the values the University professes. There is a blame culture and strategic weakness.

    Advice to Management

    Replace the Vice Chancellor who is not taking the staff with her. Her wayward style is widely recognised.

    University of Derby UK2019-04-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "University of Derby Union of Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer & Marketing Assistant in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, lovely environment to work, relaxed but sufficiently busy.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic institution that changes its president most years, so could do with more coherent long-term vision.

    University of Derby UK2019-03-10
  3. "Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    Amazing job with amazing people! Loved every moment of work!

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say! Just thank you for giving me this opportunity!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on going the way you do it and the new ambassadors will love it as much as I did!

    University of Derby UK2019-03-12
  4. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time

    Pros

    Very Good place to work

    Cons

    I dont know what to say

    University of Derby UK2019-03-05
  5. "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment and nice people.

    Cons

    I don't really see any cons

    University of Derby UK2019-02-27
  6. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great ties to industry local and international.

    Cons

    Some of the campuses are located a distance away.

    University of Derby UK2019-02-26
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Absolutely worst place ever to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there really is nothing in the world that would make me recommend this place to my worst enemy

    Cons

    Lack of resources, bullying and beyond unprofessional do not work here

    Advice to Management

    Be honest that your cultural transformation programme is window dressing and you are just not ready for the changes you need to make

    University of Derby UK2019-03-22
  8. "Employee Reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Technician in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's challenging but a great place to work

    Cons

    If a member of the team leaves, their work is offloaded on to the others in the team and it takes a while to recruit a new staff member

    University of Derby UK2019-01-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Under Valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team are friendly and supporting

    Cons

    Management are terrible leaders who do not know how to delegate. Processes are incredibly bureaucratic

    Advice to Management

    Hire leaders in management positions that actually have people skills.

    University of Derby UK2018-11-20
  10. "Student Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A nice academic environment full of professional people

    Cons

    There are no cons to talk about

    University of Derby UK2018-11-01
Found 65 reviews