University of Derby UK Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

University of Derby UK Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
University of Derby UK CEO Chris Hughes
Chris Hughes
12 Ratings
  1. "Employee Reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Technician in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It's challenging but a great place to work

    Cons

    If a member of the team leaves, their work is offloaded on to the others in the team and it takes a while to recruit a new staff member

    University of Derby UK2019-01-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Under Valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The team are friendly and supporting

    Cons

    Management are terrible leaders who do not know how to delegate. Processes are incredibly bureaucratic

    Advice to Management

    Hire leaders in management positions that actually have people skills.

    University of Derby UK2018-11-20
  3. "Student Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Derby, England
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at University of Derby UK part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      A nice academic environment full of professional people

      Cons

      There are no cons to talk about

      University of Derby UK2018-11-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Friendly team, but no stability and staff are overworked."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Friendly team (though this doesn't seem to be consistent across the University). Good opportunities for in-house training and development. Free use of the Unibus service. Discounts with some local businesses. The Kedleston Road site is in a convenient location with good transport links.

      Cons

      Poor approach to complaints/conflict resolution. Staff are overworked as a result of regular cuts. Managers/supervisors are unable to provide adequate support because of the cuts. No stability due to the ongoing restructure in one area; almost all recently advertised admin vacancies are on fixed term contracts. Few opportunities for progression as a result of regular cuts and short contracts.

      Advice to Management

      Provide appropriate support for overworked staff and departments; don't reduce team sizes if the size of the workload will stay the same. Take a more effective approach to conflict resolution - issues shouldn't escalate to a point where a supervisor feels scared to approach the root of the problem. Consider ways of improving job security for staff at all levels.

      University of Derby UK2018-10-08
    • Helpful (3)

      "Stressful work environment, little communication but friendly team"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Administrator (the Registry) in Derby, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at University of Derby UK (Less than a year)

      Pros

      -Nearly all staff are friendly and helpful -Good training before job and during job

      Cons

      -Little care or support for mental health issues caused by work stress -Overworked and too much work -Criticised for wanting more challenging work or asking questions about processes and why the department made the decisions they did -Offered progression to senior role 1 day. 1 day later I was offered the same role but with a reduction in pay. -Office politics with management - lots of in groups in management -Often...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please pay attention to what the staff are unhappy about. Pay attention to when staff are obviously stressed and overworked - do not ignore this, do not suggest that they just get on with it.

      University of Derby UK2018-09-23
    • "Student focused organisation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at University of Derby UK part-time

      Pros

      There's an admirable and deep-rooted culture of trying to help and support all students, regardless of course, background or specific needs. I also had excellent relations with line management, and they were flexible and supportive when my circumstances required temporary changes to my hours and conditions. I would also recommend 'term time only' roles for jobseekers looking for positions that can fit around existing...

      Show More

      Cons

      My role was 'term time only' and my wage expectations, based on the salary information in the original job advert, did not reflect the reality that arrived in my pay packet every month. If you are offered a 'term time only' role with the university and have never worked this way before, discuss the salary details before you start. Personal development opportunities were also limited in my role.

      Advice to Management

      For new 'term time only' roles, be clear about the salary new employees are likely to receive each month. The job I applied for used a general ‘pro-rata’ figure in the original ad that did reflect the reality in my wage packet. I would also recommend providing more training opportunities for staff working in 'term time only' and part-time roles, as I believe this would help with personal development and morale.

      University of Derby UK2018-08-29
    • "Student Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time

        Pros

        Positive, encouraging, small community atmosphere

        Cons

        not as high on the official league tables

        University of Derby UK2018-08-13
      • Helpful (1)

        "Good but not much drive"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Derby, England
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at University of Derby UK full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Fantastic training, great support network, good mix of people

        Cons

        Not much ambition, slow moving, quite rigid in working , older workforce

        Advice to Management

        Younger managers with ideas to drive the business forward

        University of Derby UK2018-08-09
      • Helpful (1)

        "Excellent team atmosphere"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Employer Engagement Officer in Derby, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Great team, with a lot of work being done into helping with staff wellbeing and employee engagement really being focused on,

        Cons

        Communication can sometimes be lacking between departments

        University of Derby UK2018-07-03
      • "Researcher"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Researcher in Leicester, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at University of Derby UK part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Excellent team work. communicable . easy to manage work and family life.

        Cons

        short contracts. very hard to advance my career

        University of Derby UK2018-06-27
      Found 58 reviews