University of Derby UK Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

University of Derby UK Reviews

Updated 28 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
University of Derby UK CEO Chris Hughes
Chris Hughes
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Friendly team, but no stability and staff are overworked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team (though this doesn't seem to be consistent across the University). Good opportunities for in-house training and development. Free use of the Unibus service. Discounts with some local businesses. The Kedleston Road site is in a convenient location with good transport links.

    Cons

    Poor approach to complaints/conflict resolution. Staff are overworked as a result of regular cuts. Managers/supervisors are unable to provide adequate support because of the cuts. No stability due to the ongoing restructure in one area; almost all recently advertised admin vacancies are on fixed term contracts. Few opportunities for progression as a result of regular cuts and short contracts.

    Advice to Management

    Provide appropriate support for overworked staff and departments; don't reduce team sizes if the size of the workload will stay the same. Take a more effective approach to conflict resolution - issues shouldn't escalate to a point where a supervisor feels scared to approach the root of the problem. Consider ways of improving job security for staff at all levels.

    University of Derby UK2018-10-08
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Stressful work environment, little communication but friendly team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrator (the Registry) in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK for less than a year

    Pros

    -Nearly all staff are friendly and helpful -Good training before job and during job

    Cons

    -Little care or support for mental health issues caused by work stress -Overworked and too much work -Criticised for wanting more challenging work or asking questions about processes and why the department made the decisions they did -Offered progression to senior role 1 day. 1 day later I was offered the same role but with a reduction in pay. -Office politics with management - lots of in groups in... management -Often required to perform stressful tasks I did not want to do

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please pay attention to what the staff are unhappy about. Pay attention to when staff are obviously stressed and overworked - do not ignore this, do not suggest that they just get on with it.

    University of Derby UK2018-09-23
  3. "Student focused organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Derby UK part-time

    Pros

    There's an admirable and deep-rooted culture of trying to help and support all students, regardless of course, background or specific needs. I also had excellent relations with line management, and they were flexible and supportive when my circumstances required temporary changes to my hours and conditions. I would also recommend 'term time only' roles for jobseekers looking for positions that can fit around... existing childcare needs.

    Show More

    Cons

    My role was 'term time only' and my wage expectations, based on the salary information in the original job advert, did not reflect the reality that arrived in my pay packet every month. If you are offered a 'term time only' role with the university and have never worked this way before, discuss the salary details before you start. Personal development opportunities were also limited in my role.

    Advice to Management

    For new 'term time only' roles, be clear about the salary new employees are likely to receive each month. The job I applied for used a general ‘pro-rata’ figure in the original ad that did reflect the reality in my wage packet. I would also recommend providing more training opportunities for staff working in 'term time only' and part-time roles, as I believe this would help with personal development and morale.

    University of Derby UK2018-08-29
  4. "Student Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    Positive, encouraging, small community atmosphere

    Cons

    not as high on the official league tables

    University of Derby UK2018-08-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good but not much drive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic training, great support network, good mix of people

    Cons

    Not much ambition, slow moving, quite rigid in working , older workforce

    Advice to Management

    Younger managers with ideas to drive the business forward

    University of Derby UK2018-08-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent team atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employer Engagement Officer in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, with a lot of work being done into helping with staff wellbeing and employee engagement really being focused on,

    Cons

    Communication can sometimes be lacking between departments

    University of Derby UK2018-07-03
  7. "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent team work. communicable . easy to manage work and family life.

    Cons

    short contracts. very hard to advance my career

    University of Derby UK2018-06-27
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Okay for a stop gap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    I struggle to see them

    Cons

    Unwilling to progress staff and a major gender bias. far too many part time members of staff

    Advice to Management

    far too many managers that don't seem to do much

    University of Derby UK2018-06-25
  9. "Great for Working as a Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible to studies, understanding of commitments and regular reviews and feedback. Constant support available.

    Cons

    Difficult setting to work in can be draining at times living, working and studying all within the same environment.

    University of Derby UK2018-06-06
  10. "Working for the University of Derby"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    Multiple campus work Free travel between campuses Great library to research and have a quiet space talented academics Great contact with helplines

    Cons

    Can be very clicky too much management Not enough time in the day

    University of Derby UK2018-05-29
Found 65 reviews