University of Derby UK Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

University of Derby UK Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
University of Derby UK CEO Chris Hughes
Chris Hughes
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Lecturer in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary is pretty good but they will make you work silly hours to earn it!

    Cons

    Bullying management Money more important than students Staff morale rock bottom

    Advice to Management

    Leave and let a decent management team take over

    University of Derby UK2017-07-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Derby, England

    I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It's a small community

    Cons

    Slow in response to complaints

    University of Derby UK2017-07-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Derby UK

    Pros

    good organisation, easy to work. bright students

    Cons

    too many intermediate management , hard to sell your ideas

    Advice to Management

    concentrate on lecturers than management

    University of Derby UK2017-05-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    Good holidays Job security Internal training and development courses Varied work, opportunities to get involved with wider university activities such as Clearing and Open Days

    Cons

    Resources and office space/environment could be better. Very dingy working conditions, no air-con, natural daylight, cramped desks.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in staff working areas. Communication across departments could be better but i have noticed a slight improvement over the last year.

    University of Derby UK2017-01-23
  5. "Temporary Finance Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Temporary Finance Assistant in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK

    Pros

    Good people and fair breaks

    Cons

    Repetitive work and long hours

    Advice to Management

    Try to get Temporary Employees more engaged

    University of Derby UK2016-11-07
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Terry Gilliam's "Brazil""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Derbyshire Peak District. Regular Salary. High degree of weather protection. Like the students. Like many colleagues (though don't get much chance to converse). Occasional glimpses of intellectual stimulation.

    Cons

    For academics, at least, the working environment is stressful and somewhat unpleasant. There's a strong 'top-down' managerialist organisational philosophy. Continual 'churn' - restructuring at large and small scales means that no systems are ever quite functional. Upper and upper-middle management seem blithely deaf to complaints from below decks, but are quick to shovel blame down there. The tragi-comedic mix of self-justification...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look to your business model: why doesn't it work unless you continually overwork your resources? If you don't understand what academia is, at least you could stop interfering with it. And if you can't treat people as human beings, perhaps a line of work with few humans involved might be better? - like a sausage factory, perhaps.

    University of Derby UK2016-09-28
  7. "anonymous review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time

      Pros

      great staff and working conditions

      Cons

      poor senior management decicion making

      Advice to Management

      liase more with staff

      University of Derby UK2016-09-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "IT Field Support"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at University of Derby UK

      Pros

      Great team members that where will to help. The working environment is a wonderful. And the task will get you thinking

      Cons

      Some days are slow, and boring

      University of Derby UK2016-05-02
    • Helpful (10)

      "Overworked"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time

        Pros

        Diversity, training opportunities, opportunities for secondments, working with young people wanting to cone out with a good education

        Cons

        Everyone is overworked, pay is poor for level of skill required, high amount of pressure,

        University of Derby UK2016-05-15
      • Helpful (3)

        "I have been here 10 years and its the best place I have worked"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Derby, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Fantastic people, very friendly. The region and the University are great places to work and live. I have seen some comments on here that are clearly wrong such as the University "does not have HR" - it has a very good HR department and has had one for many many years. I came here thinking I would stay for a couple of years and never looked back.

        Cons

        Cant think of many - the buildings are great, technology is great, management generally very good and colleagues are wonderful. Its sometimes too busy with more work than I can cope with but I feel passionate about the place so its fine. I have worked in many places, public and private sector and this place is the best.

        Advice to Management

        Try to keep in touch with the impact of all the work being asked for on the people doing it - it can get very busy which is ok except quality of work can diminish to deliver quantity.

        University of Derby UK2015-11-12
      Found 58 reviews