University of Derby UK Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated 14 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Derby UK Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive Kathryn Mitchell
Kathryn Mitchell
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If a member of the team leaves, their work is offloaded on to the others in the team and it takes a while to recruit a new staff member(in 4 reviews)

  • "Many academics are trapped and want to leave but can’t due to family, location, state of HE generally etc(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Breath of fresh air"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Counsel in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    Its a great place to work. I feel genuinely respected, appreciated, rewarded for good work and most importantly they offer genuine flexible working where no one begrudges you a true work life balance. A real breath of fresh air from some companies who claim to offer flexible working and be forward thinking but the reality doesn't match the claims. The University is a really positive working environment and I am enjoying my time here immensely. Great annual leave allowance and pension too. During the pandemic, the University have been an employer to be proud of, there is so much work they are doing to support the local hospitals with scanning equipment, PPE, nursing and other healthcare workers, Ipads for patients to keep in touch with their loved ones, Covid-19 testing stations, and this is on top of the usual programme of civic engagement and funding.

    Cons

    The food is quite pricey compared with other staff food provision I have used but I just take my own.

    University of Derby UK2020-05-14
  2. "Mixed feelings..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Category Manager in Derby, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some wonderful colleagues across the University and great work going on. Lovely work environment, professional and committed staff on the whole. Good leave allowance and benefits.

    Cons

    Inconsistent management and policies which causes stress and confusion, overwhelming workload, under-resourced team although happy to use temps. Academic side seems to be really innovative and forward-thinking but the corporate side needs to update itself significantly!

    Continue reading
    University of Derby UK2020-02-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Its OK, but I wouldn't recommend it."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Engineer in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing sites and facilities filled with lovely people, state of the art facilities with a really relaxed working environment. The University has a real desire to grow and better itself and its achieving this.

    Cons

    The pay is not competitive, mine is out by about 20k. They say the working environment is but it isn't really. The main campus has an issue with parking it was not uncommon to not be able to park. They charge employees for a parking permit but then say they cant use the facilities on certain days. To try and get around some of the issues they have brought in a private enforcement company who are now fining employees who are just trying to get into work and make the university a better place. I have heard some of my colleagues who look after the service delivery have been exposed to asbestos.

    Continue reading
    University of Derby UK2020-01-08

    University of Derby UK Response

    January 16, 2020Recruitment Team Leader

    Thank you for your review and feedback. Whilst we restrict parking on Student Open Days to ensure our visitors to the University are adequately accommodated for, we do provide significant alternative parking arrangements including a free shuttle bus to and from the alternative car park. Our parking arrangements must support both staff and students, however we know it can get very busy on campus! As such we encourage staff and students to find alternative methods to getting into the main campus, these include the free buses that run across Derby (including to and from the train station and between sites) and a staff 'cycle to work' scheme.

  4. "Researcher"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment and nice people.

    Cons

    I don't really see any cons

    University of Derby UK2019-02-27
  5. "Enquiry Sales Assistant with International Department"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Derby UK

    Pros

    Wonderful work environment with everyone willing to lend a hand when needed. Questions are welcomed and there is a feeling of camaraderie in the office. Especially loved the informal nature of communication within the office space irrespective of rank. Always someone offering to make a coffee or tea.

    Cons

    Salaries are not paid till the middle of the next month which can be a bit of a bother.

    University of Derby UK2017-01-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "IT Field Support"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at University of Derby UK

    Pros

    Great team members that where will to help. The working environment is a wonderful. And the task will get you thinking

    Cons

    Some days are slow, and boring

    University of Derby UK2016-05-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Supportive, Developmental and Encouraging - Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and welcoming working environment Supportive and encouraging Development Opportunities Progressive Culture

    Cons

    Hierarchical structure sometimes restricts direct progression

    University of Derby UK2015-03-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews