University of Essex Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

University of Essex Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Forster
25 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great starter job, if you are a student at Essex this is definitely a role worth applying for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador in Colchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Essex part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great starter job to introduce people to university life as well as recruitment and engaging with people from various backgrounds. Job events are varied and fun, the management are fair and understanding. This includes reasonable adjustments (of which I needed to request a few). The pay is also very good (it is the over 25 minimum wage even for those under that age, which is a huge win in my book) and there are usually...

    Show More

    Cons

    When ambassadors apply for jobs and aren't allocated, sometimes we aren't officially rejected and the application to work the job just sits there. It seems to depend on who does the allocating. It makes it hard for students to plan especially as we have limited time.

    Advice to Management

    Please unify the above con so that all staff in the department reject unsuccessful applications rather than leave them sitting there. Otherwise everything is perfect, thank you for this opportunity.

    University of Essex2019-08-18
  2. "My uni offers good job opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student Ambassador; Research Assistant 

    I have been working at University of Essex part-time

    Pros

    There are multiple occasions where it’s possible to work on campus and the uni pays well. I’m also happy with the work hours arrangement - I have a good say about my availability and I don’t have to do shifts that clash with my other commitments.

    Cons

    Some Student Ambassador jobs are confirmed quite late or never.

    University of Essex2019-06-18
  3. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Essex full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, good people, clear direction, ambitious and bold. Strong on equality and diversity.

    Cons

    Non to mention at the moment

    University of Essex2019-06-03
  4. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Essex full-time

    Pros

    Busy and reactive working environment. Multicultural campus with many facilities. Learning and development opportunities.

    Cons

    The working environment is quite old fashioned.

    Advice to Management

    Modernise

    University of Essex2019-05-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Essex full-time

    Pros

    Good policies for work/ life balance that support employees quite well. Good wages compared to other similar jobs in local companies

    Cons

    No career progression within the team and very difficult to progress in roles with higher responsibilities in the institution. Strict hierarchy and many layers of management.

    University of Essex2019-05-01
  6. "Cares about employees but needs more organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Essex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Caring - Tons of personal development opportunities - Great atmosphere - Wonderful students

    Cons

    - Lack of organisation - Lack of progression in role - Not easy to transfer from one role to another across campuses

    University of Essex2019-03-18
  7. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Essex full-time

    Pros

    Real community between staff at the University. Lots of opportunity for secondment or job transfers. Good pension

    Cons

    Process for pay rise and promotions long and bureaucratic

    University of Essex2019-02-08
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Essex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, warm environment and good incentives

    Cons

    very fast and sometimes complex environment

    University of Essex2019-01-13
  9. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Essex full-time

    Pros

    - It is a multi-cultural environment supporting good relationships between colleagues. - It is located in an enclosed campus, meaning that you have everything you need less than 5 minutes away. - You truly have a sense that you are listened to and that your opinion matters. - Very inclusive environment.

    Cons

    - Departments are a bit disorganised which can cause confusion as times.

    University of Essex2019-01-08
  10. "Not a bad employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Essex full-time

    Pros

    Good pension, on-campus services, nice landscape

    Cons

    Limited progression opportunities, rigid management hierarchy

    Advice to Management

    Employ more non-managers

    University of Essex2019-01-08
Found 70 reviews