University of Queensland Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

University of Queensland Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 185 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons as working there was great(in 6 reviews)

  • "I've been working at UQ as a professional staff and really enjoying it(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at University of Queensland full-time

      Pros

      Good working environment. Nice colleagues.

      Cons

      Sometimes the response is slow.

      University of Queensland2019-04-01
    • "Postdoc at Uq"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at University of Queensland full-time

      Pros

      Great campus with exceptional facilities. A great hub for scientific research in Queensland

      Cons

      Difficult to secure permanent positions, however this is common in academia. Distance from international conferences makes attendance expensive

      University of Queensland2019-04-16
    • "Mostly positive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at University of Queensland full-time

        Pros

        Structured and organised. Respectful environment.

        Cons

        Receiving benefits depended on the department you worked in. In my department, we were often required to work overtime but were not allowed to claim our overtime benefits.

        University of Queensland2019-04-10
      • "Great benefits"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at University of Queensland full-time

        Pros

        enterprise bargaining meant great benefits even though the pay couldn't match other commercial organisations.

        Cons

        sometimes a little too many layers of bureaucracy

        University of Queensland2019-04-08
      • "RA @ UQ"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at University of Queensland full-time

        Pros

        flexible working hours, good work life balance

        Cons

        not much growth, repetitive work

        University of Queensland2019-03-13
      • "Great Place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at University of Queensland full-time

        Pros

        The working conditions are really good

        Cons

        You can be based at too many working conditions

        University of Queensland2019-03-11
      • "Great work environment but bureaucracy slowly wearing people down"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Lab Manager in Saint Lucia
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I have been working at University of Queensland part-time for more than 19 years

          Pros

          Lovely campus, flexible work environment with the right supervisor, good superannuation package.

          Cons

          Traffic, and restructuring of finance section has put a lot of responsibility back on to non-finance people.

          Advice to Management

          When processes are working well why not use them as an example to roll out across the university rather than using blanket processes that cater to the lowest common denominator.

          University of Queensland2019-03-23
        • "Full-time PhD"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - PhD Student in Brisbane
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at University of Queensland full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Good infrastructure and facilities, great library and very cosy campus with all you need, including medical services and hairdresser

          Cons

          Grad School is not well organised, everything is very expensive (gym fees, food, etc)

          Advice to Management

          Grad School can be organised better and work as a whole body

          University of Queensland2019-03-07
        • "Postdoctoral Research Fellow"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend

          I worked at University of Queensland full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          High ranking university with excellent facilities

          Cons

          Chance for an early career researcher is limited. Nepotism is very serious in UQ.

          University of Queensland2019-03-04
        • "Associate Professor"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at University of Queensland full-time

          Pros

          good people, green campus, good connection

          Cons

          bad senior management, poor property and facility service

          University of Queensland2019-02-14
        Found 185 reviews