University of Sydney Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

University of Sydney Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
University of Sydney Chancellor  Belinda Hutchinson
Belinda Hutchinson
75 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Typical uni beauracracy and dealing with old facilities(in 10 reviews)

  • "Very little career progression opportunity(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great first role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Sydney part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the support received from supervisors

    Cons

    confusing HR and onboarding processes

    University of Sydney2019-12-11
  2. "Great place to work at for the time I was there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Sydney part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work at I liked it

    Cons

    None to speak of yet

    Advice to Management

    Great

    University of Sydney2019-11-26
  3. "Lovely"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Journalist 

    I have been working at University of Sydney full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment with generous remuneration

    Cons

    Very heirachical with a lot of red tape

    University of Sydney2019-11-22
  4. "Casual tutor for Medical sciences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Tutor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Sydney part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depending on your department and other lecturing staff you make contact with, it can be the best and most rewarding experience. It largely depends on the department in which you are tutoring for.

    Cons

    Some departments are very unorganised, making your life as a tutor a lot more stressful and very last minute.

    University of Sydney2019-12-03
  5. "Writing awesome software for research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Camperdown
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Sydney full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solving interesting and challenging problems with real impact.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for growth and career.

    University of Sydney2019-11-15
  6. "Nice pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Sydney part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good institution with lots of resources to help students

    Cons

    $49 hr for engineering tutor.

    University of Sydney2019-11-11
  7. "Great place to work! Leadership needs to embrace existent policies for flexible work arrangements."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing and Communications Manager in Sydney
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Sydney full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Salary and Benefits. Great training and opportunities to engage with different teams.

    Cons

    The policies for flexible work arrangement is good. However the leadership is not trained in how to embrace part-time or job sharing and flexible arrangements.

    Advice to Management

    Train the leadership in how to embrace flexible arrangements including part-time work and job sharing.

    University of Sydney2019-11-18
  8. "Relatively relaxed work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Sydney full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work culture, the slave driver mentality is largely not present.

    Cons

    Admin can be very slow (even for university standards).

    University of Sydney2019-11-10
  9. "Associate lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Lecturer 

    I worked at University of Sydney part-time

    Pros

    quite flexible, and smart colleagues

    Cons

    not exciting, can get a bit repetitative

    University of Sydney2019-11-09
  10. "Nice place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at University of Sydney full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * The main campus is beautiful and the entire place very energetic because of young students around * Good life-work balance * Rewarding work * Good diversity

    Cons

    * Technology stack quite outdated. If one wants to learn and apply cutting edge software engineering skills, better go to corporates * Work with researchers can be tricky and their availability isn't the best

    University of Sydney2019-11-07
Found 286 reviews