University of Sydney Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

University of Sydney Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 242 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
University of Sydney CEO Belinda Hutchinson
Belinda Hutchinson
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Forward thinking organisation with great policies for work-life balance(in 23 reviews)

  • "Lots of opportunities for development and self improvement, great culture and great working environment(in 23 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "It felt like a company that values employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Sydney part-time

    Pros

    Felt valued, flexible working hours (I was a student casual), great pay, great coworkers, great boss.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep valuing your workers as much as you seem to, and make sure they know it.

    University of Sydney2019-04-24
  2. "Software and Assets Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Sydney full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great professional team. Semester breaks can be less workload, and quiet. Great diversity in higher education.

    Cons

    Not much career progression. If you leave far away, it takes long time to commute to some places on campus. No much food selection on campus.

    University of Sydney2019-04-24
  3. "USYD treats staff well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Sydney part-time

    Pros

    The pay is great, the offices are great from my experience, and all of my co-workers are interesting, intelligent, social people who are a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    If you studied at USYD, it may be too familiar to jump into work here

    University of Sydney2019-04-07
  4. "Web Design City Sydney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Web Developer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Sydney full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Web Design City has professional team from the viewpoints of layout.

    Cons

    web design and development, digital marketing, PHP, WordPress, eCommerce

    Advice to Management

    good

    University of Sydney2019-04-04
  5. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Camperdown
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Sydney full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for development and self improvement, great culture and great working environment.

    Cons

    No parking, often difficult to coordinate with admin in trying to get things approved

    University of Sydney2019-04-01
  6. "Perfect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at University of Sydney full-time

      Pros

      Perfect work place ,good colleagues

      Cons

      Change change change change change

      University of Sydney2019-04-01
    • "Student at usyd"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at University of Sydney full-time

        Pros

        Good facilities, some decent staff, lots of employability and careers resources

        Cons

        Tuition fees expensive, some staff not as good

        University of Sydney2019-04-10
      • "PhD Researchers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Engineer in Sydney
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at University of Sydney full-time

        Pros

        Full support and great labs

        Cons

        Toxic academic environment. Professors expect too much sometimes

        Advice to Management

        Should work on student rights

        University of Sydney2019-03-18
      • Helpful (1)

        "Recommend"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at University of Sydney full-time

        Pros

        In my faculty/school, I am fortunate to have an extremely supportive supervisor, wonderful colleagues and students. Initiatives are welcome (when financially feasible).

        Cons

        - If you want to get ahead, it would be difficult to maintain a work-life balance. That is, only work 37.5hr/week as per your contract. This is sadly not the case at USyd only, but seems to be a global trend in academe, though. - Admin tasks centralized? Why are academics still doing a lot of admin work? - Work sometimes feel like a box-ticking exercise. Can you use this activity to demonstrate this skill/achievement...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        If you are running the University as a business, make the processes and changes as efficient as they would be in a successful business

        University of Sydney2019-03-26
      • "Student Ambassador"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Student Ambassador in Sydney
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at University of Sydney part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        - very good pay - lots of work benefits such as free food - nice and relaxed environment to work in with good people

        Cons

        - Work politics may get annoying - Some people are lazy - The workplace may not be accepting of all cultures - Some people take advantage of the relaxed environment and slack off

        Advice to Management

        My advice to management would be to be more efficient. The whole 'centralising' and 'streamlining' strategy for student services is the wrong direction and should be changed.

        University of Sydney2019-03-27
      Found 242 reviews