Urban Outfitters Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 312 of over 3,815 reviews

3.6
56%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters CEO Sheila Harrington (no image)
Sheila Harrington
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Nov 12, 2020 - Department Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team culture and great incentives

    Cons

    Literally always so busy but that's q good thing!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    na

    Jul 24, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Dedham, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    this discount is really good. 40 percent of everything and 60 percent a month. also the mix of employees.

    Cons

    favoritism can really be the worse enemy at the job. i can’t really say that i have had a huge negative experience with the job though.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Overall company

    Jul 28, 2021 - Retail Manager in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great employees who are eager to learn, good pay and benefits, easy(ish) room to grow

    Cons

    People who have been in the company for a long time seem threatened by external hires, some store managers weren't personable or knew how to get a management team to come together. Some co-managers may explain or teach you something incorrectly to make you look bad. This was just one store experience however, other store experiences were much, much, much better

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great company

    Jul 28, 2021 - Store Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    creative, upbeat, inclusive, motivating, exciting

    Cons

    Pay could be better for all positions

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Gets worse as you move up

    Aug 2, 2021 - Department Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great employee discount across all companies (Free People, Anthropologie etc.)

    Cons

    Overworked for little pay. Image of the company gets worse as you move up the ranks. The more you know the less you start to like the job/company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Friendly staff, hard work

    Jul 26, 2021 - Department Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - nice staff - good for progression

    Cons

    - hard work - alot of work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great people, little resources

    Jul 14, 2021 - Store Manager/Store Brand Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will meet great people and it’s a creative environment.

    Cons

    You have no payroll to do so many huge projects. There’s also a ton of nepotism when it comes to people getting promotions.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    The olympics of retail

    Jun 24, 2021 - District Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Believe in people as a priority, development and training. Felt like a family. Stores were encouraged to operate autonomously to best suit their individual needs. Creativity and innovation were recognized and rewarded. Home office and executive teams were aspirational. Love to promote from within and helping your subordinates get to that level was always noted as a mark of a successful manager

    Cons

    They work you ragged. The expectations are incredibly high with limited resources. I never worked less than 45 hours a week (salary). The pay is leaps and bounds below what other companies will offer for the same job title with fewer responsibilities.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Amsterdam Store

    Jun 3, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Love the environment and the people there. They’re friendly and helpful in many ways. - The management style is quite something, some may feel a little tight, but in my case, as long as your request is on time and rational, nothing cant be arranged.

    Cons

    - Nothing much. Only that the schedule can sometimes be changed in a short notice.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    It can be really good!

    Apr 2, 2021 - Visual Merchandising Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I received good pay for what I did & I had a lot of creative freedom as far as what I could do with the store space in my position. The team & the customers can be cool.

    Cons

    The management team was the weakest part of our store, & it hit the part-time staff really hard. It's difficult to work with a management team who doesn't lead by example. There needs to be a better accountability system for keeping the full-time staff, especially SBL, in check. (in my case anyway) We, at one point, had a great store manager, & you could tell the difference.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 312 Reviews

Popular Careers with Urban Outfitters Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Urban Outfitters? Share Your Experiences

Urban Outfitters logo
or