Urban Outfitters Retail Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 187 of over 3,798 reviews

3.7
61%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters CEO Sheila Harrington (no image)
Sheila Harrington
5 Ratings
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Extremely boring

    Jul 10, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employee discounts Ability to meet cool people

    Cons

    This position was genuinely mind numbing for me. I mean that in the way that it was an extremely boring job with very little mental stimulation. Unless I was put on the register, which was quite rare, I would spend hours and hours standing walking around the store with nothing to do. They had a few main people they would put on registers for their every shift, while everybody else was on the sales floor bored to death. When the standards of clothing were absolutely perfect and there was nothing left to fix, there was nothing to do. They tell you "just keep working on standards" which is so hard to do with everything looks perfect. So Id walk around alone in silence for hours on end with no mental stimulation. We would get in trouble for talking to other coworkers, even when the store was empty. So with so little social contact, and nothing to do for hours, I was miserable. There were many other issues I had with working here and issues with managers not being the nicest, but honestly what I mentioned was the worst part.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Sales Associate - Urban Outfitters

    May 6, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most colleagues were friendly, and the work was fairly simple. The colleague responsible for the shift rota was great, which meant flexible hours around other commitments. Mostly good music would play, and it felt good to help customers.

    Cons

    Employees treated as utterly replaceable, cliques and poor management. There is relatively no training and employees are expected to "just know" despite never having been told. There is no job security, COVID-19 awareness, or any true professionalism from upper management -- as to be expected from menial low payed work in the retail sector. At times the work felt lonely, which can leave one feeling insular and self-conscious. This wasn't aided by the extroverted nature of the brand and colleagues, and perhaps should be avoided by more reserved individuals. Advice to prospective employees: if you "look the part", and are willing to work in a repetitive environment with little training, this may be for you. Where possible, seek employment elsewhere and avoid if you find yourself troubled by mundanity.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    UO review

    Jul 20, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great, perfect, awesome, and sick teammates

    Cons

    busy, busy, busy, and people rude

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    UO

    Jul 7, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employee discount is great.

    Cons

    Management can be improved and understaffed at times.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    LOVE IT!

    Jun 1, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I don't work for corporate but so far the people I work with at Urban Outfitters at my store are so helpful and completely down to earth! If anything, I enjoy my job a lot more people of the people I work with. Fun environment, leadership opportunities, and RESPECTFUL!

    Cons

    There aren't really any cons except for I wish somedays they could be more flexible with availability; however, I know it's difficult to be when the store is under staffed and there is a high volume traffic.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Urban Review

    Jul 5, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good coworkers fun environment good employee discount

    Cons

    taking days off was hard

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good not great

    Jul 20, 2021 - Retail Assistant in Spokane, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun, exciting, cool fashion stuff happening everyday.

    Cons

    Having to deal with bratty teenagers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not the best…

    Jul 15, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Miami Beach, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool people to work with, decent discount

    Cons

    Managers that don’t do anything, toxic work environment, little pay, promises of a promotion and then nothing happens

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Contractor

    Good opportunity for college students looking for discounts

    Jun 8, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Discounts - Fun coworkers - Good work environment

    Cons

    - Not great pay - Not very flexible with timing

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jun 3, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible, good pay, works around student schedule

    Cons

    not a lot of opportunity to move up

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 187 Reviews

Popular Careers with Urban Outfitters Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Urban Outfitters? Share Your Experiences

Urban Outfitters logo
or