Urban Outfitters Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Urban Outfitters Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters CEO Richard A. Hayne
Richard A. Hayne
755 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, sometimes working outside of office hours(in 135 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage pay, no benefits provided, little room for raises(in 74 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Guildford, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, music, people and a generous employee discount.

    Cons

    Occasional long hours, over night work, calls on your days off.

    Urban Outfitters2018-04-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate office - women’s team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office / campus, lots of employee perks and you can bring your dog. Good benefits and employee discounts with other local vendors. No official summer fridays though generally a lot of people work from home on fridays all year, and depending on your manager you can usually leave early.

    Cons

    You will have to move to Philly to work here. Open office concept can be noisy / annoying at times but not a huge deal

    Advice to Management

    Kate Phelps’ buying team has a very high turnover because she is extremely difficult to work for and with. She is rude to her employees and not good at communicating in general - from her expectations to how something should be done, etc. Sadly this will continue as long as she oversees most of women’s. I was lucky to not work under her but witnessed the problems first hand.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-11
  3. "Great place for retail!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Kingston, ON

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great manager and team. Fun employee contests, events, and nights.

    Cons

    Sometimes understaffed, but otherwise not bad.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-12
  4. "Great People, Limited Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -The people are amazing! I loved all of my coworkers

    Cons

    -They judge your cash register expertise by how many emails you can get from people - Minimum wage with little incentive to move up

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-11
  5. "Good people, cute clothes, good vibes, cool clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co workers You can dress however you want Open-minded people Fast paced but not in a bad way Good energy Humane boss Discounts

    Cons

    Not enough hours sometimes The store would be mess at the end of the week Rude customers

    Advice to Management

    None, y'all are bomb.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-11
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    Great job, fun environment, I enjoy it there

    Cons

    None none none none none

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-11
  7. "Straight Forward Sales Associate Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Decent part time pay Discount

    Cons

    Retail Customer Service Training

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-05
  8. "Terrible company but great co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sale Associate in Quebec, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great creative people at my location and easy to get days off

    Cons

    Too much hierarchy terrible company that steals people designs, poor values Stupid yearly review about your "progression" in the company (I was a part time sale associate so....)

    Advice to Management

    Cut down on those useless hierarchy title (team leader)

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-17
  9. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    Discounts are good, and you get 40% off.

    Cons

    Pay is low, and hours depend on how well the store is doing.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-17
  10. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager Talent Acquisition in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people; great work environment

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Advice to Management

    keep cooking

    Urban Outfitters2019-10-31
Found 2574 reviews