Urban Outfitters Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Urban Outfitters Reviews

Updated 24 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2549 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters CEO Richard A. Hayne
Richard A. Hayne
761 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low flexibility, long hours during holiday seasons, confusing at where you are supposed to be stationed at times(in 130 reviews)

  • "Sometimes I felt over-worked even though I was only getting paid minimum wage; you only got one 10-minute break for any shift that's under 7 hours(in 71 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Guildford, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, music, people and a generous employee discount.

    Cons

    Occasional long hours, over night work, calls on your days off.

    Urban Outfitters2018-04-27
  2. "Great employees, unique environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing clothes, fun workers and customers, good company morale

    Cons

    Sometimes stressful, disorganization within corporate

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-20
  3. "Fun place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Paramus, NJ

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun team, positive vibes, very fair management at the store I was at. It's a good place to work while you're at school or pursuing other ventures

    Cons

    Don't have any cons for the time I was there

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-20
  4. "Good job for someone in school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with schedule, fun work environment, great employee discount

    Cons

    Management could be cliquey and play favorites

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-18
  5. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment, Nice Managers

    Cons

    Late shifts and really busy

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-18
  6. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    Great team, great managers, and flexible hours

    Cons

    Hours are not enough but that’s with any retail job

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-15
  7. "Overall good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The casual environment allows for an excellent opportunity to bond with people and easily make friends. I'd say the company promotes creative freedom since associates are given opportunity to help with many important tasks like merchandising.

    Cons

    The downside is I feel that a lot of employees take on responsibilities beyond what is expected and the pay does not match how hard some people work. I would expect long term employees to get better raises.

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-15
  8. "Do it for the discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount on clothing and items a huge plus

    Cons

    May take some time to work up the ladder Low pay

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-13
  9. "Great First Job/Little Structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Assistant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot. Really cool creative team.

    Cons

    Not a clear path for growth or what’s next.

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-13
  10. "Best Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing job. I worked at the Waikiki location and loved every minute of it. Got paid 12.50 an hour. Management and my coworkers were so fun to work with, health communication among everyone, fun events, I definitely got sufficient hours every week, (around 30-40) and got paid well. Store was VERY fast-paced being in the middle of Waikiki but the rush of it made time go by fast and helping customers made everything worth...

    Show More

    Cons

    Closing shifts used to have to stay until 1 am, it's now midnight. So a lot better but it sucked for a while. Customers can be gross but not UO's fault, kind of part of retail lol. Those are literally the only cons I can think of and they aren't really cons.

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-12
Found 2549 reviews