Urban Outfitters Reviews

Updated 27 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters Chairman, President, and CEO Richard A. Hayne
Richard A. Hayne
802 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours- if slow day can get boring but at my store we rotated every hour which helped(in 143 reviews)

  • "The treatment is so unfair with also getting paid minimum wage(in 80 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Guildford, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, music, people and a generous employee discount.

    Cons

    Occasional long hours, over night work, calls on your days off.

    Urban Outfitters2018-04-27
  2. "Merchandiser - London"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good career development. Great community feel to company.

    Cons

    Sustainability needs to be higher on the agenda

    Urban Outfitters2020-05-27
  3. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    Employee discount is amazing. People are very accepting and creative. Work environment is very peaceful and exciting.

    Cons

    Can get a little boring to be in areas of the store with no customers to engage with.

    Continue reading
    Urban Outfitters2020-05-26
  4. "Great Managers, Chill Work Experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    management, co-workers, employee discount, 401(k) plan

    Cons

    minimum wage, scheduling, customer base

    Urban Outfitters2020-05-23
  5. "Sales Associate"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sale Associate 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    great discount, got schedules in more of an advance than other stores, good music

    Cons

    depends on the store and their management style/ situation

    Urban Outfitters2020-05-22
  6. "Fun and good discount!"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Associate in White Plains, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun people, good discount, smaller store

    Cons

    Turnover of management - went through 7 managers during my employment

    Continue reading
    Urban Outfitters2020-05-13
  7. "Fun but cliquey"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Denver, CO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40% discount, fun work environment

    Cons

    Cliquey, 2 years of working there to get promoted

    Urban Outfitters2020-05-27
  8. "Okay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Temporary Employee in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    cool music, nice environment, good location

    Cons

    not many hours, most of the job is straightening things on the rack, gentrification city

    Continue reading
    Urban Outfitters2020-05-27
  9. "Fun Work Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers will often become your friends, the culture is fun, it is a relaxed environment, good discount

    Cons

    Not every manager is great, coworkers are not driven, disorganized, lack of communication, training process not done well

    Continue reading
    Urban Outfitters2020-05-12
  10. "Good Experience, OK people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in West Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts, Style Tips, Good for Networking, Build Portfolio (for fashion)

    Cons

    People try far too hard to be different.. a lot of very closed off people with negative views on the world. I have worked at 3 different Urban Outfitters locations.

    Urban Outfitters2020-05-13
Found 2718 reviews