VMware Director Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

VMware Director Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 116 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
79 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Refreshing Culture, What an opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having recently joined from a less mature organisation, the culture is truly refreshing - lots of respect for the individual, great work to break down silos of operations and simply one of the most relevant customer conversations to be having at this time

    Cons

    I'm not sure they understand the size of the opportunity in the field - don't be an engineering company with a hidden message. It's now a value sale, not a widget you just need - the solution portfolio is amazing, it needs to tell the customers and not stay in product silo's

    Advice to Management

    Continue the investment in the storey telling of how we are transformational and relevant to customers Focus on customer outcome - not products Spend spend spend on Awareness - the message is so much bigger than externally understood!

    VMware2019-07-18
  2. "Truly a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very strong culture and values. Fantastic pay and benefits. Flexible work environment. Lots of great perks and a beautiful HQ.

    Cons

    Lack of trust among teams.

    VMware2019-07-18
  3. "Sales Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    EPIC values CEO Strategy and products Enablement opportunity

    Cons

    Work life balance Challenging growth targets

    VMware2019-06-27
  4. "Amazing Tech married with a Fantastic Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Staines, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The innovation and collaboration is outstanding. What's more the EPIC2 values that VMware espouses from the very top of the Leadership, are lived by the Leadership and cascade throughout the organisation. It's not a printed statement on a wall, it's a genuine belief system. E=Execution, P=Passion. These two are evident always. I = Integrity and the professionalism of the people and the Leaders bears this out. Never... have I experienced a place so hot on doing the right thing, even if it doesn't help you personally. Long-term thinking even though we have quarterly goals and usual target pressures, we understand what we're building isn't just 3 months worth. C=Customer and the customer focus especially to help fix their business problems rather than just sell products is maturing exponentially. Finally 2 = the second C - Community. A week a year to provide voluntary service to any community you choose, fully paid, and encouraged was and always will be a winner for me when I joined. We are all people, and very fortunate to work for a Company that gives back to help others benefit from our good fortune. Tech as a Force for Good really resonates.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's so much opportunity and energy that you need to gtake a conscious decision on what to focus on that develops you and VMware in equal measure. It's very easy to take on too much, but that's a choice you make rather than the Company piling it on

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging all staff - especially those who have been with the Company for a while to keep reinventing themselves, evolving with the company and embracing new ways of working and engaging with customers. Otherwise keep doing what you're doing. It just works!

    VMware2019-06-06
  5. "Wish I was ten years younger!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist Sales Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic to work for a growing, innovative and relevant company

    Cons

    A fast growing large company can't get everything right first time

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on customer value, integrating products together so they become solutions to customer business issues

    VMware2019-06-04
  6. "Outstanding place to work! So much more than a hypervisor!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in Staines, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tremendous quality of outstanding professional people. Incredible breadth of technology including Cloud, Networking, Security and End User Computing. Customer engagement and commitment is outstanding also. So relevant to the challenges that organizations are facing with digital transformation. Partnerships with AWS & Microsoft are really exciting also. We believe in technology as a force for good. Five days paid... leave to invest in a cause that you believe in and VMWare will match your charitable donations every year...

    Show More

    Cons

    Genuinely nothing. We are on an incredible journey.

    Advice to Management

    Keep challenging us to do better. Everyone can and should be bolder with their ambitions for their customers.

    VMware2019-06-03
  7. "Great company; great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great executive leadership Great stated values Great opportunity to learn and grow

    Cons

    Processes can be cumbersome Lots of egos

    VMware2019-03-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "High growth company. Tech Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Product drives growth. Innovative and leading edge. Competitive pay

    Cons

    Political climate increasing. Who you know is becoming more important what you can do and deliver as an employee.

    Advice to Management

    Work harder to keep top talent and de-emphasize the boys club mentality

    VMware2019-02-26
  9. "Awesome company, leading edge thinkers, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    breath of technology, great culture

    Cons

    steady company, still learning how to deliver a service

    VMware2019-02-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, still going great places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Product Marketing in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High growth for a 20+ year old company Employees are valued Opportunities to work on new exciting projects Great people Great work enviromnent (Palo Alto)

    Cons

    It's getting "big" as far as employee numbers More "hands in the pie" and decisions take longer and you need some good negotiating power.

    Advice to Management

    Cut back on meetings and senior leadership need to let people run free again to achieve great things FAST!

    VMware2019-01-29
Found 116 reviews