VMware Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

VMware Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4343 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
2212 Ratings
  1. "Great company and rich culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great internal employee culture. Access to rich resources for personal development. Good pay.

    Cons

    There were no significant cons for my role.

    VMware2019-07-19
  2. "Truly a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very strong culture and values. Fantastic pay and benefits. Flexible work environment. Lots of great perks and a beautiful HQ.

    Cons

    Lack of trust among teams.

    VMware2019-07-18
  3. "Refreshing Culture, What an opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having recently joined from a less mature organisation, the culture is truly refreshing - lots of respect for the individual, great work to break down silos of operations and simply one of the most relevant customer conversations to be having at this time

    Cons

    I'm not sure they understand the size of the opportunity in the field - don't be an engineering company with a hidden message. It's now a value sale, not a widget you just need - the solution portfolio is amazing, it needs to tell the customers and not stay in product silo's

    Advice to Management

    Continue the investment in the storey telling of how we are transformational and relevant to customers Focus on customer outcome - not products Spend spend spend on Awareness - the message is so much bigger than externally understood!

    VMware2019-07-18
  4. "Great Place to start work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 

      I worked at VMware full-time

      Pros

      Very friendly people and fun environment.

      Cons

      I lived really far away.

      VMware2019-07-18
    • "Great Place To Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Account Manager 

        I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great benefits and people are awesome

        Cons

        Need to invest in more innovation

        VMware2019-07-18
      • "Culture is great. Focused on the people getting along rather than skills."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Broomfield, CO
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        WFH opportunities Stock options Food/drinks available always Bonuses Events Opportunity to change the type of work internally

        Cons

        Can be stressful Overload or high workload

        VMware2019-07-17
      • "Awesome"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales - EUC in Milton Keynes, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at VMware full-time

        Pros

        Great leadership team, pay, benefits, products and people.

        Cons

        No future career for me within the company that I have visability of

        Advice to Management

        Clearer career path would be helpful. The standard HR forms are a load of rubbish and just a tick box exercise for everyone.

        VMware2019-07-17
      • "Great Company for IT savy professionals. Good for Ops and PMOs"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at VMware full-time

          Pros

          Benefits, Growth, work-life balance, learning exposure

          Cons

          Job security concerns and Mid Level Management get evolve

          VMware2019-07-17
        • "Not good"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at VMware part-time

          Pros

          I did not like anything

          Cons

          Everything to hate Fired 2 months after hire

          VMware2019-07-17
        • Helpful (1)

          "Nice"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Atlanta, GA

            I worked at VMware full-time

            Pros

            Nice place to work at

            Cons

            24/7 365 schedule thats all

            VMware2019-07-16
          Found 4343 reviews