VMware Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

VMware Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4296 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
2182 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work/life balance technology strong management team competitive salary excellent benefits

    Cons

    small regional offices have limited opportunity for growth constant need to keep up with new technology many new purchases over the years that are not fully integrated

    Advice to Management

    Constant innovation is required to compete Do not be afraid of the competition we can beat them at anythingQuality Quality marketing is very important to the business worldwide

    VMware2013-09-09
  2. "Great technology company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people and culture

    Cons

    Communication to staff needs improvement

    Advice to Management

    Conduct frequest staff surveys

    VMware2013-04-27
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great opportunities - tough times ahead though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been here a while - have seen through multiple CEOs and the company has grown rapidly with many opportunities. Product sells itself and a fairly fun environment (in the beginning) - lots of new whitespace to attack and have an opportunity to define the cloud computing space.

    Cons

    Lost a lot of the innovation and have been too complacent regarding competitors. Workplace is becoming more political and egos are getting in the way of strategy and innovation. Career opportunities are not that great either for the old timers

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of middle management, conduct a full review of the company

    VMware2013-01-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "India Finance is pathetic due to many bad managers, overall company is great to work for in other areas and regions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company is market leader in the best IT sector of today, continuously adapts to competition with acquisitions and innovation. Company is growing very quickly. Good working environment, best compensation.

    Cons

    Indian management especially in finance is very bad, they would go out of their way to harm employees in case you are not in their good books.

    Advice to Management

    Having a stronger HR department with power to implement the policies on paper would be great for employees.

    VMware2013-01-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Short term focus, long term issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VMware

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, great products, innovative and leading in the business, impressive focus on R & D, decent base salary packages.

    Cons

    Middle management only seem interested in the next quarter or the days left of it. No focus on longer term processes and tools. Based on the previous two points, there is no or little consistency for long term business planning. Inconsistency regarding business practices.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the processes and long term when it comes to business, not only product development. Be clearer about the company culture and way forward.

    VMware2009-12-01
  6. "VMware - Still Innovating - the rest are so far off they will never catch up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware

    Pros

    The best Product on the market - by far!! They take care of you - if you put in the effort - it's a two way street.

    Cons

    We are the market leader (and rightly so) so everybody is trying to bring us down (unsuccessfully I might add...)

    Advice to Management

    Keep on Innovating and give us the opportunity to do so also.

    VMware2008-11-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "VMware is probably the best company I've ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer  in Sydney
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware

    Pros

    Great products, a belief in doing the right thing for our customers, a passion about our impact on IT and the planet and a great team to make it all happen.

    Cons

    The pace of change, demanding the best of you everyday, a growing company now with shareholder responsibilities is seeing an increase in red tape and focus on costs, to the detriment of innovation and delivery.

    Advice to Management

    Don't loose sight of what we were capable of pre-IPO, we are successful not only because of great products, but mainly by the way we executed our business. Changing that significantly by constraining how we execute may breed resentment and loss of job satisfaction.

    VMware2008-06-19
  8. "Good Company and Growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance in some areas.

    Cons

    Nothing to say here yet

    Advice to Management

    TBD

    VMware2019-06-24
  9. "Great place to work that values quality of life and family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    VMware is a big company but in many ways had a startup vibe. That was great because the resources and infrastructure of a big company were there, but it gave most people I worked with freedom to work on many projects, influence, move around, and contribute in many ways. Plus, many things moved faster than they might at other companies of the same size. Perks were really great including bonuses, events on the campus, opportunities,...

    Show More

    Cons

    The biggest con is the annual layoff. During most of the years I was there, we were growing like crazy, beating expectations, gaining in stock price, etc. It was always positive and upward. However, every single January, it was known that there would be a round of layoffs, even when all numbers were looking great as they almost always were. Management called it restructuring. But, over the years, some really good people...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    January was always a nerve racking month and it completely destroyed any sense of loyalty to the company. I know a few people that completely changed their perception of VMware after a colleague of theirs was let go with no apparent rhyme or reason. Many people left shortly after as a result of losing loyalty to the company or for just being stressed out about themselves getting cut the next year.

    VMware2019-06-24
  10. "Order analyst 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Management Analyst in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee centric company, good facilities and management

    Cons

    Growth is pretty slow in VMware. Nothing else apart from this.

    VMware2019-06-22
Found 4296 reviews