VMware Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

VMware Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 7 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Decent job but not enough real development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sofia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The total compensation is pretty good, in particular for people working really hard to get the job done. For people looking for a stable company paying good money, without caring too much about writing new code, VMware is a good choice. Also, the company heavily rewards loyal employees and has a good culture.

    Cons

    In the vSphere business unit where most of the interesting things were developed in the past, today it’s almost exclusively about maintaining the legacy code. The management often count dirty patching as development, refusing to realize that the whole virtualization management infrastructure is irremediably compromised by technical debt. The company is making short/medium-term decisions in order increase the revenue,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be a little less conservative. Hire the best and let go the mediocre developers and managers, at all levels. Invest in the long term, by taking some reasonable risks. Keep in mind that the technology drives the business and *not* the opposite. Dream about making something great, outstanding, not about “doing kind of good” for the next 5 years.

    VMware2019-05-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Culture varies within different BU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director Software Engineering in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great salary, benefits, and perks. The company is built on interesting technology and innovates constantly to keep up with competition and cloud technology evolution

    Cons

    The company is immensely politicized, BUs have the own clicks and closed circle of friends. Those who have the wisdom to penetrate these circles are promoted and appreciated the others are left aside. Often you are not appreciated based on your achievements but based on who you know.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the culture of innovation, and abolish favoritism

    VMware2018-12-19
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Corruption nest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Good location. Relevant technologies.

    Cons

    Racism and corruption. I have never seen an organization as corrupted as VMware. Chinese directors hires only chines people (most of them fresh grads from not CS background at all). Clans based on the country of origin is widespread.

    Advice to Management

    Do something about racial discrimination. If a boss leads a department 95% filled with people of the same country of origin - you have a problem.

    VMware2019-01-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at VMware for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Working culture. We can easily maintain our work life balance

    Cons

    After the long service, they are not ready to make Full Time

    VMware2018-11-14
  5. Helpful (5)

    "If you like overworking and constant layoffs, VMWare is your place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation and benefits a little above average.

    Cons

    Unprepared managers bring impossible tasks to the team, resulting in overwork all over, then managers complain the projects are delayed. Complete disregard for all engineering good practices: if you even mention "Design Patterns" or "Architectural Patterns" you are in big trouble. Being forced to program everything "cowboy style" adds to the project delays. The company is being slammed by the competition on all...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start by valuing actual software engineering.

    VMware2018-10-26
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Slow Promotions, Very Political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * location * benefits * smart people * good technology area to be in (depending on your group)

    Cons

    * political * people go up the ranks based on their social skills and how well the present themselves vs what they have *actually* accomplished * often little to no new RSU grants

    Advice to Management

    Those leaving over the years have been telling you the same so you can't say you don't know what the problem is or what you need to do to fix it.

    VMware2018-08-01
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture. Teams are usually self-reliant.

    Cons

    Cut the red tape - too many layers Need new strategies to stay ahead of the game. Employee benefits lacking compared to other Bay area companies.

    VMware2018-07-22
  8. "Search Engine and Backend Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We will learn lot of new technologies and will get a chance to master it.

    Cons

    Hard to find work life balance.

    VMware2018-06-25
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Good benefits, lousy work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are decent, pay is not bad. People are generally good to work with, YMMV but I made many friends there.

    Cons

    Except for a few teams which work on industry leading technologies, most teams have very poorly planned projects working on dull things that make you a button pusher. Staying there too long can erode your skills and industry value.

    VMware2018-04-23
  10. Helpful (13)

    "got laid off during “job-protected” parental leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job-protected parental leave, if you believe.

    Cons

    Don’t believe what they advertised about job-protected parental leave. They don’t care about it when they let you go. I was laid off during my parental leave and when I asked the HR staffs how it could happen as the leave is job-protected, they coldly answered with brain twisted law words w/o any care about me as a real person. I feel very disappointed about how they treated me unfairly after have been working there over...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t lie to employee and candidates the parental leave is job-protected when it is not at all.

    VMware2018-03-02
Found 41 reviews