VMware Staff Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

VMware Staff Engineer Reviews

Updated May 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 139 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
76 Ratings
  1. "Happy here for decade"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer II in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cool technology to work on. Always get to work on something new

    Cons

    At times, can be stressful based on load.

    Advice to Management

    Don't micro-manage, especially senior engineers.

    VMware2019-05-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Nice company less nice management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent compensation, nice campus, generally nice people to work with

    Cons

    Inept IT and management. NSBU senior management suffers from nepotism and lack of technical understanding

    VMware2019-05-04
  3. "Staff Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Bangalore

      I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Awesome company to work for!

      Cons

      There are none which I can see.

      VMware2019-04-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Poor middle management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Bangalore
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Competitive salary Macbook has been given to all new employees

      Cons

      Very poor middle management, the Ethics committee rejects your complaints and lots of office politics. The workforce is very poor technically and I feel this is the worst group of people I've worked in my career.

      Advice to Management

      Please make staff engineers report to directors and not to managers and sr. managers. The managers hire poor performing employees from their previous organization and spoil the culture

      VMware2019-04-21
    • "Great Company and CEO, Bad middle management,"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Engineer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      * They are lot in Charity and support community. * Good salaries * Talent is top notch. * Women got better career path here.

      Cons

      * Recent change in Health benefits are horrible. Pretty much they want to shove HSA option to you. Medical bills from providers are not discounted anymore from this year, so it has become expensive for you and your family to manage medical with VMware. * Sr. Director and VP are bringing developer productive numbers in employee directory. It is becoming hostile environment. * vmwomen has some bad side effects. Some...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Change the middle layer. It is becoming land of bureaucrats who are disturbing the work culture.

      VMware2019-04-20
    • "there's still some hope!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Staff Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      the people, the tools (obviously depends on the group you are in)

      Cons

      some groups are now in maintenance mode.

      VMware2019-04-10
    • Helpful (5)

      "Signs of decline everywhere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in Palo Alto, CA

      I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good product and work life balance

      Cons

      Lot of new hires , insecure management, most teams seem to be interested in keeping their jobs rather than trying to do the right thing. The end result is often very poor quality product.

      VMware2019-02-09
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good company, long hours"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA

      I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits and compensation Flexible work environment Nice campus Culture of respect across all levels Good products and new technologies to work on

      Cons

      If you are in Engineering, the majority of people you will work with are in India Hard to network Lots of conference calls outside normal work hours make work-life balance tough

      VMware2018-11-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good I like it so far... Good work, comp and work life balance

      Cons

      Just that few remote teams have less competitive work.

      VMware2018-09-29
    • "Nice working place with great future"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Shanghai, Shanghai
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at VMware full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      . competitive salary . good work/life balance . flexible management process . edge technology

      Cons

      don't have at the moment

      VMware2018-09-26
    Found 139 reviews