VMware Staff Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

VMware Staff Engineer Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 142 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
77 Ratings
  1. "Great company, good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company, good salary, great benefits

    Cons

    Over staffed, certain departments are fast paced

    VMware2019-08-23
  2. "Great company in general with downsides of being a large company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, and work environment

    Cons

    Lots of politics as expected from any big company. I think vmware has a bit more of it.

    Advice to Management

    Top 3 levels of execs need to get back in touch with the roots of the company i.e. the engineers. Seems like with multiple layers of management, due to some bad actors the engineering teams suffer badly.

    VMware2019-09-06
  3. "Staff Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work, salary and overall benefits

    Cons

    Some BUs seem metric driven

    VMware2019-07-26
  4. "Happy here for decade"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer II in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cool technology to work on. Always get to work on something new

    Cons

    At times, can be stressful based on load.

    Advice to Management

    Don't micro-manage, especially senior engineers.

    VMware2019-05-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nice company less nice management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent compensation, nice campus, generally nice people to work with

    Cons

    Inept IT and management. NSBU senior management suffers from nepotism and lack of technical understanding

    VMware2019-05-04
  6. "Staff Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Bangalore

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Awesome company to work for!

    Cons

    There are none which I can see.

    VMware2019-04-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Poor middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary Macbook has been given to all new employees

    Cons

    Very poor middle management, the Ethics committee rejects your complaints and lots of office politics. The workforce is very poor technically and I feel this is the worst group of people I've worked in my career.

    Advice to Management

    Please make staff engineers report to directors and not to managers and sr. managers. The managers hire poor performing employees from their previous organization and spoil the culture

    VMware2019-04-21
  8. "Great Company and CEO, Bad middle management,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    * They are lot in Charity and support community. * Good salaries * Talent is top notch. * Women got better career path here.

    Cons

    * Recent change in Health benefits are horrible. Pretty much they want to shove HSA option to you. Medical bills from providers are not discounted anymore from this year, so it has become expensive for you and your family to manage medical with VMware. * Sr. Director and VP are bringing developer productive numbers in employee directory. It is becoming hostile environment. * vmwomen has some bad side effects.... Some of them are not deserved to be leader. * no work life balance

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change the middle layer. It is becoming land of bureaucrats who are disturbing the work culture.

    VMware2019-04-20
  9. "there's still some hope!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the people, the tools (obviously depends on the group you are in)

    Cons

    some groups are now in maintenance mode.

    VMware2019-04-10
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Signs of decline everywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in Palo Alto, CA

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good product and work life balance

    Cons

    Lot of new hires , insecure management, most teams seem to be interested in keeping their jobs rather than trying to do the right thing. The end result is often very poor quality product.

    VMware2019-02-09
Found 142 reviews