VMware Technical Support Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

VMware Technical Support Engineer Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 165 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
83 Ratings
  1. "Technical Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Cork
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company values, team contribution, benefits are good. Team members are super good and supportive.

    Cons

    No real career path and training for a support engineer. Only move up when spend "decades" at the company or know someone. It seems managers disconnected from the people (in some teams). They cannot keep talented people despite the company values and benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Let the support people learn and develop. In EU that is what engineers want and come here. If that happens they will stay.

    VMware2019-06-18
  2. "Technical support engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Nice office Loads of training

    Cons

    None I can think of

    VMware2019-06-10
  3. "Technical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company for laterals to join

    Cons

    Nothing as such all good

    VMware2019-04-27
  4. "Basically, the worst place I've been"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in San Francisco, Heredia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Activities, Team Buildings, Threats, Souvenirs

    Cons

    Management is the worst! Manager without soft skills, only focus on business. Basically, the worst place I've been. AVOID BEING THERE! You will sacrifice your work life balance. Not chance to study.

    Advice to Management

    Workload is impossible. TSE are humans, not machines! Be more proactive and protect your team and talents.

    VMware2019-04-30
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Not as good as it seems (More than 2 years full time employee)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - A lot of Benefits - Nice Campus and good people - Knowledge and experience gained - Competitive Salary ( at least as TSE) - Free snacks and coffee - Company Bus - Annual Salary review - Good training and opportunities to develop technically.

    Cons

    - Live Balance is null - MicroManagement - Stress level is very unpleasant. - Minor opportunities to grow within the Company (not in the same branch) - Very high-stress environment to work in. - The survey is NOT a way to measure the engineer's job - Needs more strength against stupid customers - Massive rotation (60 % of people leave VMware in their first year) Live Balance is null, no chance to work from home,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    On the contrary, is a really good place to gain experience and knowledge. Really nice people to work with and really nice company events. Avoid hiring "only" English native speakers people for Management. There are a lot of well-prepared people who are ready to take this journey and not necessarily needs to be a "Paddy". I totally understand that there's a not written deal where you should keep Irish people safe against...

    Show More
    VMware2019-03-18
  6. "One of the best company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Quality of technical work. You will get a lot of opportunities to grow in different areas. Best managers to work with. Fun with work.

    Cons

    Work pressure sometimes but this can be handle with time.

    Advice to Management

    No advice.

    VMware2019-01-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Best job I have ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Broomfield, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was shocked at how amazing the compensation, benefits and opportunities. If you put forth the effort, opportunities are literally limitless here. For what I do, this is top of the line.

    Cons

    Micromanagement is alive and well here. Not as bad as some places I have worked though. Need to allow more of a remote workforce. We have "virtual" in the name of our company. It makes no sense to have to be somewhere physically. Scheduling time off can be difficult. Always short staffed.

    Advice to Management

    Don't punish an entire team for something individuals are doing. Correct the individuals.

    VMware2019-01-05
  8. "Life at VMware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer Level II in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training and opportunities to develop technically. Rewarding working directly with customers. Good experience working with VMware products and supporting these

    Cons

    Hold people back from promotion and slow to give pay raises. Stressful job working on critical issues for customers which is positive also as it can be rewarding

    VMware2018-11-06
  9. "technical support engineer level 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leader of virtualization market. Great opportunites to grow

    Cons

    lot of work every day

    Advice to Management

    Negociation

    VMware2018-09-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Workload is huge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Ballincollig
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    One can learn huge amounts of knowledge in a short time. One can get certified with really expensive certificates.

    Cons

    The workload is enormous. After you have survived here, you can pretty much relax in other jobs... Internal documentation is quite bad and there seems to be nobody fixing it.

    Advice to Management

    Get a team to review all the KBs.

    VMware2018-09-19
Found 165 reviews