VMware "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

VMware Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 24 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4295 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
2182 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent Company great technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance Work Environment is great

    Cons

    Pay is not the same across the board for the same role Downward management very common

    VMware2019-04-16
  2. "Vmware slaes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work environment with good products to sell

    Cons

    Management have no idea what is happening in the field

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to your staff

    VMware2018-05-25
  3. "VMware in the field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware

    Pros

    Great people, fantastic ideas, good customers. Company provides good physical work environment and solid compensation. A pioneer in the field and respected

    Cons

    Newer products are not well integrated into the whole product set. Tries to hang on to the start-up culture but the business is beyond that and needs to grow up and become the mature organisation that it's customers need. Your experience will depend greatly on the quality of the management above you.

    Advice to Management

    Improve the products and understand the problems the customer is trying to solve. Be consistent in your decisions.

    VMware2016-01-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "India Finance is pathetic due to many bad managers, overall company is great to work for in other areas and regions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company is market leader in the best IT sector of today, continuously adapts to competition with acquisitions and innovation. Company is growing very quickly. Good working environment, best compensation.

    Cons

    Indian management especially in finance is very bad, they would go out of their way to harm employees in case you are not in their good books.

    Advice to Management

    Having a stronger HR department with power to implement the policies on paper would be great for employees.

    VMware2013-01-19
  5. "Decent Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Training, lots of it(!) - Responsive management - Decent and collaborative working environment - Decent work / life balance - Very diverse employee base - Exposure to new technologies years ahead of other companies - Benefits a pretty great

    Cons

    - Being a vendor, the landscape can change pretty rapidly - Company is very left leaning

    Advice to Management

    I love the company and our management, keep doing what you're doing.

    VMware2018-11-28
  6. "Job Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MTS-3 in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good working environment with open culture

    Cons

    No concerns regarding work culture

    VMware2018-11-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good company, long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and compensation Flexible work environment Nice campus Culture of respect across all levels Good products and new technologies to work on

    Cons

    If you are in Engineering, the majority of people you will work with are in India Hard to network Lots of conference calls outside normal work hours make work-life balance tough

    VMware2018-11-01
  8. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working environment Great co-workers

    Cons

    More structured program for personal development outside of headquarters

    VMware2018-10-22
  9. "Good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    VMware is happening place in technology and also has good work environment There is lot of learning that we can do

    Cons

    Nothing that i see as it has diverse areas to work

    VMware2018-10-08
  10. "Product Marketing Manager Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. I was an intern in the Palo Alto office for the summer. It was a fantastic experience overall. I had the opportunity to work on important projects in a great work environment.

    Cons

    There were none to speak of.

    VMware2018-08-31
Found 4295 reviews