Valero Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Valero Energy Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 334 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Valero Energy CEO Joe Gorder
Joe Gorder
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "They have a great benefits package and bonus scheme(in 29 reviews)

  • "Co-workers seem more like family, makes for a fun work environment(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "The Memphis refinery management lacks field experience & ability to make tough business decisions(in 22 reviews)

  • "If you want to achieve success & promotion, you will be expected to work 7 days a week & long hours(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Engineer/Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Shrewd business people, razor sharp on costs.

    Cons

    Hypocrisy by management; the pressure was always on to cut costs at the operational sites yet Corporate had no expense spared eg 3 private jets, Ranch for entertaining etc.

    Valero Energy2019-05-07
  2. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA/QC Technician 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Valero Energy part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and a positive environment.

    Cons

    Scheduling can be weird and they have s long hiring process

    Valero Energy2019-08-07
  3. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician in Oranjestad
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    No cons as per my experience

    Valero Energy2019-08-06
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, bonuses, vacation time

    Cons

    swing shift, working holidays, working weekends

    Valero Energy2019-07-31
  5. "Unfair washed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Placerville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Boss is a push over because he does so much illeagal activity

    Cons

    Underpay based on title and unpaid wages and overtime

    Advice to Management

    Don't screw people out of wages and pay your taxes

    Valero Energy2019-08-16
  6. "Good place to work, good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Control Systems Engineer in Texas City, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay and yearly bonuses here

    Cons

    Management systems inadequate or cumbersome

    Valero Energy2019-06-09
  7. "Great company, very welcoming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    By far the best company I have worked for sandy the hr rep helped me with the onboard process was excellent and all upper management were very welcoming definitely takes care of the there employees

    Cons

    Have none so far benefits are excellent

    Valero Energy2019-06-07
  8. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time

    Pros

    great place to work . . . . .

    Cons

    long hours. . . . . . . . .

    Advice to Management

    communitcation

    Valero Energy2019-06-05
  9. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time

    Pros

    Nice company . Good to work for

    Cons

    Have to wear formals everyday

    Valero Energy2019-05-29
  10. "Strong Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A first class company that genuinely cares about their employees.

    Cons

    You'll stay for the culture, not for the pay...and the culture isn't better than it used to be.

    Advice to Management

    Too many people at corporate don't understand our core business. They need training, not the spiel given to investors and analysts.

    Valero Energy2019-05-23
Found 334 reviews