Vanguard Financial Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Vanguard Financial Advisor Reviews

Updated 1 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Vanguard CEO Tim Buckley
Tim Buckley
9 Ratings
  1. "Good starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Scottsdale, AZ

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Mostly good people to work with - Career development/mobility - Benefits/401k/parental leave

    Cons

    - Lower salary than competing firms - Can be micromanaged/metrics driven

    Advice to Management

    - Listen/understand your employees' perspectives

    Vanguard2019-07-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Vanguard is a great place to start a career. They always do right by their clients."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Charlotte, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Work life balance Employee benefits Low pressure environment

      Cons

      Corporate culture Increasing focus on business results

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your front-line employees who spend the most time with clients.

      Vanguard2019-05-26

      Vanguard Response

      July 3, 2019Vanguard Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and review. Vanguard strives to promote work life balance, a positive work environment and great benefits so our crew feel valued. Dedicated crew like you ensure we remain focused on the client and continuously improve their experience.

    • Helpful (9)

      "The definition of just okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Charlotte, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good job security and time off

      Cons

      No upward mobility within the company, low pay, technology used by the company has not been updated since the 90s

      Advice to Management

      Invest in crew members and listen to their opinions

      Vanguard2019-05-20
    • Helpful (14)

      "Limited growth opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - PAS Financial Advisor in Malvern, PA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Work life balance, work environment, great people with unified mission.

      Cons

      Technology is from 1998 or so. Managers consider themselves team members with each other. So conscious on cost cutting that they won't invest in new technology.

      Advice to Management

      If PAS clients knew how awful the technology was managing their assets they would leave.

      Vanguard2019-04-08
    • "Friendly environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Charlotte, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Serving clients, good benefits, and low stress

      Cons

      Pay is lower than other companies.

      Vanguard2019-04-13
    • Helpful (11)

      "Great place to learn, maybe not to stay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Benefits and work life balance are excellent. Well known company that puts its clients first and keeps the costs low in a high cost environment. Vanguard puts crew member development high on its list. They have great programs for you to get additional professional designation or your masters degree.

      Cons

      There is a culture here. If you dont fit the mold upward momentum can be hindered. Metrics are not unfair but can be a little ridiculous at times. Technology is a joke. Systems have constant issues. When they work it's great, when they dont, not so great. The pay depending on department may be less than others in your same career path.

      Advice to Management

      Be more clear about the future of the company. Increase the salary of the crew members.

      Vanguard2019-03-06

      Vanguard Response

      March 29, 2019Vanguard Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback. We continue to make extensive investments in tools that support crew development and our technology. Please know your comments have been shared with leadership. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Great benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great benefits. Great life work balance. Great culture

      Cons

      Not much movement if you want to move up. It is hard to advance

      Advice to Management

      Start to promote tenure employees

      Vanguard2019-03-15
    • Helpful (16)

      "Limited opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Charlotte, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy work. Not a whole lot of thought required to work here. Basically a call center environment where the computer does everything for you.

      Cons

      Kool-aid factory. Being good at middle school politics will help you get promoted faster than being the smartest on your team. Drink the Kool aid or get out.

      Advice to Management

      It would be nice to have managers that have actually held the job for which they are managing. It’s amazing to me that a manger can critique a FA on his or her approach and conversations with clients when that manager never has

      Vanguard2019-02-05
    • Helpful (19)

      "Company favors young crew with minimal talent base off no research of current work ethic."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Flexible work. An opportunity to work.

      Cons

      Managers fail to do their research and promote the best talent. I see top talent that is left to leave the company because of this. Advisors are fresh out of college who were not meeting metrics in their previous role. Therefore, they have no consultative sales skills and fail to sell the service. I'd recommend we hire advisors who can have consultative dialogue and are mature.

      Advice to Management

      Know the crew member before you interview them! Promotions into advice are based on a 1 hour interview. Minimal research is done on the crew members current talent level and work place behaviors. Young crew are able to BS their way to a promotion. We see this every year. You must know who you are interviewing and their behaviors before the interview.

      Vanguard2019-01-31
    • "Great company to work for."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Malvern, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Amazing benefits and work life balance

      Cons

      Can take a while to push through positive changes

      Advice to Management

      Continue to focus on the crew

      Vanguard2019-01-27
    Found 30 reviews