Vanguard Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Vanguard Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2240 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Vanguard CEO Tim Buckley
Tim Buckley
228 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Great Benefits, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits Work and Life Balance Paid Time Off

    Cons

    Salary Poor Management Inability to get promoted as you get older Toxicity of work environment Workplace Gossip

    Vanguard2019-06-12
  2. "Generous PTO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Processing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance

    Cons

    Getting to big of a company.

    Vanguard2019-06-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "1 year max"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Brokerage Associate 

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time

      Pros

      Great People Licensing is good for series 7 and 63

      Cons

      Not the job advertised Rip phone calls resetting peoples passwords all day Extremely little flexibility No growth unless you stick around in retail 2-3 years If clocking in and clocking out for the next 35 years while making far less than the industry standard this is your cup of tea

      Advice to Management

      Stop false advertising 'upward mobility' Vanguard is losing top talent due to moving more tenured, plodding, crew along than ones that are risk takers and ambitious

      Vanguard2019-07-15
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Brokerage Investment Professional in Malvern, PA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      no take home work, young work environment

      Cons

      the job description does not match what the job entails

      Advice to Management

      none

      Vanguard2019-06-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Vanguard"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Retirement Plan Specialist 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      There is potential for growth Benefits are good

      Cons

      Be very weary on what department you’re in that can determine where you’ll go within the company Pay on the lower end

      Vanguard2019-06-22
    • Helpful (20)

      "Its a Call Center If they tell you it's anything eles its a trap"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Client Relationship Associate in Charlotte, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Job stability, Great for a call center

      Cons

      Where do I start: A recruiter will straight up lie to you about the position to get you in the door. I was told this was a hybrid project role. I assure you it is not. This is a call center role if anyone describes it as anything else they are lying. Pretty much almost all position you can hope to be promoted too is phone roles similar to what you will be doing in this role. The best way I figure to describe my experience...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Don't lie about the positions, Burnout is real!!! You can't expect anyone to take 40-50 calls a day and not quit within a year or so. Do something to break up the monotony that is this job.

      Vanguard2019-05-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Investment Consultant in Charlotte, NC

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The company has really Good benefits

      Cons

      There is not a lot of mobility up

      Vanguard2019-06-20
    • Helpful (28)

      "Crew Engagement is suffering"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great place to start a career in the investment industry, excellent benefits and total rewards, good work-life balance

      Cons

      Recently, Vanguard has been under fire by new-found competitive pressure, highly visible and public technological failures, and crew turn-over coupled with weening crew engagement numbers. This turn-over is further exacerbated by the head-winds the company is facing as they attempt to re-build their internal operational structure in record time. Unfortunately for the crew, one of the most blatant side-effects of these...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please read the above opinion on the current state- and remember that people are at the core of this business.

      Vanguard2019-05-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "Okay place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Retirement Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great time off and Volunteer time off

      Cons

      New Leaders are too pro-Vanguard and try to make you drink the Kool-Aid

      Advice to Management

      Don't try to oversell culture

      Vanguard2019-05-29
    • "Great mission with a genuine desire to achieve it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vanguard full-time

      Pros

      Engaging Projects Great hours Appropriate flexibility Good benefits Friendly and collaborative work environment

      Cons

      Place of work is outside of Philadelphia (more difficult to commute if you're a city-dweller)

      Vanguard2019-06-01

      Vanguard Response

      July 3, 2019Vanguard Human Resources

      Our mission is the key to our success, and crew support of this mission make Vanguard the friendly and collaborative environment you mentioned. Thank you for your contributions that help investors that trust Vanguard for their investing needs.

    Found 2240 reviews