Vanguard Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated 16 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Vanguard CEO Tim Buckley
Tim Buckley
382 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "call center, hard to find time for self development(in 212 reviews)

  • "I think part of the problem is they simply do not care because they see it as entry level anwyay(in 73 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Good Entry Level Position BUT be realistic about role (It is a call center)"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relationship Associate in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Pay/assist new hires with Licensing (SIE, Series 7 & 63) -Great job security (Historically have never laid off employees) -Great reputation (VG goes a long way on on a resume/interviews) -Good experience for recent college grads -Genuinely great team environment. -Most Large Brokerage firms require new hires to cold call/make sales. This role does not require you to recruit friends/family to invest there money with VG

    Cons

    -It is important to be realistic about this role. Vanguard is a call center. During tax season you may take 50-80 calls per day. When there are high call volumes you will be taking back-to-back-to-back calls all day with no time in between.Very high pressure environment. -You are essential thrown to the wolves. After you are licensed you start working within a few days with little/no training. The first month will be especially difficult and a lot of people will quit. -Client interactions are not always pleasant. -Most common calls involve assisting clients with rejected paperwork, password resets, and security codes. (Maybe 30% of your calls will actually be finance related) -Managers are not always helpful. Your superiors usually come from different departments and can’t empathize with the role or really understand day-to-day operations. It is hard to develop in a role when your direct supervisors are also not familiar with the role. -43k per year to start (Well below industry avg.) -Everything is MEASURED! break, lunch, average call time, EVERYTHING. It adds an extra layer of stress to the job. If you don’t meet your required metrics you will not be promoted. -Again, be realistic about this job. it is an entry level role. You will probably be in RIG, a phone based role, for your first 3 years at VG. if you can suck it up and get passed it you will have plenty of other job opportunities off the phones.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-04-23
  2. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior relationship consultant in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, 37.5 hour work week

    Cons

    Most entry level positions are simply call center roles and they don't advertise that

    Vanguard2020-05-04
  3. Helpful (14)

    "The people you work with are great. The company not so much."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard

    Pros

    The people you work with

    Cons

    Corporate propaganda, clients first means employees last, leadership. Vanguard is a solid place to get your feet wet and get licensed so that you can be a competitive candidate going forward. I will talk down on the mission because I believe at its core Vanguard believes giving every investor a chance for success. BUT do not come here thinking you will be a priority. They will tell you everything you want to hear and nothing that you need to. Benefits may have been great in the early to mid 2000s but that is not the case anymore. 99% of its business is a call center. Never forget that. You will be sold that it’s a finance job but it’s customer service. This is an important part of any business of course but the ceiling is extremely low. Extremely. Great people at the company, but senior management is so far removed from the day to day of its crew that they make blindsided decisions and try to convince everyone including themselves that it’s best for everyone. They will also require some to get the Series 66 license and then downplay what you can do with that license to keep you from leaving. Long story short. Know your worth. There are better opportunities elsewhere. Don’t get brainwashed into thinking there isn’t better out there for you.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-04-27
  4. Helpful (7)

    "CALL CENTER"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ultra high net worth client consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are good but you can get the same benefits at other companies.

    Cons

    This is just a call center. You will learn everything you need to know for the position in 2 months and then you will be stuck in a position for one year before you can even post for another call center position. If you want to go into management you will need to get "in line" because there is a 2 year waiting list. The training is subpar and does not help you to develop real life career skills.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-05-17
  5. "Ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not the best, but not the worst

    Cons

    Call center environment is hard to get away from

    Vanguard2020-04-29
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Investment Specialist"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Specialist in Malvern, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    strong health benefits and generous vacation time. well structured, low cost investments for clients. employees try to do the right thing for clients

    Cons

    suffocating call center environment with time closely monitored. micromanagement style of supervision. relatively low pay. the Walmart of financial services - good for clients but bad for employees. advancement within the company is mostly based on office politics and favoritism

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-04-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Review"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Client Service Associate in Charlotte, NC

    I worked at Vanguard full-time

    Pros

    Hours are great, great WL balance

    Cons

    Its a call center, so its not fun at all

    Vanguard2020-04-09
  8. Helpful (22)

    "Do not accept a role here!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDG/Onboarding in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    co-workers can be great, paid training (this is going away so ....), health insurance. that's about it.

    Cons

    Management/leadership is abysmal at BEST. There is so much "Kool-aid" at this company. If you don't go along with their narrative you won't progress to the limited opportunities they have. I think part of the problem is they simply do not care because they see it as entry level anwyay. Most employees in Retail Investor Group only will stay 1 year and put their 2 weeks in ASAP to avoid giving back the sign on bonus! They force people to stay in their jobs 1 year min before they can apply out to other roles and for me they forced me into a role I didn't want and I had no choice but to accept it. I was given no choice but to move into a new position. Not to mention I was told only 1 week before that new role would start. I was completely lied to in my interview about bonuses I could expect. You have little to NO say in your schedule (so be ready to work whatever the tenor team doesn't pick), PTO days (they have several days where they won't let you take it ex: ALL holidays are impossible to get), the pay is very low compared to other firms. This is a CALL CENTER!! Be prepared to take calls back to back with only 30 min per day to stop the calls while on "break". They force 30 min lunches with no notice. (so if you have a doctor's appointment or lunch plans good luck!). They will one day offer OT w/ a bonus incentive and then the next take it away. For example, the leaders offered employees who did 6-12 hours OT extra money. On the second week when many were VERY close to hitting goal they took it away! If you think you will be valued, you won't. You are a number for them. Someone to get abused by clients all day. There is such little training you go into most calls completely blind and just do your best to get by. It's frustrating because most things are out of your control. Business partners HAVE NO IDEA what your job is. There is no respect between the different departments and no consequences for employees who talk to other employees poorly (even when its on a recorded line). Please do not take this job. Just take the extra time to keep searching for a company that will value and respect you! I promise you 1 month into this job you will be regretful as I was. The list of cons continues but this sums up the bulk of why it was miserable for me.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-04-13
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Get your license & get the hell out"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Overall health benefits & retirement package

    Cons

    Vanguard does a hell of a job selling call center as a high finance job

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-03-27
  10. "Great culture, benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Relationship Associate in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic ethical culture. Very good benefits, good pay, and room for advancement. A good fit if you enjoy a fast paced corporate (but ethical) environment

    Cons

    Call center environment can be demanding, rigid structure, not a whole lot of room to be creative

    Vanguard2020-02-24
Found 212 reviews