Vanquis Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Vanquis Bank Reviews

Updated 12 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 104 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "some of the little things like free fruit, free lunch once a month are in place and are nice touches(in 12 reviews)

  • "Free fruit - when it arrives on time(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Miserable work place, rubbish progression, lousy team leaders(in 8 reviews)

  • "none other than better parking at bradford(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Stroppy teenager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Progression is there for people with talent. Salaries broadly competitive. Trying to get the culture right.

    Cons

    Short and long term variable comp hardly paid over the last 2 years, making overall comp disappointing. Business plan meek with a lack of aspiration. Disunity amongst senior leadership and an MD who divides opinion.

    Advice to Management

    Need to make the purpose sing and follow through on culture.

    Vanquis Bank2019-07-12
  2. "Solutions Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Specialist in Chatham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, 25 days annual leave (+1 every year), yearly pay review and bonus scheme, share save scheme

    Cons

    Easy to get stuck in a boring job Some times problems motivating staff

    Advice to Management

    Provide progression opportunities to everyone who deserves it

    Vanquis Bank2019-06-13

    Vanquis Bank Response

    June 17, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback. Our colleagues are what makes Vanquis so it's important that we reward them with a good benefits scheme. Regarding progression opportunities, we encourage all colleagues to take ownership of their personal development and progression with the support of managers, ...

    Show More
  3. "Not a platform for a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work alongside, as well as a couple of standout team leaders.

    Cons

    Lack of opportunity for progression. Poor re-structuring decisions made. Some people where forced to move into Sales from Customer Service when the department split into too as they were on holiday at the time of the split. Lack of care for actual employees, they just need to be 'seen' as offering things and that satisfies upper management. No way to provide feedback on processes and personel without it coming back...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When people have outlined skillsets, offered services and produced large projects used by the entire company over and above their remit, it's best to ensure those people are properly looked after. Don't in future just offer Pro Rata Bonus to those doing Data Entry, but not to those using work that requires specialized skillsets like Web Design and Marketing.

    Vanquis Bank2019-06-24

    Vanquis Bank Response

    June 25, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. It’s a real shame you didn’t have the type of experience we want for colleagues at Vanquis. If you have any feedback on how we can improve then please get in touch at haveyoursay@vanquisbank.co.uk

  4. "Vanquis review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed workplace Colleagues are brilliant Good atmosphere

    Cons

    Long days Weekend hours Can be repetitive

    Vanquis Bank2019-06-07

    Vanquis Bank Response

    June 17, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback. It's great to see you're enjoying the culture and colleagues at Vanquis. We always ask colleagues for their input when designing new shift patterns to best serve our customers, so if you have any ideas on how we can improve please get in touch at haveyoursay@vanquisbank.co.uk

  5. "Great Place To Work At"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are approachable and friendly. There's a massive push on learning across the company and many internal courses are offered. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    The lifeblood of our business is data and this is something that needs to be improved. The diversity of the data is huge at Vanquis but it's the quality that we need to work on. Having said that the initiatives are on the way.

    Advice to Management

    I see a lot of people in my team being super shy and not approaching people they're working with, staying in their 'cubicles'. Force people to mingle.

    Vanquis Bank2019-05-26

    Vanquis Bank Response

    June 17, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to write some feedback. It's great to hear you mention the people and the development opportunities - two things we pride ourselves on! We're always working to improve and refine how we work with our data, which is super exciting.

  6. "Stepford wives - a lot of people are trained to say all the right things and do all the wrong things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very few good people, many from larger organisations (they have credibility but wear out and quit)

    Cons

    Corrupt ExCo with a blend of cowards and spin masters. ExCo direct reports with self serving agendas, manipulate to get ahead. Toxics creating toxic teams - Compliance, Ops.

    Advice to Management

    Is spending millions on a fancy blueprint that has no legs a good idea? The culture aspects are led by “leaders” that are absent from their actual day jobs and leave their teams unsupported. Exhibitionism is rewarded, why? This is the one place where the loudest voices have most to hide.

    Vanquis Bank2019-06-27
  7. "Great job - Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assurance in Chatham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    working with like minded people who want to make a difference

    Cons

    Underpaid for the work I do

    Vanquis Bank2019-06-03

    Vanquis Bank Response

    June 17, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback. It's great to see you value your colleagues here, like we do! In regards to pay, we carry out annual benchmarking that takes into consideration the role expectations, level of responsibility and location of the position. We also work closely with the leadership ...

    Show More
  8. "Used to be great but may be on the downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Chatham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are great Lots of internal opportunities

    Cons

    Can become stifling Recent changes to cut costs are at the detriment of staff! Restructure to increase team sizes by 50% will not help attrition or engagement

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff more Make decisions that make people want to work for you, don't just cost cut

    Vanquis Bank2019-05-15
  9. "Disaster zone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offices in Chatham & London are in good locations, free fruit.

    Cons

    Major culture problems stemming from a lack of morals, and competence from senior and middle management. Managers of all levels will quite literally lie to your face to cover their own rear. Bonuses paid to execs when clear failures around the business mean ops staff get little or no bonus despite meeting targets.

    Advice to Management

    New CEO has a massive job to do. Rip it up and start again at all levels of management and executive.

    Vanquis Bank2019-06-05

    Vanquis Bank Response

    June 17, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for leaving your feedback, and sorry to hear your views on the leadership team. Having a strong management team is really important for us so if you have any more feedback on how we can improve then please get in touch at haveyoursay@vanquisbank.co.uk. It's an exciting ...

    Show More
  10. "It's fine for finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time

    Pros

    Hires internally so can progress to different roles

    Cons

    Can be very clique. Shift pattern sucks

    Vanquis Bank2019-05-14

    Vanquis Bank Response

    June 17, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for leaving your feedback. We’re happy you've highlighted internal opportunities - we make sure all colleagues are able to apply for new positions so they have the best chance of progressing and achieving their career goals with us. We always ask colleagues for their input ...

    Show More
Found 104 reviews