Vestas Wind Systems Production Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Vestas Wind Systems Production Reviews

Updated 8 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
22%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Vestas Wind Systems CEO 	Anders Erik Runevad
Anders Erik Runevad
18 Ratings
  1. "Typical Production Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Windsor, CO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    If you’re a temp, expect to be walking around cleaning half of your shift and doing monotonous work. The pay is good for what you do but can get boring. I recommend applying directly to their website as a direct hire to avoid some of the trouble temp agencies put you through.

    Cons

    Long hours, short lunches, and possibility of being sent home when there is no work available.

    Advice to Management

    All very reasonable humans who will do their best to assist you except when there’s a possible risk to the factory.

    Vestas Wind Systems2019-04-08
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great people, very poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Thornton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, benefits, clean energy. Great team members to work with. The Safety team was fantastic until they were recently transferred back to factory reporting.

    Cons

    American management doesn't care. Safety was going great until April of 2017. management let the best Safety personal we had go in July. factory managers do not care about safety and only focuses on numbers not fixing the problems. Injuries are often down graded or covered up.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, respect your employees. You need to train and vet better line managers. You need to realize you do have a problem with favoritism on the floor which is forcing your good employees out. There are reasons why you can't keep good people. Upper management is not ethical

    Vestas Wind Systems2018-01-15
  3. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the coworkers are great medical is also a huge plus

    Cons

    Not enough pay and management is horrible they only reward bad employees. No opportunity to grow

    Advice to Management

    Change, change, change corporate in Denmark needs to investigate or risk loosing great people.

    Vestas Wind Systems2017-11-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Will suck you in with only 2% hope you promoted or moving up in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Brighton, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    4 10 hr days Ez work Not much thinking Fun ppl to work with not for

    Cons

    Go no where job Fast but not hard No thinking No room for advancement Unstable career field who knows when the next layoffs are happening Really don't treat you well too many people work there it's whats expected was it a job not a career you're just a person doing a simple job nothing more nothing else Pay sucks Pay starts about 17.95 hr for non-temps Temps I think get 16.95

    Vestas Wind Systems2017-10-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Blades brighton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supervisors lie to you to make you feel good about the company

    Cons

    No matter how hard you work or how much knowledge you have, you wont advance unless you're in the good ol' boys club

    Advice to Management

    Follow company policies and procedures. Advance the good workers and not your friends and people will stop quitting

    Vestas Wind Systems2017-08-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is great Benefits are great

    Cons

    They say they care about work/life balance but will turn around and command you to work 6 12 hour shifts. They treat workers like cattle and will not hesitate to fire you. Safety is supposed to come first, or so they say, but then will force you to do insanely unsafe things like crane blades with employees inside. If somebody gets hurt, they don't know what to do. We had an employee cut himself with a box cutter...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. They are your backbone, not your slaves.

    Vestas Wind Systems2017-06-28
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Avoid at All Cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None to speak of aside from the 8:00 - 4:30 shift. But they manage to ruin that with mandatory overtime.

    Cons

    This review is strictly my opinion of the experience I had while working production in the Shells 110 Department. I spent 10 months at Vestas and it was easily the darkest time of my life. I initially thought the company had some sort of upward mobility but there is next to none. The problem is that the American corporate office is located in Portland, OR, so there are no corporate jobs here in Brighton Colorado. The...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Raise the pay to $20.00 and require a bachelor’s degree as the minimum education. Stop hiring drug users and meat heads, the max we can lift is only 35 pounds so we don’t need to be muscle bound freaks. Drug test 100% of your employees once a month before someone gets killed in an accident. Allow the builders to have a weekly meeting in quiet setting so they can go over the PWI, discuss what's going right and wrong and...

    Show More
    Vestas Wind Systems2017-05-15
  8. "Blades manufacturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time

    Pros

    Good work with good people

    Cons

    Terrible culture, quick to fire.

    Advice to Management

    Train your employees, communicate with them, and work on changing culture!

    Vestas Wind Systems2016-11-23
  9. "High turnover workplace, low employee morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Technician in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Inherently beneficial industry; manufacturing wind turbines in a factory setting. Consistent four day work week. Diverse workplace setting. Most employees left to do their work individually and autonomously.

    Cons

    Management claims to be held accountable for employees' safety, but this is simply not true. Workplace accidents increased during my tenure and nothing was done to mitigate hazards. Inconsistent time-off practices. Right-to-work environment, contract (temp) employees consistently let go prior to them receiving corporate benefits. No opportunity for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job of providing opportunities for employee advancement. Stop taking advantage of employees' loyalty to force them to work on off days.

    Vestas Wind Systems2016-11-16
  10. "Production worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, my health insurance runs me $14 a month. Obama care would set me back over $400 a month. Pay is fair. 401 k is 6% match. PTO adds up to 120 hours a year

    Cons

    Some employees miss over 20 days a year and nothing happens. Losers

    Advice to Management

    Enforce attendance policy

    Vestas Wind Systems2016-10-01
Found 44 reviews