Vestas Wind Systems Production Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Vestas Wind Systems Production Reviews

Updated 8 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
22%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Vestas Wind Systems CEO 	Anders Erik Runevad
Anders Erik Runevad
18 Ratings
  1. "Typical Production Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Production in Windsor, CO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    If you’re a temp, expect to be walking around cleaning half of your shift and doing monotonous work. The pay is good for what you do but can get boring. I recommend applying directly to their website as a direct hire to avoid some of the trouble temp agencies put you through.

    Cons

    Long hours, short lunches, and possibility of being sent home when there is no work available.

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2019-04-08
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great people, very poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Thornton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, benefits, clean energy. Great team members to work with. The Safety team was fantastic until they were recently transferred back to factory reporting.

    Cons

    American management doesn't care. Safety was going great until April of 2017. management let the best Safety personal we had go in July. factory managers do not care about safety and only focuses on numbers not fixing the problems. Injuries are often down graded or covered up.

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2018-01-15
  3. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the coworkers are great medical is also a huge plus

    Cons

    Not enough pay and management is horrible they only reward bad employees. No opportunity to grow

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2017-11-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Will suck you in with only 2% hope you promoted or moving up in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Brighton, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    4 10 hr days Ez work Not much thinking Fun ppl to work with not for

    Cons

    Go no where job Fast but not hard No thinking No room for advancement Unstable career field who knows when the next layoffs are happening Really don't treat you well too many people work there it's whats expected was it a job not a career you're just a person doing a simple job nothing more nothing else Pay sucks Pay starts about 17.95 hr for non-temps Temps I think get 16.95

    Vestas Wind Systems2017-10-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Blades brighton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supervisors lie to you to make you feel good about the company

    Cons

    No matter how hard you work or how much knowledge you have, you wont advance unless you're in the good ol' boys club

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2017-08-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is great Benefits are great

    Cons

    They say they care about work/life balance but will turn around and command you to work 6 12 hour shifts. They treat workers like cattle and will not hesitate to fire you. Safety is supposed to come first, or so they say, but then will force you to do insanely unsafe things like crane blades with employees inside. If somebody gets hurt, they don't know what to do. We had an employee cut himself with a box cutter and they removed all box cutters. We then had to cut things with chisels which is even more unsafe.

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2017-06-28
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Avoid at All Cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None to speak of aside from the 8:00 - 4:30 shift. But they manage to ruin that with mandatory overtime.

    Cons

    This review is strictly my opinion of the experience I had while working production in the Shells 110 Department. I spent 10 months at Vestas and it was easily the darkest time of my life. I initially thought the company had some sort of upward mobility but there is next to none. The problem is that the American corporate office is located in Portland, OR, so there are no corporate jobs here in Brighton Colorado. The few jobs I was able to apply for in an attempt to utilize my degree I was rejected generally within a day. I sincerely think that Vestas doesn’t want people from the factory floor to work better positions. The work itself on the build team isn’t bad. You lay out rolls of fiberglass from one portion of the mold to the next then eventually cover the blade in a vacuum bag and infuse it. One of my main gripes is the way they strip the little amount of PTO we do get when the factory closes down for maintenance. The factory closes a couple times a year to take care of larger projects or refurbishments. After we complained at an all hands meeting that PTO shouldn’t be stripped because its not our choice to not work, the factory manager made two statements. He both didn’t realize it was happening and swore it wouldn’t happen again. Fast forward a couple of months and it did happen again, yet the supervisor told us if we had “special circumstances” that we wanted to save our PTO for we could talk to them and “make our case”. Completely unethical and it becomes impossible to save for a larger vacation. They also shift the schedule frequently too. We were told we were going to work 5 days a week 8 hours a day in an effort to “stabilize”. We then got to choose which shift we wanted out of the 3 shifts available each day. It was going fine for a while until they started forcing us to work Saturdays. Then it turned into a constant threat of “if we don’t work faster were going to have to work Saturday”. Which wouldn’t have even been that bad if we knew in advance. There were a couple of occasions in which we didn’t find out until Thursday afternoon that we were going to work a Saturday. If you cant make it and give a two week notice that you wont be in then you risk being written up. Which in their defense they don’t do very often. I asked my supervisor how we give a two week notice if we never know we are working a Saturday. He stated that “we don’t have to give you a notice, you just have to tell us in advance, your schedule isn’t 8-430 your schedule is 18 blades”. So keep in mind you will be jerked around quite a bit regarding your work schedule. To avoid working Saturdays we started doing 12 hour Fridays, and even then they cant tell us in advance if its going to happen or not. On top of that they force us to do things before we can leave for the day and threaten to deduct time. They like to use phrases like “no one is going home until the mold is clean” or “you’re not leaving until I have your HOAP”. You will be belittled frequently. Also getting breaks is a pain. You’re entitled to two half hour breaks a day. But that solely depends on which part of the build process you are in. You generally wind up taking your second break just 40 minutes before you leave for the day, its literally the last thing you do and the worst timing for a break. On that note, there is nothing to eat in the area and Vestas no longer has a cafeteria that serves hot food. So if you forget your lunch one day, your stuck eating overpriced sandwiches or frozen food. Another thing I disliked about the job is that the supervisors talk to us like were pieces of crap. Two employees got into a fist fight and were both fired. The next morning, the supervisor told us to talk to him if were having an issue with someone so it never comes to that point. A couple months later I had a friend who was having trouble with another employee who wasn’t carrying his weight, being extremely offensive and rude. When my friend approached the supervisor and explained this he stated “well I expect you to push each other (verbally)”. So over time Vestas has created this toxic environment of yelling and threatening one another to get things done. No one respects anyone. Their is no HR to speak of, its literally one woman for 900 employees, she tells us to “call Portland”. The people are mostly trash. Recreational drug users who hope they don’t get tested during the quarterly screening. Ex cons who treat the plant like there still in prison by using words like “rat” and “snitch”. Emotionally unstable individuals who make the job a living hell. Most of the employees are just waiting for the “oil fields to come back” or their “DUI to clear so they can drive for Uber”. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place when you see a job posting.

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2017-05-15
  8. "Blades manufacturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time

    Pros

    Good work with good people

    Cons

    Terrible culture, quick to fire.

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2016-11-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "High turnover workplace, low employee morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Technician in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Inherently beneficial industry; manufacturing wind turbines in a factory setting. Consistent four day work week. Diverse workplace setting. Most employees left to do their work individually and autonomously.

    Cons

    Management claims to be held accountable for employees' safety, but this is simply not true. Workplace accidents increased during my tenure and nothing was done to mitigate hazards. Inconsistent time-off practices. Right-to-work environment, contract (temp) employees consistently let go prior to them receiving corporate benefits. No opportunity for advancement.

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2016-11-16
  10. "Production worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, my health insurance runs me $14 a month. Obama care would set me back over $400 a month. Pay is fair. 401 k is 6% match. PTO adds up to 120 hours a year

    Cons

    Some employees miss over 20 days a year and nothing happens. Losers

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2016-10-01
Found 44 reviews