Vestas Wind Systems Production Worker Reviews

Updated 13 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Vestas Wind Systems Group President and CEO 	Anders Erik Runevad
Anders Erik Runevad
15 Ratings
  1. "Live a life full of purpose"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, hours, and benefits.

    Cons

    None the best company I’ve worked for

    Vestas Wind Systems2020-02-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Blades brighton"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supervisors lie to you to make you feel good about the company

    Cons

    No matter how hard you work or how much knowledge you have, you wont advance unless you're in the good ol' boys club

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2017-08-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worst place in Colorado to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finnish Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free work boots & ok benifits

    Cons

    Everything. There was litterally two accidents a week at the Brighton facility. They expect too much out of you for how little you're compensated. You could spend an afternoon and find a better opportunity than this. Overall trainers are disrespectful and management has no idea how to handle things. Having studied environmental science I was expecting a green company, when I got there it was a mass quantity waste generator.

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2017-09-04
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Don't do it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is great Benefits are great

    Cons

    They say they care about work/life balance but will turn around and command you to work 6 12 hour shifts. They treat workers like cattle and will not hesitate to fire you. Safety is supposed to come first, or so they say, but then will force you to do insanely unsafe things like crane blades with employees inside. If somebody gets hurt, they don't know what to do. We had an employee cut himself with a box cutter and they removed all box cutters. We then had to cut things with chisels which is even more unsafe.

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2017-06-28
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Avoid at All Cost"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None to speak of aside from the 8:00 - 4:30 shift. But they manage to ruin that with mandatory overtime.

    Cons

    This review is strictly my opinion of the experience I had while working production in the Shells 110 Department. I spent 10 months at Vestas and it was easily the darkest time of my life. I initially thought the company had some sort of upward mobility but there is next to none. The problem is that the American corporate office is located in Portland, OR, so there are no corporate jobs here in Brighton Colorado. The few jobs I was able to apply for in an attempt to utilize my degree I was rejected generally within a day. I sincerely think that Vestas doesn’t want people from the factory floor to work better positions. The work itself on the build team isn’t bad. You lay out rolls of fiberglass from one portion of the mold to the next then eventually cover the blade in a vacuum bag and infuse it. One of my main gripes is the way they strip the little amount of PTO we do get when the factory closes down for maintenance. The factory closes a couple times a year to take care of larger projects or refurbishments. After we complained at an all hands meeting that PTO shouldn’t be stripped because its not our choice to not work, the factory manager made two statements. He both didn’t realize it was happening and swore it wouldn’t happen again. Fast forward a couple of months and it did happen again, yet the supervisor told us if we had “special circumstances” that we wanted to save our PTO for we could talk to them and “make our case”. Completely unethical and it becomes impossible to save for a larger vacation. They also shift the schedule frequently too. We were told we were going to work 5 days a week 8 hours a day in an effort to “stabilize”. We then got to choose which shift we wanted out of the 3 shifts available each day. It was going fine for a while until they started forcing us to work Saturdays. Then it turned into a constant threat of “if we don’t work faster were going to have to work Saturday”. Which wouldn’t have even been that bad if we knew in advance. There were a couple of occasions in which we didn’t find out until Thursday afternoon that we were going to work a Saturday. If you cant make it and give a two week notice that you wont be in then you risk being written up. Which in their defense they don’t do very often. I asked my supervisor how we give a two week notice if we never know we are working a Saturday. He stated that “we don’t have to give you a notice, you just have to tell us in advance, your schedule isn’t 8-430 your schedule is 18 blades”. So keep in mind you will be jerked around quite a bit regarding your work schedule. To avoid working Saturdays we started doing 12 hour Fridays, and even then they cant tell us in advance if its going to happen or not. On top of that they force us to do things before we can leave for the day and threaten to deduct time. They like to use phrases like “no one is going home until the mold is clean” or “you’re not leaving until I have your HOAP”. You will be belittled frequently. Also getting breaks is a pain. You’re entitled to two half hour breaks a day. But that solely depends on which part of the build process you are in. You generally wind up taking your second break just 40 minutes before you leave for the day, its literally the last thing you do and the worst timing for a break. On that note, there is nothing to eat in the area and Vestas no longer has a cafeteria that serves hot food. So if you forget your lunch one day, your stuck eating overpriced sandwiches or frozen food. Another thing I disliked about the job is that the supervisors talk to us like were pieces of crap. Two employees got into a fist fight and were both fired. The next morning, the supervisor told us to talk to him if were having an issue with someone so it never comes to that point. A couple months later I had a friend who was having trouble with another employee who wasn’t carrying his weight, being extremely offensive and rude. When my friend approached the supervisor and explained this he stated “well I expect you to push each other (verbally)”. So over time Vestas has created this toxic environment of yelling and threatening one another to get things done. No one respects anyone. Their is no HR to speak of, its literally one woman for 900 employees, she tells us to “call Portland”. The people are mostly trash. Recreational drug users who hope they don’t get tested during the quarterly screening. Ex cons who treat the plant like there still in prison by using words like “rat” and “snitch”. Emotionally unstable individuals who make the job a living hell. Most of the employees are just waiting for the “oil fields to come back” or their “DUI to clear so they can drive for Uber”. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place when you see a job posting.

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2017-05-15
  6. "Blades manufacturing"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time

    Pros

    Good work with good people

    Cons

    Terrible culture, quick to fire.

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2016-11-23
  7. "Production worker"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, my health insurance runs me $14 a month. Obama care would set me back over $400 a month. Pay is fair. 401 k is 6% match. PTO adds up to 120 hours a year

    Cons

    Some employees miss over 20 days a year and nothing happens. Losers

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2016-10-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Steady Yet Unstable"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits for hired employees; good co-workers (the ones who stick it out); four 10-hour days (3-day weekend); higher than avg. wage for the area

    Cons

    Management - completely unfocused, plays favorites, causes drama/unrest for no reason; ridiculous turnover rates; lack of vertical opportunity; poor planning/part shortages... Just an all-around logistics and tactical nightmare!

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2016-09-28
  9. "Vestas Review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits; once you become a direct hire. Good working culture. Safety is a big thing. 4/10s and 3 day weekends.

    Cons

    Get stuck doing the same task; no room to grow, improve, or move up. In house monopoly, doesn't matter what you know, only who you know to get ahead.

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2016-09-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Production Worker"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Greeley, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a great company, good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Hours, I work nights and there is a lot of overtime.

    Continue reading
    Vestas Wind Systems2016-08-19
Found 28 reviews