Vestas Wind Systems Production Worker Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Vestas Wind Systems Production Worker Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Vestas Wind Systems CEO 	Anders Erik Runevad
Anders Erik Runevad
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Blades brighton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supervisors lie to you to make you feel good about the company

    Cons

    No matter how hard you work or how much knowledge you have, you wont advance unless you're in the good ol' boys club

    Advice to Management

    Follow company policies and procedures. Advance the good workers and not your friends and people will stop quitting

    Vestas Wind Systems2017-08-22
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is great Benefits are great

    Cons

    They say they care about work/life balance but will turn around and command you to work 6 12 hour shifts. They treat workers like cattle and will not hesitate to fire you. Safety is supposed to come first, or so they say, but then will force you to do insanely unsafe things like crane blades with employees inside. If somebody gets hurt, they don't know what to do. We had an employee cut himself with a box cutter...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. They are your backbone, not your slaves.

    Vestas Wind Systems2017-06-28
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Avoid at All Cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    None to speak of aside from the 8:00 - 4:30 shift. But they manage to ruin that with mandatory overtime.

    Cons

    This review is strictly my opinion of the experience I had while working production in the Shells 110 Department. I spent 10 months at Vestas and it was easily the darkest time of my life. I initially thought the company had some sort of upward mobility but there is next to none. The problem is that the American corporate office is located in Portland, OR, so there are no corporate jobs here in Brighton Colorado. The...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Raise the pay to $20.00 and require a bachelor’s degree as the minimum education. Stop hiring drug users and meat heads, the max we can lift is only 35 pounds so we don’t need to be muscle bound freaks. Drug test 100% of your employees once a month before someone gets killed in an accident. Allow the builders to have a weekly meeting in quiet setting so they can go over the PWI, discuss what's going right and wrong and...

    Show More
    Vestas Wind Systems2017-05-15
  4. "Blades manufacturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time

    Pros

    Good work with good people

    Cons

    Terrible culture, quick to fire.

    Advice to Management

    Train your employees, communicate with them, and work on changing culture!

    Vestas Wind Systems2016-11-23
  5. "Production worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, my health insurance runs me $14 a month. Obama care would set me back over $400 a month. Pay is fair. 401 k is 6% match. PTO adds up to 120 hours a year

    Cons

    Some employees miss over 20 days a year and nothing happens. Losers

    Advice to Management

    Enforce attendance policy

    Vestas Wind Systems2016-10-01
  6. "Steady Yet Unstable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits for hired employees; good co-workers (the ones who stick it out); four 10-hour days (3-day weekend); higher than avg. wage for the area

    Cons

    Management - completely unfocused, plays favorites, causes drama/unrest for no reason; ridiculous turnover rates; lack of vertical opportunity; poor planning/part shortages... Just an all-around logistics and tactical nightmare!

    Advice to Management

    Quit treating your employees like dirt! Get out on the production floor and work alongside them to find out what the true issues are instead of idiotic things like parking lot flow and penalizing smokers. The ivory tower strategy is failing miserably!

    Vestas Wind Systems2016-09-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Production Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Greeley, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It is a great company, good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Hours, I work nights and there is a lot of overtime.

    Advice to Management

    Staff more people as needed for less OT, that is it

    Vestas Wind Systems2016-08-19
  8. "Vestas Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits; once you become a direct hire. Good working culture. Safety is a big thing. 4/10s and 3 day weekends.

    Cons

    Get stuck doing the same task; no room to grow, improve, or move up. In house monopoly, doesn't matter what you know, only who you know to get ahead.

    Advice to Management

    Management doesn't look at real talent or people who have education or experience, most people in management know someone or are in their positions from past favors.

    Vestas Wind Systems2016-09-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Production Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Blade Production Worker/Crane Operator/Fork Lift Operator in Greeley, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    paid vacation , benefits, decent starting pay, good work life

    Cons

    no reward for hard work, no job bidding have to brown nose supervisor to move up, will hire anyone , all about production no quality or safety

    Advice to Management

    spend some time on floor , put in place a job board , if a employee is not able/ willing to learn the work they should be moved or terminated

    Vestas Wind Systems2016-07-06
  10. "brighton nacelles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Brighton, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are above average. The plant is clean, and most coworkers are easy going. Company supplies all tools. Good hours.

    Cons

    No advancement opportunities. Pay is low for the area. No positive feedback. Treated poorly by management. Not respected for the talent you posess. Management can be very dishonest during meetings.

    Advice to Management

    Realize that Denver is expensive, and adjust the pay. Please be honest when interviewing new employees. The plant pushes out 8 multi million dollar nacelles a day, and you can't even afford to get everyone a Christmas gift??

    Vestas Wind Systems2016-08-14
Found 26 reviews