Vestas Wind Systems Technician Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Vestas Wind Systems Technician Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Vestas Wind Systems CEO 	Anders Erik Runevad
Anders Erik Runevad
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Decent Pay, Great Benefits, Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay Great benefits Safety department that cares

    Cons

    Frequent mandatory overtime Terrible management No work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. There is a massive disconnect between upper management and the people on the floor.

    Vestas Wind Systems2019-06-14
  2. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Blade Technician in Windsor, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time

    Pros

    Amazing Benefits and very good starting pay.

    Cons

    Did not find anything negative while I worked there.

    Vestas Wind Systems2019-04-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Resource Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resource Technician in Pueblo, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The money was good, but not for the cost of your life away from home.

    Cons

    Considering the climate of the country as a traveling technician, it’s easier if you’re a white male. The racism and nepotism run wildly rampant.

    Advice to Management

    For safety purposes, be mindful of where you send your non white traveling technicians.

    Vestas Wind Systems2019-03-09
  4. "Interesting experience as a field technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician in Port Elizabeth
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cross discipline exposure, insurance benefits, high level of training.

    Cons

    Little pay, employee's concerns rarely listened to.

    Advice to Management

    Consider the man on the ground

    Vestas Wind Systems2019-02-02
  5. "Service Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Technician in Cape Town
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get trainings, benefits are good and travel to other countries

    Cons

    Lowest salary in wind industry. Bad management and favoritism.

    Advice to Management

    Hire qualified managers who have goals for the company not people who are there for money

    Vestas Wind Systems2019-01-20
  6. "it's good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Ahmedabad
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    vestas gives you a freedom to learn new technology and also gives you challenging working culture so you can use your talent and keep manicuring your talent as well.

    Cons

    leave point of view vestas is not good, you have to work very continuously.

    Advice to Management

    i want to give an advise to management is that they have to provide enough leave to their employee so that they can spend sometime with family also.

    Vestas Wind Systems2018-11-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Don't listen to the hype in the interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ndt Technician in Pueblo, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They cook a good burrito. 6% match on 401k.

    Cons

    They tell you that you'll make 26+ and advancement is all over. They tell you that you'll make 19 in orientation and then move up once you're done. I asked to see a pay scale but they didn't have one. I'm a trusting guy so I took their word for it and moved my family 1,000 miles. When you make it to the floor, you'll get laughed at. You make 19 until you pass the tests (IF they give them to you). I was... fortunate enough to be give the test and pass, so I moved up! It took 3 pay periods to get my raise (no retro) and I now make 22. When I confronted management about the promises I got a "theres nothing I can do". Talking with peers, this is a tactic they use regularly to get people hired. High turnover in NDT due to these terrible tactics.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to people to get them hired. The company is good, the work is good. I have never seen worse management in my life.

    Vestas Wind Systems2018-11-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Wind Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wind Turbine Service Technician in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefits, easy hiring process

    Cons

    Below average pay and advancement for wind industry

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay more advancement opportunities.

    Vestas Wind Systems2018-08-21

    Vestas Wind Systems Response

    November 25, 2018

    Dear employee, We would kindly like to thank you for your review, as your experiences and recommendations will be used for further development of our organization. Your review is a tremendous help - thank you for all your contributions! Vestas

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Maintenance Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Windsor, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Medical benefits and pay were decent in the beginning, it's been downhill since.

    Cons

    The favoritism is ridiculous. This lead to the wrong people being put in management roles which in turn caused a huge lose of talented technicians. Later cameras were installed every 20-30ft everywhere in the building so it's like working in a prison. Would not recommend working there unless you are desperate. It is the most drama enfused high school/"employer" on the planet.

    Advice to Management

    You would not listen when I worked there so why would you listen now. You lost the majority of your best techs. You've lost your senior manager for the maintenance department. You have also had to demote your felon managers because of their two faced actions. When you tried to backfill those position from the few good techs you had left they quit rather than deal with the incompetence that would surround them.... This list could go on for days, the bottom line is that company needs a managerial overhaul.

    Show More
    Vestas Wind Systems2018-05-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Apathy of management. Flatter if you want promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Zaporizhzhya
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vestas Wind Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Trainings. If passionate about engineering and different mechanical and electrical things, thats the right place for you.

    Cons

    Only those get promoted who lick fifth spot. If you are a technician and constantly improving skills noone will tell you great job, so there is no encouragement. However if someone is ignorant but licks well, for sure he will be promoted to Technical support even though he cant repair a turbine while the others do it for 5 minutes. Another disadvantage is constant people flow. Guys come, absorb skills and leave...

    Advice to Management

    Value thougthful people, those with imagination instead of lickers

    Vestas Wind Systems2018-03-11
Found 34 reviews