Virgin Atlantic Airways Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Virgin Atlantic Airways Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 212 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Atlantic Airways CEO Shai Weiss
Shai Weiss
19 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "unconscious bias alive and kicking in the airline(in 15 reviews)

  • "I decided to leave Virgin Atlantic for many reasons, but mostly because I felt undervalued and ignored by cabin crew management(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "contact centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways

    Pros

    very professional, rewarding, energetic atmosphere, great career progression

    Cons

    high targets, systems can be slow, have to be patient with some customers

    Advice to Management

    help develop careers

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2017-03-09
  2. "Virgin Atlantic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits with the chance to visit great destinations

    Cons

    Low pay, poor work/life balance

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2018-11-27

    Virgin Atlantic Airways Response

    March 19, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and agree it is great to have the opportunity to visit some of our great global destinations using our employee concessionary package. We are looking at ways that we can aid the work/home life balance, such as flexible working type initiatives, we are sorry to hear feedback of this nature and we will continue to explore these types of options where we can.

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Why have they changed the name - Virgin Australia is different to Virgin Atlantic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways

    Pros

    Nothing is there to be happy about

    Cons

    I think this company is trying to hide some things. The employees hate them they make them redundant . The executive team spend money on projects and then they close them with 0 success And now BRANSON is trying hide all this by claiming profiles are the same when they ARE SEPARATE companies. COME ON GET REAL

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2016-06-12

    Virgin Atlantic Airways Response

    July 12, 2016Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review however, it looks like your comments refer to Virgin Australia in Brisbane and not Virgin Atlantic which is based in the UK.

  4. "pros outweigh cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew 

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    travel perks and meeting new people

    Cons

    tiring when you do long haul

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-10-02
  5. "Good benefits shame about the working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    7 free flights a year and you get to work with some genuine people that want to help.

    Cons

    You only get promotions if you're in with the correct people. The ones that want to climb the ladder never seem to get noticed.

    Advice to Management

    Employ supervisors that actually want to be there and that aren't just there for the pay cheque.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-10-13
  6. "Cabin crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in New Delhi

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It has the highest potentional of growth and opportunities requiered to thrive in aviation.

    Cons

    None so far as it deems well in their work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and keep going ahead.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-09-26
  7. "Great people delivering a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Reward in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow and develop

    Cons

    lack of people IT investment

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-09-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Constant challenge to overcome inter section bickering. Changing targets and priorities with too few staff and difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relations in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Travel perks and a bit of glamour if you are customer facing.

    Cons

    Bad managers, promotion to gorgeous people lacking skills, too much work, too short timescales so always patched over problems. Not a quality place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Promote based on skills, appreciate your staff, don't come in late in last night's clothes!

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-10-04
  9. "A good company but has been challenging times!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most of the people you work with are very passionate about there job and customers. Great travel perks.

    Cons

    Constant change of management and lack of direction, although this is starting to get better. So many restructures it has become exhausting to keep up with, and some great people have left. Some of the changes have been rushed through without much thought. Some very stressed and worn out people.

    Advice to Management

    There is a real gap form EVP level down, and communication is generally poor. it would be good to actually see the senior leaders!

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-10-03
  10. "See the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get to travel and see the world, meet lots of new people

    Cons

    You work long and unusual hours

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees and they’ll take care of your business

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-09-10
Found 212 reviews