Virgin Australia Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Virgin Australia Airlines Reviews

Updated 25 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Australia Airlines CEO John Borghetti
John Borghetti
69 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Only being able to plan your life from roster to(in 16 reviews)

  • "long hours but you sign up for this(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Innovative Airline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's an Airline that constantly thinks outside the box and very customer focused.

    Cons

    Shift work...the 4am starts and waking up super early.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to your staff in the frontline.

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-09-23
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel benefits include good cheap standby flights

    Cons

    Upper management Parking Salary is low

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-09-26
  3. "Social atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pit Crew 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great range of people. usually a good amount of time between flights. Some opportunities to expand your career. Great flight deals but low pay.

    Cons

    Some parts of training are thought through and others are completely missed. Very low standard pay rate for exposure to repetitive lifting and poor air quality.

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-09-10
  4. "Potential for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff I work with,they are my 2nd family as our 6/3 roster I spend most of my time with them. Staff travel is only good domestically,but the options to fly with our partner carrier's is ok.

    Cons

    Management,they know everything but do nothing.People skills are poor. OTP over safety and customer service. Too many supervisor's,we wonder what they're all doing some day's.

    Advice to Management

    Forget about Qantas,lets be our brand. Let's be more customer focused on our service and responsibilities to them. Let's not focus so much on our business class passenger's as our everyday traveller outweighs them. Less supervisors, its just a over kill. Look at there restructuring instead of doing it too the workers.

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-08-27
  5. "Virgin Australia Cabin Crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Systems usually always improving. Great people and good pay compared to the new contracts offered at other major employers. Staff travel perks have always improved with great perks for me, friends and family.

    Cons

    The work/life balance needs further improvement, such as abilities to better swap trips. The strategic direction of the company is not known, which is difficult to know where we're heading.

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-08-06
  6. "It’s OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Schedule Planner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits New CEO which is putting new breath in the company.

    Cons

    Culture is horrendous but no one admits it Technology lags. Constantly changing

    Advice to Management

    Take a step back and start again

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-08-05
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Services Agent in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great friendships and staff travel benefits

    Cons

    Passengers treating you like you have personally ruined their entire lives

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-07-07
  8. "Love working as cabin crew for VA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Australia Airlines part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with the most amazing people Travel Positive environment Awesome team work

    Cons

    Only being able to plan your life from roster to roster Sometimes management a little out of touch

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-07-03
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great team culture in my view

    Cons

    No Cons I could recall

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-06-21
  10. "Not ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew 

    I worked at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time

    Pros

    The benefit is the Travel

    Cons

    The con is the people

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-07-04
Found 139 reviews