Virgin Australia Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Virgin Australia Airlines Reviews

Updated 6 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Australia Airlines CEO John Borghetti
John Borghetti
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Early starts, rotating roster, unflexible(in 15 reviews)

  • "long hours but you sign up for this(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Virgin Australia Cabin Crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Systems usually always improving. Great people and good pay compared to the new contracts offered at other major employers. Staff travel perks have always improved with great perks for me, friends and family.

    Cons

    The work/life balance needs further improvement, such as abilities to better swap trips. The strategic direction of the company is not known, which is difficult to know where we're heading.

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-08-06
  2. "It’s OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Schedule Planner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits New CEO which is putting new breath in the company.

    Cons

    Culture is horrendous but no one admits it Technology lags. Constantly changing

    Advice to Management

    Take a step back and start again

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-08-05
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Services Agent in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great friendships and staff travel benefits

    Cons

    Passengers treating you like you have personally ruined their entire lives

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-07-07
  4. "Love working as cabin crew for VA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Australia Airlines part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with the most amazing people Travel Positive environment Awesome team work

    Cons

    Only being able to plan your life from roster to roster Sometimes management a little out of touch

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-07-03
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great team culture in my view

    Cons

    No Cons I could recall

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-06-21
  6. "Not ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew 

    I worked at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time

    Pros

    The benefit is the Travel

    Cons

    The con is the people

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-07-04
  7. "Excellent staff benefits and career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice brand, excellent business class cabin on A330 & B777 aircraft; Great crew leaders who are approachable and friendly; opportunity for career progression or movement between departments, excellent staff benefits including our awesome staff travel. Also, excellent training department.

    Cons

    With a fleet of only five B777 and six A330’s, VA only flies to Hong Kong and Los Angeles in terms of long-haul.

    Advice to Management

    Given the local geography and the market/population of Australia, it is obvious that the company needs to find a way to expand its long-haul operations to other potential countries/markets, and that way not end up relying only in our domestic/Int’l short-haul market. Also, bases only need 3 managers per base (Max), rather than 5, 6 or 7. That’s a waste of expenditure when that money can be spent on other more important...

    Show More
    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-06-18
  8. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people, the benefits, engaging with new people everyday, great for those who love being on the move.

    Cons

    Shift Work, money, unpredictability, 365 days a year business, no public holidays no Christmas etc.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your crew, and stop treating those like staff numbers there are real life people behind those numbers.

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-05-23
  9. "Guest Service Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Services Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Australia Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Airport environment, friendly employees,

    Cons

    Early starts, rotating roster, unflexible

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-05-12
  10. "Cabin Crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic career, endless opportunities and room to grow. You can virtually navigate your way through any career path you wish within the organisation. Fantastic rosters with an excellent bidding system (you can build your own roster). Fantastic layovers in excellent hotels. Wonderful colleagues and management. Great easy to maintain uniform. Fast paced environment, no two days are the same. Lovely Guests on board. Thorough...

    Show More

    Cons

    you have a lot of family and friends who will ask you for discounted flights and as they can't book themselves you can often feel like a travel agent constantly booking and modifying flights and handling payments

    Advice to Management

    keep doing as you are doing - very optimistic times with the appointment of Paul S and can't wait to see what the future holds

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-05-05
Found 143 reviews