Vivint Solar Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Vivint Solar Reviews

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Vivint Solar CEO David Bywater  (no image)
David Bywater
292 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch is nice (not amazing food but free)(in 51 reviews)

  • "VIVINT solar has figured out what it takes to be the top company in such a booming industry(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lead generation through door to door(in 32 reviews)

  • "Should have applied sooner with Vivint Solar and share more time with them(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Solar Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and self development.

    Cons

    Need to be proactive to succeed.

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2020-02-13
  2. "Great Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Structural Engineering Technician in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Friendly and helpful management who was always easy to reach and also really cared about employees' feedback Great learning experience Decent Pay (15 $/hr) Free Lunch Everyday Weekly meetings with the engineering teams that remind you that you are part of a great team!

    Cons

    I lived in Sugarhouse and was going to school at the same time so the commute could be brutal depending on the time of day (45min-1.5hr)

    Vivint Solar2020-01-21
  3. "Good place t work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Transfers 

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time

    Pros

    They have an awesome office and free lunch

    Cons

    They outsourced without letting people know they would lose their jobs.

    Vivint Solar2020-01-21
  4. "Worthy cause, not for the faint of heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Energy Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You’re literally slowing down carbon emissions

    Cons

    People really hate strangers knocking on their door because of years of conditioning in primary school

    Vivint Solar2020-01-17
  5. "Flexible work hours and good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Laurel, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You set your own schedule, the more you work the more you make and you can make a ton if you are willing to work for it.

    Cons

    The corporate sales support kinda sucks. you really have to stay on top of your sales or you will never get paid. Also long lag time from signed contract to paycheck. At least 4 weeks because of the nature of solar.

    Vivint Solar2019-12-20

    Vivint Solar Response

    January 7, 2020HR Communications Manager

    We are glad you had a good experience with us. At Vivint Solar, we strive to provide our employees with an excellent work environment and professional development experience.

    Continue reading
  6. "Always lots of opportunity, some culture weaknesses."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of excellent, talented, skilled people throughout the company. Daily lunch really is a win for food expenses in your life.

    Cons

    Caters too much to the sales side of things at times. A somewhat traditionalist culture in some departments, this creates struggles at times to adapt to newly-validated best practices in workforce management and strategy.

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2019-12-17

    Vivint Solar Response

    January 7, 2020HR Communications Manager

    Thank you for the feedback. At Vivint Solar, we strive to provide our employees with an excellent work environment and professional development experience.

    Continue reading
  7. "Would not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Specialist in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    "Free" lunch, diverse employee pool

    Cons

    Can't keep up with themselves, can't communicate, can't focus on employee welfare

    Vivint Solar2020-01-04

    Vivint Solar Response

    January 7, 2020HR Communications Manager

    We are sorry to hear about your experience here at Vivint Solar. We care about our employees and are continually looking for ways to improve the employee experience. We solicit employee feedback through surveys, focus groups, etc. and focus on making impactful changes.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Boys club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nike swag is pretty cool i guess

    Cons

    Commission only and extremely shady sales style. Management only cares about profit hence ridiculous turnover and bad press. If you're not mormon good luck.

    Vivint Solar2019-12-06

    Vivint Solar Response

    December 9, 2019HR Communications Manager

    We are sorry to hear about your experience at Vivint Solar. We care about our employees and are constantly looking for ways to improve the employee experience. Vivint Solar is an equal opportunity employer and does not consider any protected traits (e.g. race, creed, color, religion, gender, national origin, non-job-related disability, age, or any other protected trait) when hiring—under federal, state and local laws.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Vivint Solar

    Pros

    Friendly and safe place to work. You are treated fairly.

    Cons

    Growth is way to fast. 12 hour days just to keep up.

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2019-11-14

    Vivint Solar Response

    December 9, 2019HR Communications Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, at Vivint Solar, we strive to provide our employees with an excellent work environment.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Vivint Solar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own schedule, Wear what you want, the pay is only good if you get someone to installation

    Cons

    Commission only, Hearing NO all day, if you don't meet a quota eventually will be let go

    Vivint Solar2019-11-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 652 reviews