Volkswagen Group of America Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Volkswagen Group of America Reviews

Updated 11 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 342 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Volkswagen Group of America CEO Scott Keogh
Scott Keogh
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits in terms of work flexibility(in 31 reviews)

  • "the ERL has really embraced the idea of a Silicon Valley like work environment(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes it's a pain to have to communicate with Germany to get information on the cars or have to translate German text when I don't speak(in 27 reviews)

  • "Work life/balance is non existent(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Service and Parts management at a Regional Corporate level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volkswagen Group of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    employment Stability great working conditions

    Cons

    Travel during last two years

    Volkswagen Group of America2019-09-11
  2. "Business Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volkswagen Group of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great location to work in

    Cons

    Very hierarchical, not a lot of room for change (nor openness)

    Advice to Management

    Inclusive hiring, and women in leadership hiring

    Volkswagen Group of America2019-09-10
  3. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volkswagen Group of America full-time

    Pros

    Employee lease program; European -style Winter Break

    Cons

    Culture; Limited growth; Office politics

    Volkswagen Group of America2019-09-02
  4. "Tremendous Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Litigation Paralegal 

    I worked at Volkswagen Group of America full-time

    Pros

    Perks, benefits, location, product exposure

    Cons

    Culture, hierarchy, room for growth

    Volkswagen Group of America2019-08-24
  5. "Liars from the get go!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Center Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Volkswagen Group of America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The other employess are cool.

    Cons

    They lie about EVERY thing. However, they do it so well and with such showmanship that you will never see it comming!!!

    Advice to Management

    They tell please if your lost at anytime in this training (which by the way is about 2 years of training shoved into 4 weeks) please do not hesitate to ask while in class. Lie number one. What they really mean is do not show any weakness what so ever. Dont worry the outside human resource company is just here to talk to you anout some of the struggles you are having with the computer. Lie number two! What they... really mean is that human resources is here because they want to make sure that you know you are being watched and if you ask anymore questions about anything or show any lack of knowledge about a job that you have only trained for for 3 weeks. We will toss you out with out warning!!!! Last huge lie we care about you as a person. We are the friendly corporation. We want you as an employee to succeed. What they really mean we will dump you like yesterday garbage. Even if you have high scores on your customer service calls if you can't work the (the muti screen) computer system that is specific to VW call center!!! Plus we will have the contracting company do it over the phone because we are too chicken to do to your face!!!!

    Show More
    Volkswagen Group of America2019-09-05
  6. "A+"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fixed Operations Manager 

    I have been working at Volkswagen Group of America full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance, strong compensation package

    Cons

    A lot of fire drills that need to be taken care of in a short time frame

    Volkswagen Group of America2019-07-18
  7. "General"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General 

    I have been working at Volkswagen Group of America full-time

    Pros

    Good company good manager

    Cons

    Happy time for work there.

    Volkswagen Group of America2019-07-10
  8. "Too much work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Volkswagen Group of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If u like money this is where u should be

    Cons

    U dont have time for anything. We worked over time every day saturday and some times sunday they dont care about u

    Advice to Management

    More time off take management class start. Caring about the worker

    Volkswagen Group of America2019-08-14
  9. "Toxic Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Volkswagen Group of America full-time

    Pros

    Lol there are no pros.

    Cons

    If you go to HR, you'll end up getting fired. It's horribly toxic. Management doesn't care about you as a human and just wants you to slave away. Your hours don't exist (it was frowned upon that I did my work in my set hours and would leave) so you need to be ready to work more than 40 hours a week with no added compensation.

    Volkswagen Group of America2019-08-13
  10. "Overall a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volkswagen Group of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    VW has many policies to support work-life balance, for example the work-from-home and summer hour programs add great flexibility to my work arrangements. VW also made effort to promote ethics and compliance by empowering employees of all levels to speak up. The leadership and work environment is generally supportive.

    Cons

    As with any large international company, transparency and information sharing can be a challenge. I feel that a large portion of my effort is spent fighting political battles rather than doing actual productive work. The company can really benefit from better transparency and collective effort, instead of each individual or team safeguarding her/their own interest and pulling in different directions.

    Advice to Management

    Good corporate culture wins over everything else, every time.

    Volkswagen Group of America2019-07-03
Found 342 reviews