Volvo Car USA Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Volvo Car USA Reviews

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
66%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Volvo Car USA CEO Anders Gustafsson
Anders Gustafsson
30 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Inventory Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Volvo Car USA

    Pros

    Leasing discount for newer vehicles

    Cons

    Short breaks. No full lunch 4 15 mom breaks through out the day

    Volvo Car USA2018-08-18
  2. Helpful (9)

    "It could have been a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Ridgeville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Car USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The blue collared workers are nice and seem to care. The facility is easy to get to and close to the interstate.

    Cons

    You’re success at volvo is solely dependent on which building you are assigned to. The majority of management is not qualified to be in the positions they are currently holding. The “volvo” culture does not exist. Plan to be working 7 12’s and never see your family. Don’t expect to have a “private meeting” with HR without one of your managers babysitting you.

    Advice to Management

    Be humble and find a job you are qualified for

    Volvo Car USA2018-08-26
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Can be best if there's a leadership turnaround"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Volvo Car USA full-time

    Pros

    Open culture. Individuals have great exposure to trending technologies. Working with Startups Some very kind people.

    Cons

    Everybody is focused on pleasing their immediate manager. Bias management. Lack of focus, goal & long term vision. Low productivity.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize talent and provide opportunities based on experience, skills & abilities. Have local goals aligned with global vision. Develop leadership skills & scrap the 100 year mentality. With tools, exposure & location, this can truly be the best place to work for individuals & great success for Volvo.

    Volvo Car USA2018-07-22
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Car USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a start-up environment! So much fun and energy, as well as various experiences at some amazing companies to learn from! The Swedish culture makes for a great place to work!

    Cons

    This is a start-up, so not everything is in place, yet.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the Volvo culture!

    Volvo Car USA2018-06-13
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Volvo Team Member - < 90 days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Ridgeville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Car USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My Supervisor is a passionate, confident leader. He has a positive attitude, excellent communication skills, and values each team member. Effortlessly, he motivates us to believe in the mission and vision of Volvo .

    Cons

    N/A...Volvo is a great place to work!

    Advice to Management

    Please disregard the negative reviews that are posted. "Negative people complain about everything, are ungrateful, and blame others"...while, " a thankful person is thankful under all circumstances"

    Volvo Car USA2018-05-28
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Starting soon will review more afterwards. So far the process has been smooth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multi Craft Maintenance Technician in Ridgeville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Car USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I have spoke to about the position from maintenance to superintendent has been amazing! They have been helpful with all the on coming processes. HR is really responsive to answering all questions.

    Cons

    I have no cons at this time. The process of becoming hired is long and gruesome. But you know they are looking for the best candidates.

    Volvo Car USA2018-05-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company and Culture. Amazing New Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Car USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Volvo Cars has a people first culture. They value you as an employee and welcome your input. Regional management is great in my region and really creates a great team environment. Great pay and benefits and then employee lease is a great perk too!

    Cons

    None that I have found yet, the only recommendation is improving the on-boarding process. It was good overall but everything can be improved.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great job and we are all proud to work for the Company and Brand!

    Volvo Car USA2018-05-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Satisfied employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ridgeville, SC

    I have been working at Volvo Car USA full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    None at all. Very pleased

    Volvo Car USA2018-05-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Car USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great salary and an overall nice place to work.

    Cons

    Still learning but no complaints

    Advice to Management

    Help us get used to the Volvo way of doing things.

    Volvo Car USA2018-05-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A "Cool" Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchasing in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Car USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong upper management that provides clear direction for the company Produces a product/culture that employees can easily get behind Autonomy and diversity in job roles are encouraged Solid pay with great benefits and perks Especially with all the recent momentum, there is a ton of excitement around US operations which naturally translates into good employee morale

    Cons

    Some growing pains, but that is expected with current environment (i.e. new plant)

    Advice to Management

    Continue emphasizing the need for more global collaboration. For that matter, we could use more local cross team collaboration as well. Keep up the good work!

    Volvo Car USA2018-04-26
Found 66 reviews