Vrbo Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Vrbo Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 579 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Vrbo CEO John Kim
John Kim
179 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No free lunches at the Austin offices yet(in 19 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance can sometimes be a challenge(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic supportive culture of inclusion!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and an amazing culture - they actually walk the talk when it comes to the Company Values!!

    Cons

    Where are the senior leaders - not in the AU office it seems

    Advice to Management

    Need to be seen to lead!!

    Vrbo2018-07-17
  2. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time

    Pros

    Great culture with access to global talent. Part of Expedia group with company perks like accommodation discounts and small bonus.

    Cons

    Pat isn’t as high as other companies I’ve worked at.

    Advice to Management

    Pay level of employees is lower than other companies. Even other travel companies. Would consider pay scales to be more advantageous to keep employees. The Expedia group perks aren’t enough to keep people there.

    Vrbo2019-04-14
  3. "Excellent Team Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time

    Pros

    One of the best team cultures I have have experienced in a company. The office spaces are excellent. The work-life balance is great and career opportunities are available for those individuals who are proactive enough.

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to foster an environment of inclusion and hire new talent based off the values and culture.

    Vrbo2018-07-12
  4. "Love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time

    Pros

    I'm new here (6 months), but I'm loving the place. Good sense of technology, fun place to work, and doing interesting things.

    Cons

    Management isn't very top-down directive - which is generally good, but some stuff does seem a bit undirected.

    Vrbo2018-07-12
  5. "Great people but facing issues because of the scale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Global approach to building teams

    Cons

    Too many stakeholders resulting in slow pace

    Advice to Management

    Divide responsibility better

    Vrbo2018-06-07
  6. "HomeAway is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team, great culture - it feels like a family and all the offices are awesome.

    Cons

    Technology can slow us down due to many different acquisitons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great communication. Keep up the disruptive marketing!

    Vrbo2016-02-11
  7. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Success Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Spend time with really cool people, great location

    Cons

    Sometimes managers are lost, and looks like no direction.

    Vrbo2019-08-16
  8. "Inclusive and progressive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo

    Pros

    Diverse and accepting work environment.

    Cons

    Fewer directions to take in advancement than expected.

    Vrbo2019-07-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Vrbo Employeee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resolution Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and free food

    Cons

    Bonuses not as high as one would expect based on company's performance Constant changes

    Advice to Management

    More communication

    Vrbo2019-07-21
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Worked when company was still HomeAway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and vacation time, Nice office, free food and drink, decent pay, fun events

    Cons

    Favoritism, micro managing, not a lot of opportunity for advancement unless you’re on someone’s good side. “Clicky” atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    Give employees space to do their job and quit breathing down necks. People would work better if they didn’t feel watched and uneasy all the time. Not sure if this has changed since I was last working there, but that was the main complaint from most coworkers

    Vrbo2019-07-07
Found 579 reviews