Waste Management Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Waste Management Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1654 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Waste Management CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
312 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A single father so that limits the amount of long hours I can put in but I can work with that(in 76 reviews)

  • "Customer service is challenging no matter where you work(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Blind leading the blind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Waste Management

    Pros

    WMAA (waste management association of Australia) Small organisation so able to get pretty hands on with projects. great opportunities for networking with association members.

    Cons

    Management was very unprofessional and bullied staff. Consistent public humiliation if the manager was not "in a good mood" so staff hesitant to ask questions. Very inefficient organisation. Organisational culture wasn't very supportive or positive.

    Waste Management2016-07-16
  2. "Lots of Hours, Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Solid company growth plan. A lot of advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    Not best work/life balance. Operations management is expected to work long hours.

    Waste Management2019-09-17
  3. "Great company to work for and make a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver 

    I worked at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Steady income and Safety oriented

    Cons

    Time consuming away from family at times

    Waste Management2019-09-05
  4. "Service with exelency desipte the benefitially"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Internal Auditor in Kinshasa

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Honest and result oriented subject to a great support.

    Cons

    I'm subversive to bureaucratic tendencies in an work place

    Advice to Management

    To place focus to Goals and objectives, and measure performance

    Waste Management2019-09-06
  5. "Longevity of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fleet Maintenance Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stability in this big corporation

    Cons

    The constant pressure for budget cuts. Which is normal at any company however nobody should be asked to do anything unsafe or illegal for their job. If you stick to your integrity then you are easily disposable. Cliques are not meant for the workplace. Unfortunately this division has them.

    Advice to Management

    If you have employees who have worked and dedicated their lives for this company for over 15+yrs and have always been exemplary employees and suddenly they start getting let go,maybe you should be looking at upper management as the problem. Management needs to learn to appreciate dedicated staff

    Waste Management2019-09-19
  6. "good job and great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scale Operator in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    pay weekly good benefits

    Cons

    working with the public.

    Waste Management2019-09-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "What an amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispatcher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment that is engaging and exciting

    Cons

    None that come to mind as of this writing

    Waste Management2019-08-28
  8. "Steady work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Driver in Bridgeport, WV
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get your own truck and your own route

    Cons

    The trucks are old and rusted most of the time there broken in some way. They have to many stops on your route which doesn’t leave much time for you to use the restroom or take a lunch break.

    Waste Management2019-09-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "WM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits , security, pay, growth ,opportunities.

    Cons

    I really love my job

    Waste Management2019-08-26
  10. "Founder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant in Mumbai

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reduction of waste keeping by protecting people& environment

    Cons

    There are no cons in this profile

    Waste Management2019-08-30
Found 1654 reviews