Waste Management Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Waste Management Reviews

Updated 16 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1599 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Waste Management CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
290 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A single father so that limits the amount of long hours I can put in but I can work with that(in 76 reviews)

  • "Customer service is challenging no matter where you work(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Blind leading the blind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Waste Management

    Pros

    WMAA (waste management association of Australia) Small organisation so able to get pretty hands on with projects. great opportunities for networking with association members.

    Cons

    Management was very unprofessional and bullied staff. Consistent public humiliation if the manager was not "in a good mood" so staff hesitant to ask questions. Very inefficient organisation. Organisational culture wasn't very supportive or positive.

    Waste Management2016-07-16
  2. "Working at WM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Account Manager 

      I have been working at Waste Management full-time

      Pros

      Potential for high salary, flexibility

      Cons

      The culture and management needs work

      Waste Management2019-06-13
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great coworkers and great management

      Cons

      Lots of phones to answer like all call centers

      Waste Management2019-06-12
    • "Fantastic work skill"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - General Laborer in Sacramento, NM
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Waste Management full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Great way to stay in shape

      Cons

      None it was a great excperience

      Advice to Management

      I am a hard worker use to long hours on feet and heavy lifting.

      Waste Management2019-06-05
    • "Great benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Dispatcher in Foxborough, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Waste Management full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Great benefits. Lots of training. Good coworkers.

      Cons

      Hourly wage is low.

      Advice to Management

      Pay employees more

      Waste Management2019-06-03
    • "Driver experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Driver in Elgin, SC

        I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Awesome benefits, decent pay, amazing safety culture.

        Cons

        Unorganized, Poor maintenance of equipment, when trucks go down, they’re down for long periods

        Waste Management2019-06-17
      • "Great Company to work for!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Payroll Tax Support 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Waste Management full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Ethical company with longevity. It's employees are hard working and stay with the company for years upon years because they love it. The benefits are amazing, they even have subsidized opportunity for child care and adult care. The bonuses are also great.

        Cons

        extra week of vacation only occurs upon your sixth year with the company.

        Waste Management2019-05-31
      • "Great Place to work for a family and working balance"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Houston, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Many perks and volunteer opportunities. You can move up quickly in the WM family.

        Cons

        cost of living raises only, very difficult to get a raise other than CoL.

        Waste Management2019-05-31
      • "Aweful"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Dispatcher in Foxborough, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        People are nice. Benefits are good.

        Cons

        Low pay bracket. No training - they let you watch someone then throw you right into it and then you are a bother to help. Management has no human component. No flexibility. Will make you work as many hours as THEY need you to and then punish you if you are 3 minutes late.

        Advice to Management

        Put some flexibility into your process. Come up with a training format. Talk to your people - really talk to them. Not just huddle or to tell them when they make a mistake

        Waste Management2019-06-13
      • "Good company if you can stand the smell"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
        Doesn't Recommend
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        competitive benefits at the company

        Cons

        Smell in the yard, too many unions, management disconnected with union employees

        Advice to Management

        Cut through some of the bureaucracy and treat people with trust and respect

        Waste Management2019-06-12

        Waste Management Response

        June 18, 2019SoMe Associate

        Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We value all feedback from our employees. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams. Our staff does the best it can to minimize the smell from the waste and seek new ways ...

        Show More
      Found 1599 reviews