Web Applications UK Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Web Applications UK Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Web Applications UK CEO Craig Dean
Craig Dean
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (31)

    "Your legacy code is my hell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Oldham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Web Applications UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere Good for newbie developers Developers are encouraged to obtain Microsoft certifications, exam fees are paid by the company.

    Cons

    If you can't make it to CEO's select few, your daily role will be maintaining legacy systems. Legacy systems are written in classic ASP, VBScript and some JS. All business logic is in SQL stored procedures, finding the cause of a bug would be similar to finding a needle in a haystack. There is no architecture, it feels like it was developed on purpose to make you appreciate the OOP notion and higher level languages.... Documentation is generally non-existent or out-dated, code is rarely commented. Whilst you are working on company's cash cow legacy systems, committing career suicide by dealing with long abandoned technologies, CEO's select few will be working on current tech stacks. However due to CEO's high standards, new product development will undergo lots of radical changes along the way, causing company to go in circles.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Legacy systems are common for software houses, management should make significant effort to get the new modular product out and cut the support for legacy systems gradually. The new product can be improved and missing links added over time. CEO should be more transparent about the direction of the new product and should stop turning a blind eye to developers supporting the legacy systems to keep company afloat.

    Web Applications UK2015-06-19

    Web Applications UK Response

    November 1, 2015Chief Executive

    Thank you for feedback, it really does help us improve. Having read this comment we held a number of urgent internal meetings and re-emphasised the importance of ensuring we are giving all our developers the opportunity to work on all areas of our systems. It has always been my desire to do so, and I can assure you that I value all my employees, not a 'select few'. Mistakes were clearly made and I have sought to address them. I hope you have moved on to a good role.

    Show Less
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Ideal place to start a career, especially in IT."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Web Applications UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get free breakfast, which is actually kind of a lifesaver. You get an afternoon a week to work on your own personal development. You get flexi-time. You get a generous training allowance, a gym membership, free cans of pop if that's your thing. There's a pool table, a foosball table, a retro games machine, and a host of social events in and out of work. I know it's not everyone's cup of tea, but it makes me feel... a lot more comfortable in the workplace. Everyone here is lovely. Back when I started there was quite a forgiving atmosphere whilst I got to grips with things. Web Apps is an ideal environment for people starting out their career and wanting to learn about the software industry.

    Show More

    Cons

    Occasionally I've worked longer hours than I should have to get something done. I sometimes find that the work/life balance isn't very forgiving.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain focus on recruitment/retention; I'm grateful to work somewhere that cares a lot about the happiness of their employees.

    Web Applications UK2015-05-20

    Web Applications UK Response

    November 1, 2015Chief Executive

    Thank you for your feedback! I'm sorry to hear that we've not always got the work/life balance right for you, please feel free to bring this to my attention if it remains an issue.

  3. Helpful (41)

    "Short sighted management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Oldham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Web Applications UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most people are nice and socialising is encouraged.

    Cons

    The main product is built on classic asp, with vbscript and javascript (stuck in quirks mode) on the front-end. The majority of the work is based on support tickets for this product, unless you are one of the "chosen few" the CEO picks; despite what is advertised it is highly unlikely you will get to work on any other/new products. The general quality of all the code is very low and most logic is within huge stored... procedures. If you hadn't talked to someone whom had edited the file (correctly) in the past, or the original developer, it could take hours to understand the intended purpose, since meaningful comments are so scarce. As mentioned in another review, the TDD approach being preached is based on adding tests after the code has been written (Development Driven Tests?). All the remaining development in the company is based within C# or Javascript, however given the CEOs own high opinion of himself, he is an expert in both; This may hold some truth for the former, but certainly doesn't for the latter. Senior management is... whatever the CEO decides it is. This company is the definition of a one-man show, only out to inflate his ego. To get ahead you need to "drink the kool-aid" and be willing to give up any free/social time you have, or you would have proven you aren't "dedicated to improving yourself". Rather than trust the employees hired, the CEO will regularly micro-manage people and/or projects at his own desire, often ridiculing whomever was involved in the process. However, if you are within the Administration department, for the similar time/effort put into your work you will be regularly: complimented, compensated, appear on advertising material and be invited to all the company events. Otherwise, the only opportunity you will have to any of the aforementioned "perks", is if you are a minority group and your particular group isn't already represented. As far as remuneration is concerned, you will be lucky to reach anything close to the market average for the North West, and the pound-value of the added benefits do not come close to the difference. A bonus package is advertised as a "profit share", which sounds good enough, for a fifteen year-old company, however to the best of my knowledge, it has only paid out three times, ever. You are made to feel lucky to have the opportunity to work for the company, at what you are paid.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on delivering a new, main product and stop spending as much time on support tickets. it doesn't need to be perfect first time, you just need to stick to solid design principles and build modularly (and that use of 'solid' isn't an excuse to write everything in C#). The current CEO needs to have an Scrooge-esque change of personality, or should step down. He is not helping the management of the company or... it's image. You just have to read a handful of the reviews from former employees to realise this.

    Show More
    Web Applications UK2015-05-24
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Good overall, especially for new engineers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Web Applications UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, modern systems/software, extensive training, wide ranging benefits, pushed to achieve potential via continuous improvement.

    Cons

    Large actively maintained legacy code base built on ancient (in I.T. terms) technologies and methodologies. Salaries on the low side and the benefits may not adequately cover the difference in the case of an experienced developer.

    Web Applications UK2015-04-14

    Web Applications UK Response

    November 1, 2015Chief Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

  5. Helpful (28)

    "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Web Applications UK full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is nice. Flexi time. Socializing within the company is encourgaed.

    Cons

    Most developers won't touch new tech, essentially mixed role of first line support and maintainance.

    Advice to Management

    CEO needs to either stick to CEO or step down to Tech Lead or something/

    Web Applications UK2015-04-14
  6. Helpful (37)

    "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Runcorn, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Web Applications UK for less than a year

    Pros

    Can't find a single reason to be a part of the company

    Cons

    The company still uses classic ASP in most of their applications. Most of the developers spend time solving support cases and the work is not at all interesting. Even though there was a buzz about TDD approach but the code quality and readability was very low. You would find most of the business logic in stored procedures which are difficult to debug as they are winded up in such a convoluted fashion, only the... original developer would be able to change it. The traveller 4.0 application looks shiny on the front end but under the hood it still uses the same legacy systems. Basically its a old wine in new bottle. Senior management is very poor and lacks clear direction. Employees have to always agree with the CEO Craig Dean. According to him the complex code is the best way to ensure performance. I have ever come across any CEO who prefers to use "I" rather than "WE". There was so lack of trust that even if the company had more than 80 employees, he used to code any new modules rather than providing technical direction while others used to spend hours in catering support calls and investigating issues of legacy systems. The interview was about his boast of C# BCL knowledge and rolled up his sleeves to convince, he is the best developer born in UK. Compensation is extremely low. 60% of the employees are apprentice and interns hired at extremely low pay. Even the senior developers used to get extremely low salary compared to the market.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favouritism and promote a culture of equal growth. If you can't retain your talent it means something is wrong with the management or you are losing your share in the market. Every company undergoes changes. Legacy systems are phased out with brand new systems and that's part of the process. If a company spend majority of the time handling increasing support queries should understand there is a... fundamental flaw in the product for which the issues are happening. Last but not the least, stop moving your employees across the office every 15 days. They are employees made up of flesh and blood and not balls on billiard tables.

    Show More
    Web Applications UK2015-05-09
Found 26 reviews