Web Applications UK Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Software Engineer

Web Applications UK Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 28 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Web Applications UK CEO Craig Dean
Craig Dean
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Decent place to start as a software engineer with zero experience, provided a strong desire to learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Oldham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Web Applications UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Real focus on learning and improvement, starting from low-level concepts and old tools. If you show good knowledge in areas specified in the job spec and a real desire to learn, they will take you in. Overlooking experience, background.

    Cons

    -lots of time spent on support duty (with terrible equipment) -extremely rare to use a new tool or framework -felt like no design patterns were ever mentioned apart from OOP -weirdo CEO -located in Oldham -low pay -poor benefits -no flexibility in type of work you do

    Web Applications UK2019-05-28
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Culture of Learning ,Growth and innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Software Engineer in Oldham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Applications UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic people to work with - feels more like a group of friends than colleagues sometimes! Everyone is always willing to help each other - can happily say no one is toxic or someone who i dislike. Constantly learning new things: as someone who really cares about gaining knowledge - there isn't a day where i don't learn something new. Free food, drinks, gym membership, open bars ( good use is made out... of that) Constant social nights out - going to restaurants, sponsored runs, dodge ball the list is endless! Management actually cares about you. All the directors are approachable and sometimes can sit down with you for hours explaining stuff. One of them in particular deserves a noble prize for the amount of work he does. Customer first approach - focus on the best solution - not the quickest. Full stack environment means you get a good front end experience as well as back end. Constant training, learning new and exciting topics. Opportunities to attend technology events across the UK - fully paid for. Chance to do exams to achieve certifications and have those exams paid for you. One job many roles policy which is fantastic for experience. Company first business second. DOGS! ;)

    Show More

    Cons

    some of the policies seem ridiculous. Employees who have built up a lot of trust and have proven themselves are heavily restricted in what they can/can't do. I understand that certain rules are there to protect us. But i think certain people should be able to earn the right to be able to given more trust/permission It can be stressful sometimes. Especially when doing something high priority. New services... that we offer still need further refinement Few outdated technologies still in use (ASP sucks - it just does) Big focus on support. some days half of the dev's are on support! whilst i understand the reason behind this, i think more time should be given for experimentation with new technologies/ trying different products - though i had raised this before and it feels like its slowly being listened too!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    trust your employees - give us more responsibility and stop micromanaging all the mini aspects of our lives.

    Web Applications UK2019-02-27
  3. Helpful (23)

    "Double edged sword"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Oldham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Web Applications UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the staff are very nice to work with and I enjoyed most of my time here. The benefits are reasonable, having free drinks in the office is nice and often understated what such a simple thing can do. The training budget for each employee is also reasonable and can be used on most things as long as it has demonstrable outputs (like certifications). Most people will be more than happy to help you when asked.... Social events were frequent and often very fun.

    Show More

    Cons

    The salary is not particularly competitive. There can be quite a large emphasis placed on time allocation ensuring that all time is logged against something relevant, this can often lead to a feeling amongst staff that they are constantly being scrutinised which is not great for morale. Occasional weekend work whilst communicated before accepting the job is still not always ideal. There are some conflicts of... interest in upper management which could be problematic and doesn't foster a culture where all employees are able to feel comfortable coming forward with an issue, especially if that issue pertains to the CEO. Finally, and perhaps the largest con is the CEO himself. He is a very clever human being, and he wants you to know it. He wants you to believe he's more intelligent than you and always correct, I found him very difficult to work with; his ego was obstructive when it came to collaborative working and I often found he would talk down to his employees in a way which made them and others very uncomfortable. His interview technique also leaves a lot to be desired; I personally understand what he is trying to do when he interviews a candidate by putting them in a pressure filled and stressful situation to see how they respond to that pressure, but the way in which he does this is completely unacceptable and moreover does not even accomplish what he wants. He pressures and berates potential candidates trying to pick apart their career and their achievements looking for flaws and weaknesses, this is not an appropriate way to see how candidates respond to pressure. This behaviour needs to stop.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve your salary offering to attract better staff. Stop the CEO from being a part of the interview process as his interview style is not even close to being appropriate. Ensure that the CEO is placed on some sort of management and sensitivity training course as he appears to be either unaware or simply doesn't care how his actions affect his candidates and subordinates.

    Web Applications UK2019-02-06
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Not enough Help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer in Oldham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Web Applications UK for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly People/Staff plus a nice working environment

    Cons

    No help for beginners with coding

    Advice to Management

    provide more training

    Web Applications UK2018-05-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Industrial Placement - Junior Software Engineer in Oldham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Applications UK for less than a year

    Pros

    If you desire to evolve and learn a multitude of things, not only concerning software development but also about life and morals, Web Applications UK is the best place. I had a great time working for this company and I will never forget what I learned.

    Cons

    No cons from me, the time I spent at this company had a great value for me and the skills I gained will help both in my career and also in my life.

    Web Applications UK2017-11-13
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Culture of learning, growth and innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Oldham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Applications UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly, helpful and willing to get stuck in. Web Applications is a company that encourages employees to learn, grow and become better developers. Everyone gets a say in how a particular development should be undertaken through the Solutions Stand up. Soft drinks and coffee are free for everyone to help themselves, plus there's a breakfast bar which includes cereals, bagels and toast - so no excuses... for missing the most important meal of the day. The management team are amazing and really take a vested interest in the staff. The CEO can be scary and intimidating at first, however a lot of the comments on here are not fair. The invitation to have a private word is always open, and he will always justify a decision that has been made. As a developer you truly get experience in every area of development as you are assigned various roles on any particular development. The Senior Managers and Directors have all been promoted internally, the majority of which started off as developers themselves which I think is really encouraging for my own career prospects. You can take days off with very little notice using SHIELD and make the time back over the weekend, this has come in handy a few times. Plus you have the option of taking up to 2 days a month working from home. I'd love to see more perks added such as a bonus Birthday holiday like many other companies are now offering.

    Show More

    Cons

    Can't think of too many as usually when conflict arises, it is dealt with in a quick and reasonable manner. The solutions stand up could do with some fine tuning to ensure that everyone gets a say and that we don't spend too long discussing cases in too much detail.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in young people and helping developed the careers of talented developers.

    Web Applications UK2016-12-03
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Summer intern at webapps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Oldham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Web Applications UK for less than a year

    Pros

    The first week at webapps consisted on bringing everyone up to speed with various technologies and languages. They gave us a run down of git (and the way the various projects used it), then a run down of SQL Server, JavaScript and a few other general things. Which while being a bit slow was very useful. After starting work properly I mixed with all the others working there and everyone was really friendly (and... free [soft] drinks and breakfast is a massive plus!) . I was working on a new crossbrowser platform using all the modern technologies and gained a hell of a lot out of working there. Everyone was really really supportive and patient. Also, I want to talk about Craig (the CEO), who seems to be getting a lot of undeserved criticism. I agree, when you first meet Craig you get the impression he's arrogant, but don't judge a book by it's cover. You realise very quickly that he doesn't think himself better or smarter than anyone but just wants to push people to reach their potential and doesn't accept low quality hacky code. He makes it very clear that he would never fire anyone for disagreeing with him, and encourages discussion.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like everywhere else, there are downsides. The main one as others have mentioned is the massive amount of legacy code which everybody has to maintain. BUT, they are slowly migrating their systems onto a new platform in which a lot of that is stripped out and is nice to develop against. It's unfair though to criticise a company for having been around for a long time, they're doing all they can to address that,... nothing more anybody can ask of them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep taking on the numbers of interns you do, I know it's a lot for a company this size but I certainly benefitted massively from it.

    Web Applications UK2016-11-27
  8. Helpful (124)

    "Controlling leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Oldham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Web Applications UK full-time

    Pros

    Microsoft gold partner. Training is of high standard. Personal development time - to enable you to further develop your skills on any subject that you are interested in (provided it's relevant to the job). Nice building. Plenty of social events.

    Cons

    Confirming the general theme of other reviewers here.. given that the feedback was supposed to be taken on board, I feel that the leadership is still the same as previously described. The CEO uses a controlling method of management, it seems as though most of the time he is trying to prove that he is better than you - this comes across strongly in the interview, training sessions and general conversations. Not... once did i receive any positive feedback from the CEO, wrong assumptions were made about myself, as a result of this I often felt singled out. I did witness the CEO's 'select few', these few often gave up any social time to excel in the CEO's tasks, and therefore were assigned to work on projects using newer technologies - whilst the rest maintained 20+ year old legacy systems, gaining little knowledge that would be useful later in life. Whilst I agree that to excel in a job, having a personal interest in the subject is necessary, however I do not agree that an employee should be 'punished' to an extent for not working in their social time. There were many opportunities where the CEO made it clear that certain out of work 'activities' were not compulsory, however there would be consequences if you did not attend.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    CEO should step down before the company's status is damaged any more. The other senior managers are brilliant and would do the company great justice if they were not being controlled themselves.

    Web Applications UK2016-10-18

    Web Applications UK Response

    November 25, 2016Chief Executive

    Are you sure you worked here? With the exception of SQL, all the technologies we use here are less than 20 years old. The board and senior management of the company do a great job, and to claim I use a controlling method of management is a huge disservice to how we work as a company. ...

    Show More
  9. "Summer intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer in Oldham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Web Applications UK for less than a year

    Pros

    The dev office is awesome and I have learned so much in 8 weeks as the senior engineers really looked after us even even if they were quite busy. I was quite lucky to use the latest technologies in trend like node.js, and write js at ES6 standards.

    Cons

    I do not have too many cons, but sometimes I felt that my colleagues are quite afraid to talk to the directors of the company and also the CEO. I realised that the CEO is actually quite friendly, even though he is serious all the time at work. I mean, that's his company though so he should look after it.

    Advice to Management

    Try to engage more with the people who seem to be introverted as some of the placements students especially seem to be so scared.

    Web Applications UK2016-10-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A great Summer Internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineering Intern in Oldham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Web Applications UK for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Training: Excellent! Firstly, there were lectures to introduce the company products, in details, followed by technical lectures that helped us to get up to speed with the technologies that we needed to be successful during our internship. Secondly, an all day training for Presentation skills was provided for us. The training was amazing, I've personally learnt a lot as it was conducted by professional... actors from the Oldham Coliseum Theatre. We were even provided with a certificate for that, which is truly amazing and everything was for free, again! Lastly, during the whole period of my internship (8 weeks), the Lead Engineer for the projects we were assigned and the other experienced engineers were open for questions, literally every single minute. Just don't be shy, ask, and they will grab a chair and explain everything in details, seriously! From my experience 2 of the Senior Engineers spent probably 50% of their time at work helping us. They told us that Summer Interns have very little time at the company, so they try to maximise our experience there, so that we can learn a lot! And I personally did! 2. Environment in the office: Excellent! Firstly, there are dogs you can touch walking around specific area in the office, quite unique, huh? I loved that! Secondly, there are free drinks and free food and even a kitchen where you can warm up your own food. Thirdly, you can play pool, foosball, darts, video-games, etc, and believe me, there is no such thing as people not wanting to play with you, everyone is really friendly. 3. Events: Excellent! I experienced awesome nights out with the colleagues, together with the CEO. There was a warming outing in the beginning which included going to Escape Room in Manchester, followed by free buffet and drinks. Moreover, there were Webbie Olympic games, e.g. Paper toss, Foosball, Table tennis tournaments and so on. Winners received medals and trophies! To finalise the great experience, the CEO - Craig Dean, organised a business dinner with all the Summer Interns, of course for free, where we had the opportunity to ask him many questions. He also organised a Barge Trip for all the employees, which was memorable! 4. The CEO: Excellent! This was my first work experience ever and I was really impressed by Craig Dean, as he was like a friend to us, not like a boss. To me, this is the proof that the company is really flat structured. Craig is also a great teacher. The training he conducted was really useful and engaging, as he is really passionate about programming himself and I believe he managed to pass this on to us, at least to me. Moreover, his criticism is really, really constructive! When he criticise you, he always explains why at first place he thinks you are wrong and then he gives you a better approach, which is really useful for interns as we are there to learn! 5. Flexible start time

    Show More

    Cons

    I cannot come up with any downsides to be honest, at least I didn't see any for the 2 months I worked there.

    Advice to Management

    Management was awesome! It was really easy to work with these people and my only advise would be to keep working hard like that.

    Web Applications UK2016-10-02
Found 17 reviews