Western Dental Services Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Western Dental Services Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Western Dental Services CEO Dan Crowley (no image)
Dan Crowley
83 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to begin your dental career(in 9 reviews)

  • "Fast paced; lots to learn and a strong steady organization(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management changes frequently, turnover is high among employees, the employees are paid very low, but managers and above are above market(in 13 reviews)

  • "Low pay, they send you to different offices without even asking if you’re okay with going(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Review of the Company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    new technical training , nice people, and good management.

    Cons

    Lack of Employee benefits (pension and 401k)

    Western Dental Services2020-01-22
  2. "18 Years of Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rda/Floor Back Coordinator 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    An excellent work environment - Our employees come to work with a positive attitude and do the best they can to help our patients and each other. You will always see teamwork occurring. Excellent customer Service - One of our goals is to ensure that our patients, which are children from the ages of 1 to 17 years old feel comfortable while having treatment done. Great benefits - This company offers medical insurance, vision insurance, and as well 401 retirement plan. Opportunity for Growth - I started working here as an RDA, and I later became a floor coordinator. This has allowed me to learn so much more behind the scenes. I am very happy working with western dental kids!

    Show More

    Cons

    I was use to working earlier shifts, however the hours at my office change to later times. Nonetheless, I still enjoy working with my team and aiding children in need for dental care.

    Western Dental Services2020-01-20
  3. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead RDA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time

    Pros

    You get your hours and good experience.

    Cons

    Way overworked.. No one cares about you. Hours suck and you work almost every weekend.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees!!

    Western Dental Services2020-01-18
  4. "Not good for long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PCC 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience for those new to medical field

    Cons

    Not a great company. Profit over patients. Patient yell at you, doctors yell at you. They create new and endless spreadsheets you have to enter sales data in, and you get like 13 emails a day about daily profits, and how many people you need to call to get them back to the dental office. But they never have any type of meetings or emails about the quality of care they’re giving because they don’t care. Better to get some experience and get out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Upper management should be ashamed of themselves for lowballing workers pay, and forcing pcc to up sell thousands of unneeded dental care.

    Western Dental Services2019-12-31
  5. "TERRIBLE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prosthodontist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Dental Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Patients for the most part are nice and understanding

    Cons

    Terrible, terrible place to work. Poor customer service, even worse quality of dentistry, and gross overtreatment. The offices are poorly run with lack of caring from the managing dentists all the way down to the assistants and front staff. I understand that it's a healthcare setting and that it's often difficult to run on time, but I got daily complaints from patients about how they had to wait 2+ hours or the fact that they felt they were seen as a number rather than a patient. Corporate is even worse with poor communication, lack of knowledge, and overall clueless demeanor. For a network that touts comprehensive treatment and a multi-speciality approach, coordination and communication are the worst I've seen. With the number of private offices and DSO's around, I would recommend employment with anyone else.

    Show More
    Western Dental Services2019-11-30
  6. "Great place for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Supervisor/RDA, OA in Hanford, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to begin your dental career

    Cons

    Over worked and under paid

    Western Dental Services2019-10-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Dont do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orange, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The medical, dental and vision benefits are really good. Excellent plans.

    Cons

    Everything! This is the most disorganized company that I have ever worked for. The only concern is for the dollars coming in. Very poor customer service for both internal and external customers. No interest in making improvements. Company motto seems to be "Thats the way we've always done it". The offices are terrible and are bias against their patients who are low income, purposefully giving them last priority appointments or referring them out because the fee is too low to warrant the dentists time and attention. I cant wait to get away from this company. I'm surprised they have not been sued for all of this terrible behavior. PTO plans suck! Some employees earning as little as .45 hours per pay period. Need to allow for holiday eves off, especially Christmas and the day before or after thanksgiving.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advocate for your employees!

    Western Dental Services2019-10-25
  8. "Disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rda 

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always hiring. Can get a job easily.

    Cons

    All about money. No patient care.

    Western Dental Services2019-10-09
  9. "How I got hired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Loma Linda, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kristina helped me get a job after helping find an office to do my internship. Without her it couldnt have been possible . She believed in me and I am beyond grateful. This will be my first job fresh out of school , and I can tell my office is going to be amazing. There’s nothing but good vibes there.

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons at the moment.

    Western Dental Services2019-08-27
  10. "Don’t work in AZ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, descent pay, education and THAT IS IT!!!

    Cons

    The doctors constantly berate you with personal insults. PDM has a God complex. Corporate only cares about the bottom line. It has been said many times that your job is about numbers, not pt care

    Advice to Management

    Happy employees are productive employees, upset, insulted, and non clinical employees simply don’t matter. Change it

    Western Dental Services2019-09-27
Found 285 reviews