Winn-Dixie Deli Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Winn-Dixie Deli Associate Reviews

Updated 20 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
16%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Winn-Dixie CEO Anthony Hucker (no image)
Anthony Hucker
5 Ratings
  1. "Not kind to hard workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Friendly Atmosphere Decent lunches vacation after 2 years for part time Gain Experience

    Cons

    They reward employees who kiss up to the company Treat hard working employees like trash and use them low pay for the work done

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the employees more

    Winn-Dixie2019-09-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the customers are nice. Like to work with some of the co workers.

    Cons

    Been there 4 years. Everyone hired after me gets more time Feel very unappreciated. Because I am older manager gives younger workers more hours.

    Advice to Management

    You need to show workers that work there butts off some appreciatetion.Give more than 1 raise a year.

    Winn-Dixie2019-05-06
  3. "Excellent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery and Deli Associate in Jasper, AL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work is easy and simple

    Cons

    Only manager work full time hours

    Advice to Management

    More hours

    Winn-Dixie2019-01-01
  4. "deli associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good managers they listen to you

    Cons

    low pay they need to pay us what we are worth

    Advice to Management

    increase pay you have good people keep dthem

    Winn-Dixie2018-09-25
  5. "Used to be great. Now it is hell."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always something to do. Decent pay that is weekly. Friendly regulars are the only thing worth coming to work for.

    Cons

    Treated like garbage. Nothing is ever good enough. No teamwork. No praise. No appreciation. Pure stress that leaks into home life. The dread of going to work knowing you have to do it all again, and again and again. Hour cuts when you really need the money and are struggling. Spiteful corrective actions such as hour cuts without prior discussion or mediation.

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding of the work your peons put in and how hard you are on them. You're not the only one with a hard job. Understand that there are some things that we just can't fix. Train your department workers to do the most basic stuff. That way other people don't have to pick up their slack.

    Winn-Dixie2018-08-31
  6. "Deli associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in Panama City, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff , flexible schedule

    Cons

    not enough hours and very under staffed

    Advice to Management

    Hire more full timers

    Winn-Dixie2018-05-04
  7. "Worst of the Worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in Altamonte Springs, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I actually did the pro/con thing in my mind. Cons WAY outnumbered pros. You get paid weekly. That's it. Aside from being close to home, that is it. Actually, this is the perfect job for someone who doesn't like to get paid well and likes to sweat.

    Cons

    I have never worked for such a ridiculous place in all of my life. We have 7 people working in the deli. They all think they are the manager. And the manager doesn't even seem to care what is going on. Everyone does what they want, they come in when they want, they leave when they want. It is so hot, my whole body sweats throughout the entire shift, like I was working outside. There is SO much work to do, for so... little pay, it is insulting. The place disgusts me. I know it's part of the job, but the way people are so picky about how their meat is cut is beyond me. I mean, give me a break, it's meat. Everyone that works there is more concerned about what you're doing than what they're doing. This place has drained me of my personality and it is exhausting work. I would be completely fine if I got paid $12 an hour, but that is not the case. $9 an hour just doesn't cut it. Apparently, deli employees are supposed to be crosstrained in the bakery, as well. The bakery closes at 6pm. 6pm!! So people are constantly asking for cakes to be decorated. I was never told that I would have to work TWO departments when I got hired. Another reason the pay should be higher. So I'm on the hunt for another job, needless to say. Just do yourself a favor and don't work here. Nobody can get hired here, anyway, because nobody can pass the drug test. Anyway, I could go on, but I'm boring myself with this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit.

    Winn-Dixie2018-06-09
  8. "Run away as fast as you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Associate in Destin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Winn-Dixie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits are good.

    Cons

    Lowest of the low department manager, lazy coworkers, too many chiefs and not enough indians, to put it honestly. And due to restructuring of the company, I was screwed out of a bonus that most people in my store got. And I was working, on occasion, 65-hour work weeks. Good stuff.

    Advice to Management

    Get your heads out of your rears and get rid of people that make everyone else's jobs as difficult as possible.

    Winn-Dixie2018-05-27
  9. "routine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in Jacksonville Beach, FL
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    you learn good customer service skills & other food prep skills you learn also how to work in a fast paced environment and multi task

    Cons

    the management could have been more structured and worked with the loyal employees more to give them more benefits and opportunity to excel

    Advice to Management

    i think the management should really consider giving more acknowledgement to their employees that are known assets of the team and knows everyone important to the company is taken extra care of

    Winn-Dixie2018-03-20
  10. "Decent Pay, But Not Much Else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in Covington, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent starting pay. and flexible schedules.

    Cons

    Heavy customer load on weekends. Some customers can be really rude and stubborn about their cuts of meat, sometimes asking you to cut thinner than the slicers are capable of doing without the meat falling apart. Some employees have a short temper. Not much room for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Thank employees more.

    Winn-Dixie2017-12-12
Found 39 reviews