Winn-Dixie Deli Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Winn-Dixie Deli Associate Reviews

Updated 5 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
23%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Hucker
4 Ratings
  1. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the customers are nice. Like to work with some of the co workers.

    Cons

    Been there 4 years. Everyone hired after me gets more time Feel very unappreciated. Because I am older manager gives younger workers more hours.

    Advice to Management

    You need to show workers that work there butts off some appreciatetion.Give more than 1 raise a year.

    Winn-Dixie2019-05-06
  2. "Excellent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery and Deli Associate in Jasper, AL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work is easy and simple

    Cons

    Only manager work full time hours

    Advice to Management

    More hours

    Winn-Dixie2019-01-01
  3. "deli associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good managers they listen to you

    Cons

    low pay they need to pay us what we are worth

    Advice to Management

    increase pay you have good people keep dthem

    Winn-Dixie2018-09-25
  4. "Used to be great. Now it is hell."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always something to do. Decent pay that is weekly. Friendly regulars are the only thing worth coming to work for.

    Cons

    Treated like garbage. Nothing is ever good enough. No teamwork. No praise. No appreciation. Pure stress that leaks into home life. The dread of going to work knowing you have to do it all again, and again and again. Hour cuts when you really need the money and are struggling. Spiteful corrective actions such as hour cuts without prior discussion or mediation.

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding of the work your peons put in and how hard you are on them. You're not the only one with a hard job. Understand that there are some things that we just can't fix. Train your department workers to do the most basic stuff. That way other people don't have to pick up their slack.

    Winn-Dixie2018-08-31
  5. "Deli associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in Panama City, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff , flexible schedule

    Cons

    not enough hours and very under staffed

    Advice to Management

    Hire more full timers

    Winn-Dixie2018-05-04
  6. "Worst of the Worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in Altamonte Springs, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I actually did the pro/con thing in my mind. Cons WAY outnumbered pros. You get paid weekly. That's it. Aside from being close to home, that is it. Actually, this is the perfect job for someone who doesn't like to get paid well and likes to sweat.

    Cons

    I have never worked for such a ridiculous place in all of my life. We have 7 people working in the deli. They all think they are the manager. And the manager doesn't even seem to care what is going on. Everyone does what they want, they come in when they want, they leave when they want. It is so hot, my whole body sweats throughout the entire shift, like I was working outside. There is SO much work to do, for so little...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit.

    Winn-Dixie2018-06-09
  7. "Run away as fast as you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Associate in Destin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Winn-Dixie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits are good.

    Cons

    Lowest of the low department manager, lazy coworkers, too many chiefs and not enough indians, to put it honestly. And due to restructuring of the company, I was screwed out of a bonus that most people in my store got. And I was working, on occasion, 65-hour work weeks. Good stuff.

    Advice to Management

    Get your heads out of your rears and get rid of people that make everyone else's jobs as difficult as possible.

    Winn-Dixie2018-05-27
  8. "Decent Pay, But Not Much Else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in Covington, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent starting pay. and flexible schedules.

    Cons

    Heavy customer load on weekends. Some customers can be really rude and stubborn about their cuts of meat, sometimes asking you to cut thinner than the slicers are capable of doing without the meat falling apart. Some employees have a short temper. Not much room for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Thank employees more.

    Winn-Dixie2017-12-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Deli was fun until new general and department management ruined it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Associate in Port Orange, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was predominantly an opener with the occasional closing shift, and I really enjoyed prepping salads, racking chickens for the rotisserie, "cooking" the food for our hot bar, and frying wings (we had a wing bar, which was insane to maintain on Super Bowl Sunday), hand breeding and frying chicken, and knocking out a few dishes in my downtime. Slicing meat and cheese for customers was generally fun, too, very easy and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Was barely trained. Poor pay, little reward for employees that did their damn jobs, and it was rare for an employee to get written up. Even when closing crew "forgot" to filter the fryers and left inches of think, hard sludge and whole chicken wings in the fryer, the new department manager barely even shrugged.

    Advice to Management

    Department management: Stack your shipment boxes in an orderly fashion with the labels clearly legible. Don't overbuy perishables, and for the love of God don't just shove new perishables in front of the older stuff; that makes it rot. Store management: if you are not willing to throw on a hairnets and work a full shift in the department on a busy day then back off of the micromanaging. Retail is a very different animal...

    Show More
    Winn-Dixie2017-12-06
  10. "Where to begin....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are fun to work with. I have regulars that come in that I know by name and what they want.

    Cons

    Stressful when busy. Super understaffed. Management makes almost no effort to hire anyone. Im fine with having 20-25 hours a week but when the rest of the department cant pull its weight its rough. Management seems pretty clueless of what to do (I feel I could do a better job). Management also treats employees like children, and with no respect.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up!

    Winn-Dixie2017-12-24
Found 36 reviews