Winn-Dixie Meat Cutter Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Winn-Dixie Meat Cutter Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Hucker
2 Ratings
  1. "Over worked and Under paid but management was 50/50, some stores were hell, others were heaven."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Cutter in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very lenient scheduling around school and other jobs

    Cons

    No overtime, schedule will be worked around it. Under staffed all the time, and management.

    Winn-Dixie2019-06-02
  2. "Good company to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Cutter 

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A lot of nice people at ground level, pay is alright for a starter job.

    Cons

    Hard work does not pay off, if you are a good worker they pass you over time and time again.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to respect and give your hard working employees the opportunities they deserve.

    Winn-Dixie2019-01-03
  3. "Great job, good benefits.apprentiship opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Cutter in Panama City, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, friendly staff, advancement can be easily achieved for Ambitious employees. New hires start out p/t Those who show interest in meat cutting Can advance to an apprenticeship program With a pay raise and option for being placed in a Full time position, with a pay raise and full benefits status.

    Cons

    Retail schedule isn't for everyone, for others, it's an asset, the start out pay is low, but the top out Pay for a meat cutter is 21 hr.

    Advice to Management

    Also there are meat asst mngr positions, and market mngr that are on a different pay level. AND winn Dixie offers opportunities in higher Mngmnt positions, apprenticeship, also the will pay for education advancements.

    Winn-Dixie2018-08-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It's cool but it won't be the same."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Cutter in Gulfport, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cut meat fill case, great atmosphere. Wonderful people usually within 20min from house.

    Cons

    Customer will need things slot. The company is beginning to lay people off if you make too much.

    Advice to Management

    Drop prices and make sure they stay down. You have to truly believe it. Add price match.

    Winn-Dixie2017-05-11

    Winn-Dixie Response

    May 15, 2017Employment Branding Specialist

    Thanks for the feedback. We're glad you enjoy the atmosphere in the store and the close drive from your house! We understand that customers may require a lot of your attention but we're grateful that you still provide them with the best service you can. Thank you for your recommendations ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (2)

    "meat cutter full time position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Cutter in Dothan, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid time off after a year , and sick time , 401k match

    Cons

    Running on skeletal crew to much focus on customers not employees

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to improve how the lower scale employees feel about working for a great company they should feel happy and encouraged with positive incentives

    Winn-Dixie2017-03-31
  6. "Meat Cutting isnt too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat Cutter in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was cool to learn the trade of meat cutting. Another pro was the schedule flexibility.

    Cons

    Low pay. High stress at times. Usually understaffed.

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees fairly.

    Winn-Dixie2017-01-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It's been a nightmare because of the store manager, but I'm transfering to another store with a manger that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Cutter in Valdosta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The customers, for the most part, like shopping there. The company has a long history of being the place to go for the best meat.

    Cons

    The company is going down hill which is causing the moral to do the same. It's a Southern company with a foreign CEO. It has a foreign chef for its advertisement. If you want to call yourself a southern company, cater to the south.

    Advice to Management

    Be in better touch with your store's department managers. They are the ones that truly feel the pressure from corporate decisions.

    Winn-Dixie2017-01-17
  8. "Good Enviroment but some dificulties"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Cutter Apprentice in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie

    Pros

    Friendly enviroment, clean workplace, fun when not too fast paced.

    Cons

    No Full-Time oppertunities unless you are a team-lead,manager or meat cutter

    Advice to Management

    Be more friendlier to the employees and department managers and team leads. Scolding and belittling don't get anyone anywhere

    Winn-Dixie2016-06-05

    Winn-Dixie Response

    June 6, 2016Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback! We're happy that you enjoy the environment in the workplace. My advice for you would be to talk to your manager about your goals of growing with the company. Express that you would like to be in a position where you are full-time ...

    Show More
  9. "terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat Cutter 

    I worked at Winn-Dixie

    Pros

    the company has good opportunities

    Cons

    The management is terrible. Nobody is here to help you, the atmosphere was terrible.

    Winn-Dixie2016-05-28

    Winn-Dixie Response

    May 31, 2016Employment Branding Specialist

    We're glad you saw some good opportunities for growth with the company but sorry you were working under poor management. Please let me know what store number you were at - kendallprince@segrocers.com. Thank you for taking the time to review Winn-Dixie. Have a wonderful day!

  10. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Cutter in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Winn-Dixie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career growth and competitive pay

    Cons

    Some mangers not properly trained

    Advice to Management

    Train your employees and managers better

    Winn-Dixie2016-01-20
Found 16 reviews