Wizards of the Coast Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Wizards of the Coast Reviews

Updated 21 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Wizards of the Coast CEO Christian Cocks (no image)
Christian Cocks
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is good at this company with a lot of products given for free to all full time employees(in 29 reviews)

  • "Excellent work environment and other perks(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "I've watched it go on a downward spiral and if things don't change the company will fail even if Magic remains a success(in 15 reviews)

  • "Hasbro has their tendrils in everything from IT to how vendors are selected & purchased, our signing certificates, etc(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Better companies to work for exist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Renton, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wizards of the Coast full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are great for the most part After work gaming Paid time off Flexible schedules

    Cons

    Layoffs one to two times a year Most positions have zero impact on games Your ideas will be dismissed Project requirements will change daily and be mostly undefined When you deliver your project that is when you find out what they actually wanted Leadership will change tech stack out from under you c#.net to python and go on a seemingly whim They try to addict you to mtg because you will want to keep playing and buy the product once they fire you. DnD is not celebrated the same as mtg Working there feels like putting fires out on a sinking ship with a spoon.

    Continue reading
    Wizards of the Coast2019-09-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Everyone gets laid off in the end"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Game Developer in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wizards of the Coast full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get to be a wizard.

    Cons

    Everybody gets laid off in the end.

    Continue reading
    Wizards of the Coast2019-08-06
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Should be great. Just isn't."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Producer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizards of the Coast full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice company perks such as free product, etc.

    Cons

    Use the interest in working for Wizards as an excuse to over utilize employees.

    Wizards of the Coast2019-08-12
  4. Helpful (13)

    "Avoid like the plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Renton, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizards of the Coast full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free magic product, lots of food. Some of the coolest people you'll ever work with. Decent 401k match

    Cons

    Extremely toxic culture. Leadership makes decisions and changes their mind at any given whim. Leadership is always trying to do whatever they can to make themselves look better, especially at the expense of their reports who can't speak up for fear of retaliation. Massive turnover, you can be there for years and have excellent performance reviews and still be let go with no indication. HR doesn't care about people, they only care about covering the companies behind. What made Wizards amazing to work for has been destroyed. I honestly don't know why I'm still here. They continuously promise opportunities for advancement, acknowledging you're underpaid, overworked but never deliver on those promises. They used to pride themselves on the work-life balance but it's been all but destroyed in favor of making money and yet the people who try to put their family first were the first to go in layoffs (of which there are at least 3-4 every year for the last 3 years of varying sizes) Also, the pay is not even remotely at Seattle levels for Engineers while the managers/directors are above Seattle average. No stock options, weak bonus structure which is set specifically at the whim of your manager instead of how you actually perform and what you accomplish. Managers ask often what they can do for you and when you ask for help in career growth or suggestions to help you grow, they completely ignore it because they're too focused on saving their own jobs from the upper management. There's too many layers of indirectness

    Continue reading
    Wizards of the Coast2019-07-01
  5. Helpful (8)

    "OK Company Hamstrung By Parent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizards of the Coast full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Get to work with great audience & products - Some truly amazing people trying to put things right - Some parts of the company are pretty cutting edge

    Cons

    Hasbro has their tendrils in everything from IT to how vendors are selected & purchased, our signing certificates, etc. Hasbro is pretty incompetent at every level, and you have to deal with them regularly. You can't even buy a new alerting system to be used by a single team without several archaic operations groups having their say, legal making a bunch of bizarre contract requests of the vendor, etc. Something that would be an afternoon at other companies can take months. Because wizards is the only consistently profitable business unit at hasbro, there's a high level of desperation to squeeze every bit of profit out of a business model that's already a bit aggressive. We are driving away key partners. We had a big investment plan that would mean a huge cash injection into the company and allow us to accelerate the improvements, but hasbro turned it down and because management hyped it up so much, they're still trying to pretend hasbro approved it, which is sad.

    Continue reading
    Wizards of the Coast2019-04-13
  6. "Fine job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fraud Specialist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wizards of the Coast full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, Strong Team Chemistry, Decent Pay

    Cons

    Incredibly diverse task set that was overwhelming at times, lack of communication from internal to external teams

    Wizards of the Coast2019-01-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wizards of the Coast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, coworkers and managers are caring and friendly, tons of free product, productivity is noticed, and business seems to be doing extremely well.

    Cons

    Traffic is terrible coming from anywhere on the eastside.

    Wizards of the Coast2018-11-02
  8. "A hard place to work but an easy place to love."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wizards of the Coast

    Pros

    a serious approach to world class art and design.

    Cons

    the organization does not put much trust in their "subject matter experts," this translates to a lot of micro managing.

    Continue reading
    Wizards of the Coast2018-11-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizards of the Coast full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love my co-workers. We are collaborative and can rely on each other. I consider my team as my friends. We have FUN! I look forward to coming to work each day. Also the 401K plan is great!

    Cons

    Healthcare Benefits could be better but I heard HR is moving to make improvements.

    Continue reading
    Wizards of the Coast2018-08-27
  10. "Very valuable for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizards of the Coast full-time

    Pros

    * many people in building love our games. That is a great starting point.

    Cons

    * progress can happen too slowly

    Wizards of the Coast2018-08-23
Found 147 reviews