Zillow Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 5 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
87 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Zillow Remote Internship"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Development Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    Work life balance, Compensation, Company culture

    Cons

    Convoluted code base, Work from home situation

  2. Helpful (1)

    "This Grass is Greener"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Success Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, amazing offices, benefits are better than any company I've heard of, and great growth potential and resources. AMAZING work life balance

    Cons

    Very move fast mentality, Ever changing comp structure

    Zillow Response

    July 29, 2020VP, Recruiting

    Thank you! I'm thrilled you've found your work at Zillow Group engaging and fulfilling. We do move fast! Make sure you're taking the time you need to rest, relax, and recharge.


  3. Helpful (5)

    "Racism in the Denver Office"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Sales in Denver, CO

    I worked at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    The benefits and work/life balance

    Cons

    Given the recent coverage of racial injustices across the nation, I think that it is imperative for me to share a story of when I worked in the Zillow office in Denver last year. Zillow Group is a company that heavily promotes its level of diversity and inclusion; however, it is also the first company where I witnessed racism firsthand that was ignored by upper management and also the first company I worked at where several racial incidences were known to have occurred amongst its employees. As a person of color, I was followed from inside of the company office to my friend’s car by a Caucasian employee. As I began to drive away, this employee physically stopped the car and began to question me about who I was and why I was in the office. They wouldn’t let me leave until I answered them claiming that they didn’t recognize me which is hardly surprising given that there are several hundred employees working in the office with tens of new employees starting each week due to turnover. I was extremely shaken by this event and informed HR of the incident. Having spoken to 2 people in HR, both said that they didn’t believe it was racially motivated but was likely triggered by previous security issues. Firstly, I had never heard of this happening to my white counterparts nor should a company allow for its employees to police others and follow them to their vehicles. I did not pursue the issue further as I felt that my concerns were being ignored and that , as a person of color, I was made to feel as though I had just “misinterpreted the events” or at least, that’s what I was told. This is exactly why people of color don’t report these incidences and feel like their concerns aren’t heard. Towards the end of my time there, I had heard numerous stories of racism being rampant among its staff in Denver. I do know specifics; however, these are not my experiences to tell. Overall, I was extremely disappointed with how these issues were addressed and hopefully the Denver Office will make changes to provide a safe environment for its employees where you are not accosted by coworkers, minority or not, and for it to be blamed on “prior security issues”. I mentioned this during my exit interview, but based on my experiences, I have no doubt it was never addressed.

    Zillow Response

    June 18, 2020CPO

    Thank you for sharing your experience to us. We have zero tolerance for racism or discrimination of any kind. I see that you have decided to move on from Zillow but after reading about your experience; it warrants a closer look. If you'd be willing to discuss this with me privately, I'd like to hear directly from you at dans@zillowgroup.com. I wish you the best in your future endeavors and hope to hear from you soon.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing experience!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Product Management in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, work-life balance, challenged to go after big ideas, and given all the support to make them happen!

    Cons

    Lots of meetings needed to get things done sometimes, some areas can be a bit slow to work with.

    Zillow Response

    May 14, 2020VP, Recruiting

    Our intern team works hard to make sure you have a valuable experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback. I will pass this on to the team!

  5. Helpful (19)

    "not a real tech company, PM/sales/banking/MBA culture dominates with lots of politics"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My decision to join Zillow was heavily influenced by ratings/reviews here, months after joining I realized its internal environment is not always same as the public image Zillow maintains on media or this platform, may of my colleagues expressed similar opinions. I gave it one star simply because I am a tech person disappointed by Zillow. But certainly there are people with other preferences enjoying Zillow. So my review is not to complain but trying to list some pros & cons from an internal view for job seeking candidates, so hopefully if you do decide to join Zillow, you have a realistic expectation about what you are getting into. It's just my two cents and I try to be objective here: (1)for most org, work life balance is awesome, considering the salary. I have seen some few teams with high pressure/work loads, if there is politics or you need to deliver important projects, but for most teams work load is not heavy (2)the salary could be very competitive if you have previous big tech companies working experience or elite university degree on your resume. (3)For most teams, the hiring standards it very high, I have observed a strong favor towards ivy-league & top universities (4)Zillow is a MBA/sales& marketing/PM culture dominating company instead of technology & start-up spirit dominating company. If you are coming from banking/consulting/sales/finance background, but want enjoy the salary & work-life balance of tech company, Zillow could be the best choice for you in Seattle. Actually I also found people from above background tend to stay at Zillow longer than people in engineers/tech/science, probably because other big four consulting companies/banking/sales positions in Seattle couldn't offer a better package. This eventually could cause some disadvantage for people in engineers/tech/science, as I will mention in the Cons part. (5)Work life balance make it perfect to raise family if you have kids or are planning to have. Lots of ex-employees from other big tech companies choose Zillow due to this, at the same time they can get a better pay. I never seen so many pregnant people in other companies, the maternity leave is also very generous. (6)Good for young people. If you are fresh graduate just starting your career, Zillow is a decent choice to put on your resume. Many social events, snacks, candy wall, game room, parties. It's like a fraternity with many elites from elite schools. (7)Location in Seattle is perfect, the building has awesome view. In summary these are following type of people I found successful & enjoy working at Zillow: - elite schools - Project management/banking/consulting/sales/marketing - stay here for family, kids, work life balance - fresh graduate starting career

    Cons

    - Company's major revenue sources are driven by sales/platform traffic instead of technology innovation, mostly coming from agent advertisement and potentially instant offer. 10+ years after started, Zillow was still lacking of core innovations/engineering products that generate stable revenue. Google has PageRank, maps, chrome, Android and many others, Microsoft has windows/office/cloud/Bing, Amazon started with platform but later has AWS and Alexa. Zillow is still like Expedia mostly relies on sales & business strategies, and maybe acquiring more companies. - Engineering spirit & tech innovations are below industry standard. There is not enough innovative/engineering/research products that supporting revenue generation. Mostly innovations are just auxiliary parts added to Zillow website/platform, make it more user friendly. This make the situation ridiculous sometimes, on one side this company claim it's tech company, many hack-week initiatives, but most projects/research/engineering product delivered are just adding icing on the cake. I have seen many projects not delivered on time, but there is no consequences simply because they don't matter that much. Politics of ownership happens all the time, simply because capable/talented people are not essential to keep the ball rolling. On the other side, sales & business strategy orgs could be stressed out to meet KPI. In reality when a start-up pass the organic grow period, it will get saturated after a while. - Many leaders are not tech-driven or young, but they joined Zillow at a good time when it was small. Later on as Zillow expanded, they got promoted due to seniority, not because their ability/merits. For security purpose, to keep their positions, they also hire even younger managers or employees and adding layers and layers beneath them. Then soon you found for such a small/mid size start-up company, the number of leaders are overwhelmingly high. You are either in a meeting/social events or on the way to a meeting/social events. - Not so diverse here. Zillow is dominated by elite and aristocracy. To make up for it, there are also lots of diversity hires or promotions due to diversity consideration. - You have to know the right leaders, and fit in their styles to climb up. Again deliver results doesn't always get rewarded, it really depends on whether your leaders are confident and competent, or your leaders are insecure. - Your credits of hard working could be easily taken by some slackers. If you are not happy with that, - Turnover for tech talent is high. When I was at Zillow, there were a chart showing percentage of employees joined the company after you. I found many Zillow employees left the company in 1.5 - 2.5 years. In around 2 years or so, I was ahead of >50% of company employees(partially due to expanding), due to several reasons mentioned above. - Zillow could FIRE PEOPLE WITHOUT WARNING, IMMEDIATELY. Under the shining surface of vivid, young, vibrant, caring, tech-start up image of this company, you will see a culture very different if you stay long enough. During my not so long tenure with Zillow, I saw 4 of my colleagues terminated all of a sudden, additional 2 terminated but they were not colleagues I had direct working relationship with. The politics here could be scary sometimes, leaders were in a hurry to mute the disagreements & conflicts. Please consider this carefully if you rely on the salary here for a stable income or for visa sponsorships. There is no PIP or similar plan which provides you several months of cushion time.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    May 21, 2020CTO

    Thank you for your time working with us at Zillow and taking the time to write this lengthy review. We take this and other feedback seriously and will share this with our leadership team. I appreciate you calling out many of the positive elements to the work experience and culture at Zillow. We have an incredible group of employees who care passionately about our business, customers, and each other. You highlight opportunities for certain subsets of our employees, however, we have many examples of opportunities for advancement and career growth across all levels of experience and tenure with the company, not only entry-level or from elite schools. I respect your perspective, but have to disagree with your comments on innovation. I and many of my coworkers are quite proud of the technology innovations that have fueled the growth in our product adoption and usage, and the growth of our business for the past 15 years. That innovative spirit on our engineering teams is what's at the heart of the products we released more recently, including our new 3D walkthroughs and remote touring, online closing services and remote notary, personalized home recommendations, new methods for home selling, online rental application and landlord tools to name a few. We have a wide variety of engineering teams across a broad group of businesses. One of the advantages of working at Zillow is the ability to move between teams and broaden one’s experiences and impact. For any existing (or past) employee reading this review, please know that you can reach out to me or anyone in your management to discuss feedback and ideas you have for improving anything we are doing at Zillow. You will find a listening ear and an open mind to all you have to share. Our HR business partners are also available to assist if you find a more comfortable approach. To this reviewer, thank you for the contributions you made and having been part of our team. I wish you the best in your next endeavor. – David Beitel

  6. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist 

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary, good culture, care about employees, solid work-life balance

    Cons

    Recently tightened costs, mostly a positive, but at times a detriment.

    Zillow Response

    January 31, 2020Chief Analytics Officer

    Thanks for the feedback. Compensation, culture, work content and work-life balance are, of course, a few of the most important things to get right, and glad that you believe we've done so. Regarding costs, as you know, we are moving fast in our transition to Zillow 2.0, and this change is driving more analysis of our spend so that we can make sure we're operationally excellent. Investing as much as we are in multiple lines of consumer innovation is only possible if we're as streamlined as possible in each one. While being streamlined, we continue to grow our team and increase the investment in our technology and tools while maintaining an amazing culture. If you would like to discuss more, please feel free to reach out to me directly. -Stan stan@zillowgroup.com

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Culture Leadership The company really valued my work/life balance and compensated me well.

    Cons

    Some management weren't as helpful as others.

    Zillow Response

    November 30, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your response. We appreciate hearing your positive thoughts on work/life balance, and that your outlook on our culture, benefits, and leadership were all positive! As leaders, we always strive to ensure we are all there to support and develop the individuals on our team. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't always experience this to be the case. If you'd like to connect to share details, I can be reached at 206-348-1794. Ann Sobil, Senior Director, Zillow Premier Agent Sales

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Startup Soul - Big Business Resources"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - strong development culture - emphasis on inclusion and diversity - good balance of code quality and feature development - constantly pushing the business forward, never resting on laurels - high emphasis on work life balance - good snacks - tight team culture - excellent communication from upper/middle management to individual contributors

    Cons

    - constant change can be a little tiring

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    November 30, 2019CTO

    Thank you for your comments and strong engagement in our Vancouver office. Vancouver is one of our smaller engineering centers, but very important work is focused here. We are proud of our strong development culture and our work on equity and belonging, among other accomplishments and programs. Appreciate your efforts to support these programs. We do have a lot going on at the company, and your comments on change and communication challenges are heard. If you have ideas on how we could improve please discuss further with Jon and me. I believe the team is settling in nicely with the important projects they are driving with our teams in Seattle and Irvine.

  9. "Fantastic!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great company culture - Competitive pay - Great work/life balance (interns didn't have tons of pressure put on them) - Office has a music room and a game room - Just a generally happy place to work

    Cons

    - They house undergrad interns in apartments with shared bedrooms, so prepare to sleep in a twin and share a room.

    Zillow Response

    December 2, 2019CTO

    Thank you for your comments after your internship with us in Seattle. I am particularly proud of our internship program, which we started in our first year as a small startup and have grown significantly and with great results for our interns and their host teams. Glad you noticed in your time with us the strong culture and other fun and important benefits of working at Zillow. Thanks too for the feedback on the housing we fund for the summer. We try to provide options close to the office which given the high rent require some roommate situations. We will look at other options we can provide in the future as well as be better about communicating these options earlier. Hope to see you back at Zillow once you are finished with your college program. Keep in touch!

  10. "A company that cares about its employees and is not afraid to change"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Awesome office, benefits, and perks - 401k match - med insurance w/ yearly allowance - WFH - Health allowance - discretionary time off [unlimited vacay as long as approved] - tech vending machine, monthly catered lunch - Zillow tower is beautiful - etc, just to name a few 2. Great work life balance Work hours are flexible as long as you do your duty You can do 6-3 days, come in at 9:30 for stand up and leave at 3 PM if you need to 3. Ease of changing teams Company acknowledges people want new challenges and even provides guidance on how to do so successfully. People periodically move around different teams. 4. Great mission and attractive product Zillow Offers is at the forefront of transforming the real estate Overall, the company is in the process of changing this mid-large size company into a huge enterprise centered around all things Real Estate. No longer just a media company, but going into finance and buy/sell-ling homes with Zillow Home Loans and Zillow Offers -- all things Real Estate

    Cons

    Company is going through a lot of changes trying to be at the forefront of all the change 1. Suddenly hired thousands of people in Seattle office, which is causing a bit of friction among people 2. Market is yet to be convinced and our stock prices are dropping 3. Budget cuts are happening for things like holiday parties 3. Some experienced engineers are leaving due to compensation not being as high as they anticipated

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    October 27, 2019CTO

    Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback. We are going through a lot of exciting changes with our business and we do realize that the pace of change can be challenging. I am glad you called out the more frequent Q&A sessions we are doing to help answer more questions and give updates. I think you might have overestimated the number of people we have recently hired in Seattle, but you are right that we are going through some serious growth and that too can be challenging. Our business is shifting to a different model which is driving some more careful expense planning and that can have some impact, so if you see us putting more scrutiny around spending, that is why. We will have some fun holiday celebration, just with a bit more scaled back from the larger events we have had in the past. Again, thank you for your feedback and please feel free to reach out to me if you want to talk directly about anything that is on your mind. -David

Found 125 reviews