Zones Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Zones Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Zones CEO Firoz Lalji (no image)
Firoz Lalji
212 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Disillusioned upper management who believe there are no problems(in 33 reviews)

  • "Very low pay, CEO doesn't care about you and only wants money(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Don't even bothet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zones full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers are nice and you'll make friends easily and quickly. As a full time worker you'll definitely be made to work for your pay.

    Cons

    There is virtually no training, no overtime pay, below average wages, sporadic hours, unfair and constantly increasing kpis, the commission structure is so convoluted and barely ever paid in full straight away. There is also quite a sexist streak in upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better wages, impliment at least SOME kind of training program, give us more support and positive encouragement, and pay us our commission without making us jump through hoops to get even a fraction of what you owe.

    Zones2016-08-11
  2. "good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, food in office 3 days a week on average. generous pay and compensation. work hard play hard environment.

    Cons

    onboarding/ training process could be better

    Advice to Management

    I think you are doing great! there could be some more involvement though! for example, be there for your team when they are on the phone prospecting accounts. give them as many pointers as possible! pump them up! get them excited to sell and make relationships with prospective clients. come up with creative ways to discover opportunities within accounts and share them generously with your team

    Zones2019-09-27
  3. "A great place to learn technology sales!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You get to work with all the top technology manufacturers in the world - Great office (Chicago) - Very helpful and friendly management

    Cons

    - Lack of support to execute customer request and projects

    Advice to Management

    Please keep investing in the Chicago office. There are some amazing hardworking people there that will perform at a higher level if the right resources are provided.

    Zones2019-09-25
  4. "Zones - A Good Company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Noida
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zones full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had worked @ Zones for more than 4 years and everything is all good for the company starting from the top management to the specialists. My experience with Zones has been working in the middle management and was always an interface for my team members and the higher management. I had to part ways due to some differences which can happen in any other organisation but at the end I would say I loved working at Zones... and the last fours years and some months were the best time of my career. All the policies are very well defined and are well adhered to by all at HR and the Country General Manager, DG Sir.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing, absolutely nothing at I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for everything Zones, HR and DG Sir have done for me.

    Zones2019-09-18
  5. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Auburn, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No weekends, great hours, opportunity for growth, commission on top of base pay

    Cons

    Dress code, management is hard to get a hold of

    Advice to Management

    Be more clear on dress code and allow employees to have a life

    Zones2019-09-18
  6. "Excellent culture, commission structure is challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Auburn, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am part of a team that is endlessly supportive, and I've never met such a wonderful group of people who are so willing to go above and beyond to help each other out. My manager is amazing, and the way she cares about our team is obvious in everything she does. Managers from other teams, and other team members are also incredibly welcoming, and open to helping people get the hang of things. I've never once had a... person tell me "that's not my job" or refuse to help me because they were too busy. I genuinely think Zones attracts a certain breed of people that are just genuinely wonderful.

    Show More

    Cons

    The commission structure is challenging; they increased the base pay (from what I've heard) from about 35k to 50k, but it's a struggle to actually hit the numbers necessary to make a decent wage in commission. Particularly in the Seattle/Metro Area, 50k is hard to live on. Particular as a relatively new account manager, I admit, I wouldn't have taken a job for 35k at all-- BUT, on the old commission plan, it was... much easier to make a decent amount in commission. I think the higher base pay attracts talent, but the commission structure will prove challenging for retaining that top talent.

    Show More
    Zones2019-09-18
  7. "Team lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Zones full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company to work with

    Cons

    Nothing to crib as such

    Zones2019-09-14
  8. "Zones technology reseller and services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Auburn, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zones full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun office, lots of training

    Cons

    Low pay, lots of work,

    Advice to Management

    Dont make sales staff salary order takers

    Zones2019-09-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Rudderless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Talented people working at this company.

    Cons

    Lack of messaging to customers and partners. Direction and focus is changing to frequently. Micro-management. Understanding of job role. Confusion at all levels.

    Advice to Management

    Calm the waters. Not all business is transnational. Let the talent you hired do their job.

    Zones2019-10-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Springboard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Auburn, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to learn a lot about IT from different Vendors. The training are very good.

    Cons

    Management NEEDS a lot of work.

    Advice to Management

    Manager please help your team to grow. We are on the same team; if you help us, we will help you back by making more sales. But if you put yourself on the other side of your team that benefits nobody. When your team talks to you, they want you to hear them out so both you and your team can grow together. Please don't throw your employees under the bus. All you have to do is listen and provide support to help your... team to grow. When your team wins, that helps you, your boss and Zones. That's a win for everybody.

    Show More
    Zones2019-09-05
Found 597 reviews